, attached to 1995-10-22

Review by Real_out_casty

Real_out_casty cont.....DC Bag is shredding. Trey is into it. They all were tight as fuk & playing my jams bag, mind, sloth, jim, nicu, fefy [u]TO OPEN[/u]?!?!. Really. Set 2 fuked me. [b]Possom[/b] had energy I'd never seen from Trey. Like, rocket to stratosphere energy. Prob best 1 I ever saw. [b]Curtain>Tweez>Makisupa [/b]is perfect & unique. Very entertaining. Back to back Mars songs were rare & unexpected. Then [b]Slave[/b]closed. Best song of the night. This one has sharp muthafukin teeth bruh. MONSTER SLAVE!!! did I say that slave closer was good? Damnit.
, attached to 1995-10-22

Review by Real_out_casty

Real_out_casty This one is a sleeper among giants that are prevalent during fall of 95. No hype leading up to this, mostly b/c Halloween was the next week & I had received the cool new mail order ticket which was also in a prime location. So this whole week was just a warm up for what I hoped was Joe's Garage on All Hallows' Eve. This day became very special as soon as we arrived b/c within 10 min I ran into Page back bye the bus. He was always courteous to me even though I was obviously an overzealous, crazed phan. So I kept it short & simple. I asked, mispronouncing the title, "what happened to Guyute?" (Guyute had debuted the previous fall & last played at the epic Providence show 12/29/94). He smiled sheepishly, corrected me & said "oh, it still there". To which my pleading reply was, [b]HALLOWEEN[/b]!...[i]pleeeeese[/i]. It was my favorite song then, I caught all but one the fall before & the Prov Guyute was the shit. So when they didn't play it at all on summer tour or yet that fall, I was very concerned. Page gave me a chuckle & walked inside. A week later, I was dressed up as the ugly pig at Halloween, and had one of the most amazingly beautiful moments of my life. They busted it out around mid 1st set w a new arrangement & whistling!!! I nearly fainted from joy. Anyway that whole experience started when I first arrived at Champaign. Having zero expectations of this show, aside from some teases of poss musical costumes, we went in pretty early. Sat up top in the back & smoked oooooout then went down by Page for the show. They came in [b]HOT[/b]!
, attached to 1997-12-06

Review by ilostmypebblesandmarbles

ilostmypebblesandmarbles Everyone has pretty much covered the bulk of why this show is fantastic and I agree on all counts!!! Now, how's about that Rocky Top. Seriously ! Played at the speed of light. Page's hands could've destroyed the space time continuum and life as we know it could've unraveled but......they finished the tune and saved the universe. Good 'ol Rocky Top.
, attached to 2000-06-25

Review by Abyssal_Plain

Abyssal_Plain This was my first show. May have not been the best but to a noob like myself it was magic. The copy I have isn’t very good quality but still makes me spin almost nineteen years later. NICU, Horn, and SOaM were especially tasty. Maze solidified my love for the boys and remains one of my favorites.
, attached to 2018-10-26

Review by MSG_Hood_Guy

MSG_Hood_Guy After the Curveball debacle and me slowly becoming more and more 'jaded' over the last couple years, I was definitely at my lowest point as a Phish fan. Starting to consider saying my goodbyes and moving on. It was becoming to the point of is it worth all the time and effort for this band? Are they declining? Am I declining? Going into this show, being the first show (for me) since the cancellation of Curve I was not really in the same high spirits as I have been previously. I did not listen to any Phish for months leading up to Allstate, I needed a mental break. I was going into this weekend of shows, thinking this may be my last 3 night run. As Phish does time and time again, I needed this show so freaking bad! There was a smile on my face from the moment PYITE opened to the end of Reprise. I got to spend the show with great friends and a 'little' of the "machine gun Trey" came out this night. It was absolutely wonderful!
, attached to 2018-12-30

Review by Phishcake94

Phishcake94 Ok, I was at this show, section 101 I believe. Not bad seats, actually perfect as far as sight lines go. I was out partying pretty hard the previous 3 nights so by the time I dragged myself up to the city, I was pretty exhausted. Still, the show was all around incredible, as almost everyone has agreed. I do wish I had been more well rested, because it definitely took away from the show at the time, but I've listened back to the complete show numerous times and I think it's going to hold up for a very long time. The first set just breathes creativity, in terms of song choice, set list structure & jams. This is actually the second Alumni I got this year. I believe they opened with it the first night in Camden over the summer, but I could be wrong. The Mike's was typical, I'm a bit surprised to see it on the jam chart. Not that it isn't a solid version, but not many Mike's break the typical song structure much anymore. Glide II was fun. It's cool that even at this point in their history, they can still bust out songs written decades ago that surprise everybody. The 'Paug was great stuff as well. It's always welcome to see that one go longer than 7-8 minutes. The Xeyed wasn't anything special outside of where it appeared in the show. I didn't recognize Bliss at first, but once it hit the main hook I remembered listening to it from Trey's recent solo show. The Tube was equally as fun as the rest of the set. I'll take Tube whether it's spacey or funky. The segue back into Weekapaug set the building on fire!! Overall, probably the best first set I've ever seen in person! CA&M is a tune I like in this spot. It gets everyone moving again after set break. Nothing stand out here, but I am a big fan of the Kasvot stuff and was glad to see it get a lot of love over the run, from band and fans. This Everything's Right on the other hand, might be one of my favorite jams of all time! There's just tons of direction in everyone's playing right out the gate. I'm not going to go into great detail about the jam, but its 100% must listen to material. The last 5 minutes or so remind me so much of the Coventry soundcheck jam. The end of both of these jams remind me of watching a sunset, both are just so melancholy & relaxed. I really can't praise it enough!! Plasma is the next great jam in a set literally filled with them. I dig these low-key groove jams. Mike has some really good runs here, as noted on the jam chart. They really do so much in only 10 minutes. The jam could have gone on for another 10 minutes and I'd have been happy. Light is another 20+ minute jam & there's a lot to dig into. This is another one you really have to hear for yourself. Always love me some Wading & we get a Split to end probably the best set of the year (though I know that's up for debate). This has probably been the best year for Split in a long time, definitely in 3.0. They take this one to deep space with ease. Just when you think there's no way they can pull this one back in, Trey does just that. I really love the evolution of this song & the fact that they still find new inspiration in some of their oldest tunes. The 4 song encore speaks for itself, I grabbed my jacket after Wilson, Rocky Top & Cavern, thinking that each one had to be the last one. Definitely draws comparisons to 12/30/97, though a greatly different style. If only this encore had gone on for 30 minutes!
, attached to 2016-01-15

Review by carolhummel

carolhummel My first Phish show! I understand they played a few rare songs. I really enjoyed free>David Bowie. Also amazing they cover the song from 2001 space odyssey. I know this prob isn’t a helpful review for the major fans but It’s been great getting a chance to be a part of these Mexico shows and learn more about what makes this band so special.
, attached to 1993-02-21

Review by ilostmypebblesandmarbles

ilostmypebblesandmarbles Excellent show!!!! Tight versions of almost everything. 1st set has a rocking Chalk Dust. Don't miss it. Esther was good. The Antelope is a good one as well. Set 2 has a tight Curtain, well played Stash and a superbly played Lizards. Lizards never ceases to amaze me, especially when they play it with this kind of precision. Textbook pre jammed Gin. Bluegrass encores. Worth your time.
, attached to 1998-11-20

Review by ilostmypebblesandmarbles

ilostmypebblesandmarbles I love both Hampton 98 shows from top to bottom. Fantastic idea to release them. Phish isn't just a jam band that roams around the country providing continuous type 2 jams for the elitist in the parking lots. They're fun. They're a rock n roll band and the party vibe jumps out of the speakers throughout both of these shows. Long first sets. There's long song Phish and more song Phish and this is the latter. The Rift from night 1 is so clean as is the Gin. Night 2 has one of my favorite Mike's they ever played. To this day I still listen to both shows often and it's the first thing I recommend to anyone who is curious about the band. There is a lot to discover. Hampton is a great place to begin and a better place to revisit.
, attached to 1992-12-02

Review by Miguelito

Miguelito I’ve given much of the Fall ‘92 tour a listen recently and I’m pretty impressed. I personally caught the Albany show, 11.20.92 (my 5th show), which I loved, and there are several other excellent shows from the run as well. When I got around to this show I wondered why it failed to rank highly. After numerous listens, I’ve concluded that this show is underrated and contains some real highlights. The recording does contain a fair amount of audience at times, but I like this added element. The strongest of the highlights is the YEM to close set I. First of all, I love the placement. It’s a pretty rare spot but it’s my favorite placement for this tune. Next, we get a fantastic Wedge jam. The band had soundchecked it that Fall, and it didn’t debut until the next February. The transition in and out of the Wedge jam is seamless and it makes for a very interesting YEM. The Tweezer. There are several very interesting versions of this tune this tour, with the band seemingly getting just a bit more exploratory over the course of the Fall, culminating in the fantastic take on 12.12.92. This one is no slouch and is an energetic version that worthy of your time. There are several other highlights that I’ll briefly mention. They come out of the gate with a raging Suzy, followed by another solid Foam (one of many solid Foams from this tour). The always-welcome Divided Sky that follows is solid, but pales compared to the prior version on 11.27.92 (A very fine version in a very fine show). The Wilson Possum opening combo is a strong start to the second set, including the numerous signals within the Wilson. While there are several other shows on this tour that I prefer, this show still has a lot to offer and I believe this show is underrated and deserves a bit more recognition that it currently does.
, attached to 2015-12-31

Review by moonofjupiter

moonofjupiter Four years later I wrote this. I was, after all there. This is the first year of a major spectacle in place of a gag. (Next was Petra, the boat, and mercury). I must say, this is the third or four greatest New Years show of all times. Only, 93,95 beat it. Perhaps 13. Extremely great night. The section from kdf through the end is as good as it gets. Def listen to this. First of many gigantic nminml to follow in the next couple years. Same with Blaze on. 5 stars.
, attached to 1997-11-17

Review by ilostmypebblesandmarbles

ilostmypebblesandmarbles Trey talked about this Ghost in The Phish Book. He said it was a turning point for them and it was the first time they'd ever listened to one of their shows while in transit or at a party etc. He called it the highlight of the tour or something like that. I remember reading that years before it was released as Live Phish 11 and thinking while I value fans opinions and suggestions on shows, I have to hear this show from Denver because Trey is raving about it! The combination of Trey's story and it's release gave this show a huge boost in the universe o' phish but it's obviously well deserved. In most people's Top something or another. In my top 5. Easy. It may bounce around but it stays put at the top.
, attached to 1997-07-01

Review by ilostmypebblesandmarbles

ilostmypebblesandmarbles I think this show is extremely overrated. It has its moments and those moments are great but as a whole this is probably the only official release I think should have stayed unreleased. Enjoyed the opening Ghost. Ya Mar not so much though it was played well. Limb > Ain't Love was very good. Dogs Stole Things rocked. I ignore Rebas with sloppy composed sections. My hangup. I know. The jam to open set 2 wasn't really a jam. Timber and Gin were good but I can't get on board with Cities. 25 minutes and I found it droning for the first 12. The second half of the jam was good but.......below average Slave. Beautiful Circus. Topsy Turvy and not in a good way. Not hating. I'm aware I'm in the minority on this one but this show is overrated and upon being released was squeezed bw 2 better shows.
, attached to 1992-11-27

Review by Miguelito

Miguelito Having listened to all of the preceding shows from this tour to this point, this is my favorite so far. And it’s pretty rare when a first set tops a second set, but that’s what went down at the Capitol Theater on this night. Much of what happened is covered by the other reviews, although I thought the first quarter was quite strong, especially the Divided Sky and Melt. The Divided Sky has more than enough kick to it to distinguish itself from the others I’ve heard on this year, making it the highlight of the set for me and arguably the show. And then the Melt is a force to be reckoned with as it’s a high energy, Type I version that required multiple insta-relistens. Despite my preference for the first set, the second set does have lots of nice moments, especially the McGrupp and the Bowie. The Bowie, in particular, is another major highlight of the show, with its numerous teases and intensity. This has become my favorite pre-‘93 version. The closing Jimi tributes are a nice touch as well, including the tease-infused Cavern. Overall, if you’re exploring Fall ‘92 this show is worthy of your time.
, attached to 1997-07-30

Review by ilostmypebblesandmarbles

ilostmypebblesandmarbles Wolfman's Brother is vibrant● My Soul rocks● My Soul rocks● Stash is sick● Free is funky sick● Bowie > Cities > Bowie is as great as it should be● Fire is the Fire● My Soul rocks● It's a rocking tune and I never tire of rocking tunes● Even if they're played 23 times a tour and never go type 1,2, ab negative, ab positive, O or any of that stuff. Awesome show.
, attached to 1999-09-12

Review by moonofjupiter

moonofjupiter Let’s keep in mind this was the show before the Boise 99 show. Great strong first set. MASSSSSSIVE GHOST. SETTING THE STAGE FOR THE BAG IN BOISE. the second set had three songs reaching the 20 min mark (almost) and so did the following day in Boise. One of the greatest one-two punches I’ve ever seen. Two shows ever at Portland Meadows and both were alltimers. Must listen second set. Period. Deep-dark-light-soft- hard HOSE ACTION. one of the best ever ROGGAES as well.
, attached to 1995-06-26

Review by ND61400

ND61400 My goodness, this show smokes. The first half of the first set is fine, but the It's Ice > Dog Faced Boy > Tela is really lovely. The Possum is the first true heater of the night, and it sets the stage for the second set. If the DWD -> Free doesn't knock you on your ass, you'll get a fun reprieve with Poor Heart. The YEM that follows will try again to knock you over, and if you're still standing, Page takes a turn with Strange Design to lull you into a sense of comfort. And then the Antelope hits, and you most certainly will not be standing any longer. A fierce, fierce show.
, attached to 2000-09-30

Review by ilostmypebblesandmarbles

ilostmypebblesandmarbles There needs to be more love shown for this Maze. It's fantastic ! I agree with the reviews above about the first set. A great 1st set to say the least. Walfredo is fun. Roggae and Simple are 2000 era beautiful. Mike's/Weekapaug are groove monsters. The Maze though. Perfect to my ears. Absolutely love the Forbin's. It's easily one of my favorite songs in their arsenal. Timber, Twist & Sand all reek of the 2000 sound. Dark and easy going ambience. Great stuff.
, attached to 2017-08-01

Review by hen3ry

hen3ry I'm late to the reviewing party, but how can I go any longer and not talk about my first Phish show? This turned out to be the best BD show for me to go to, I had been in Canada less than a month earlier so when they opened up with O Canada, I totally cracked up! Being on the floor was awesome, I was on the Mike side too but about 50 feet back, still had a great view. The songs that really stick out for me were Daniel Saw The Stone, Limb By Limb (I always feel that has a very Jimi-esque feel to the beginning of that song), and then Walk Away to close out the first set. Golden Age, I feel was well placed in the show and set the mood for most of the rest of the set. Loved all of the meandering through 46 days and that point when (I think) all four of them were on percussion. Sadly my recollection of Piper is hazy other than that 46 days tease at the end but as soon as I heard the first note of Possum, I erupted. (as did most of the rest of the crowd) One thing I will mention about myself, I am not a dancer, but for Possum, I was dancin'! Also, does anybody else feel they had "A Day in the Life" tease starting around the 6 minute mark of the song? Anyway, blistering version of Possum, can't get enough of it. And finally, the encore, RnRS. I've read the other reviews and I don't get most of the criticism its received. I totally loved it. The line "You're wonderful... give me your hand" makes it the perfect song to use as a closer. The fact that Phish has only played that song twice has to change. The other thing that has to change is I have to couch tour much less and get my ass to my second Phish show. Peace.
, attached to 1995-10-31

Review by MrSh0w

MrSh0w This was my first show! Anyone want to talk about the voting process in the parking lots? There were Tombstone pinatas being passed around, with a pad of paper attached in the place of the epitaph. I was on a hippie party bus and a few got passed around. The leading vote-getters were Physical Graffitti, Joes Garage, thriller, and Bold as Love. Phishbills weren't a thing yet, and come set 2, no one knew what was in store. Intro music from setbreak was Thriller..... and BOOM here comes Quadrophenia.
, attached to 2006-07-15

Review by dreamingdreamsbrings

dreamingdreamsbrings Ahh, Mike and the Italians. I have scoured the internet looking for aud's for this show. Since none have surfaced, I'll have to do this one from memory. Unfortunately, my memory says that this was kind of shit show. Six months before Trey would get arrested for driving a pharmacy, it was apparent that something was off. Solos were stiff, a wrong key restart, Paranoid Android ripcord-ed before it even took off, etc. This show was played at the outdoor stage in front of a little grass field that could hold maybe 1000 people. It wasn't super crowed and we walked right up to the stage to see the show. B/R duo played a short set before A & G showed up. There IS audio of that over on archive.org and it's worth a listen, especially Memphis. I loved the B/R duo back in the day - the amount of sound that those two could generate was incredible. Sadly, A & G (specifically "A") didn't add as much power to this ensemble as we thought it would. When they got together at Bonnaroo a month earlier, it was spectacular, so we had high hopes for another pumpin show. Loved seeing Mike's prowess with other instruments. Too bad it was over-shadowed by Trey's lack of focus.
, attached to 1990-10-11

Review by radiator9987

radiator9987 Third show in four nights and I was sure this would be the rocker. Thankfully I got what I was looking for. After the uneven performances the previous 2 nights the band was hitting on all cylinders this night. Reba right out of the gate set a high bar and they tried their hardest to deliver on this promise. I don't remember MSO being played twice. I believe it was played after Bouncing which was nothing special. Stash had become a favorite and was growing legs with each performance. The run of Lawn Boy songs to close the set was great, showcasing their last release. Set 2 I got a third Landlady in a row and had accepted that PYITE was no more. I believe they did McGrupp next, but can't confirm it. I think this because I had seen it once before and remember getting the lowdown from someone on the song at that show, I had been looking for it every show after and remember walking out this night feeling satisfied I had caught it. Gumbo was next and I was digging the groove, but couldn't catch the lyrics. YEM was up next and didn't disappoint, it seemed a bit longer then other times I had heard it, breaking out of the basic structure after the vocal section. It was fun to see Oh Kee Pa paired with AC/DC and I was in my zone for the first time this evening. Magilla seemed a bit disjointed before giving way to Possum. A fun night, there were some slow spots, but all in all a rocker.
, attached to 1990-10-10

Review by radiator9987

radiator9987 There was a pretty low energy crowd at this one and Trax was not as crowded as I had thought it would be. It was night 2 of 3 nights for me and I had high expectations. As with the previous show they opened with Landlady>Bouncing, 'ok, been there,' and I just couldn't understand why they weren't doing the whole PYITE. Possum kicked things up and Divided Sky brought them back down only to go back up with Cavern. I had seen Oh Kee Pa and Suzi at almost every show I had seen at this point and took a break to get a drink and such. The Coil was very nice and Mike's Groove was always welcome to close the set. I swear they did Fee in the second set, but my mind does play tricks on me. I thought Destiny Unbound was trying a little to hard to be a 'meaningful' song, but YEM was welcomed as always. I had heard Terrapin on tapes and it may have been the highlight for me as Syd was one on my favorites and I had never heard any band cover him. Bowie took the set ending to a high point. Carolina was my first time seeing an acapella song and left me wanting more, but I knew I had another night coming up tomorrow.
, attached to 1990-10-08

Review by radiator9987

radiator9987 My expectations were running high after the previous 2 Bayou shows and I wasn't disappointed. Right out of the box we got a guest in John Popper sitting in for Don't Get Me Wrong. I was unfamiliar with it, but it was a great little rocking blues to set the mood for the night. I was a little confused with the Landlady that was up next as I only knew it as the calypso part of PYITE on a tape I had, but it moved nicely to Bouncing which had grown on me over the year I had been listening to Phish. Foam was pedestrian and true to form for the time. Cavern was when things began to take off and the YEM/Oh Kee Pa/Possum run left us all ready for a fat second set. What we got was not so much. Suzi was standard and Stash hadn't hit it's stride. If I Only had A Brain was fun for the Fishman tune and the Golgi began to pick up steam. the highlight of the set was unfortunately the end of it with Magilla/Antelope, both of which had some great moments. The funniest thing for me was Contact. On my way home to baltimore I was followed by a cop for several miles. It kept running over in my head until, just before I hit 95 a car cut in between me and the cop and his lights flew on, pulling the poor soul behind me over.
, attached to 1999-09-14

Review by beignet

beignet The Disease is fantastic! To all my sisters and brothers that love those DWDs that come firing out of the gates and stay hot all the way home, then check this version out. It is unrelenting. Remember that ripping DWD from Rochester 97? Kind of like that. The rest of the show is very strong. Even when they don't take it deep, the playing is creative and purposeful. Every single song is worth a listen. Chalk dust comes out hot and sets the rest of the night up. It seems like they let a little ambience bleed between every song, and when you hear the thunderous bass on Whats the Use drop it becomes clear that you, the listener, are in for something special.
, attached to 1990-06-08

Review by radiator9987

radiator9987 I had so much fun the night before at the bayou I decided to make the trek up to the Philly suburbs and the infamous East Cabaret. There were quite a few repeats from the night before, but they still seemed fresh and new to me, this being my 5th show. Foam was always a great way to start things off and for the next 35 minutes they didn't let up. After Divided Sky the band caught their collective breath before kicking it back into high gear for Uncle Penn and then a great set closing run of Oh Kee Pa/Suzi/Antelope. I missed most of Possum in the parking lot but was back up toward the front as they started MSO. From there I got my first bathtub and was more impressed then what I had heard on tapes. The Tweezer doesn't quite compare to the previous nights, but the Mike's Groove was definitely stronger. A fun night at a great old club.
, attached to 1990-06-07

Review by radiator9987

radiator9987 My third Phish show was really inspired for me and made me hop in my car the next day and head up to Ardmore, marking my first multi night run of shows. Suzi was an auspicious beginning for me as it seemed to be on every tape I got and The Chase was lost on me at the time. Possum was when things started simmering and you the band was firing on all cylinders. Fee/Reba?YEM was a fantastic mid set run and my first GTBT put a fat exclamation point on the set. The Bayou was a great place to see a show as the parking lot was always chill in between sets. We spent a few minutes outside an hurried back in with expectations running high. I had quit drinking at this point in my life and the music took on new dimensions Dinner and A Movie was strong and my first Tweezer was welcomed as it was, even then, the one with potential for a jam. The rest of the set was broken up with Uncle Penn standing alone and Divided Sky doing the same. Love You was fun as usual and had a trombone solo as opposed to the vacuum. A strong Mike's Groove closed the frame out. Lawn Boy had grown on me since seeing it the December before and was a great juxtaposition to the noise of BBFCFM.
, attached to 1990-02-25

Review by radiator9987

radiator9987 After seeing Phish two months earlier at the 8X10 I headed back down when I saw they were back in town. The crowd was a bit larger and in the time between I had secured a few bootlegs and was becoming familiar with their originals. I went in thinking I would know most of what they would play, of course I didn't and it made it that much cooler seeing how larger their repertoire was even in the early years. I knew Foam and MSO out of the box, but had never had the pleasure of Forbin's/Mockingbird. A kind soul explained the song to me and the whole Gamhenge thing at setbreak, mentioning both Lizards and McGrupp which came out in set 2. I liked Coil from their new album, but was down on Bouncing as trying to have a 'hit'. I spent most of Rift and Possum in the alley out back getting my mind right, not realizing that the Slow Rift would soon be gone forever. The highlight was Fluff>BBFCFM with the band going heavy metal crazy with the latter. I don't know why there was no encore, I do know I was on board. Sadly they never came back to the 8X10. It was rumored the owner burned them and I don't believe they have ever played in baltimore again. After this it was all bayou all the time for the next few years as the band honed their craft and began the jump to theaters and then arenas.
, attached to 1989-12-07

Review by radiator9987

radiator9987 Went to this show because a buddy convinced me to go see an Allman Brothers cover band with him. I lived about 15 minutes away and said sure, not quite wrapping my head around why an ABB cover band would be called Phish. We got there 1/2 way through YEM and by the time we had secured a few beers and settled upstairs they were into A Train. I vaguely recognized the tune from my high school band teacher playing it and was loving it by the end. By the time they had finished Fee my buddy was done with the band and headed next door to Lush's to get hammered. I stayed and Mike's Groove really hooked me, the gentle H2O bridge and force of Weekapaug spoke to me. I left to check on him during Divided sky and made it back in for Oh Kee Pa/Suzi. A guy I met kept saying 'I hope they do Undun' and I was thinking, 'the Guess Who song', this band wouldn't be doing that. I remember Walk Away because it was one of the few things I knew and was I loose and dancing at that point. Antelope became an instant favorite. I didn't get the Lawn Boy thing at the time and Possum seemed a little stupid. They closed the set with the aforementioned Undun and I saw the guy who was going on about it lost with a blissful smile. The 8X10 at the time had the stage in a corner on the first floor and it was a triangle in the far corner, the band was packed tight on the stage, but you could tell they were having a great time. When I saw they were coming back a few months later I knew where I would be, better versed in their originals and off on a ride I hope continues for many more years.
, attached to 1991-02-19

Review by radiator9987

radiator9987 As close as I have ever gotten to seeing Phish on my birthday (02/18). My buddy kept laughing that they were teasing me with the Happy Birthday teases. Pretty standard setlist for the time. Esther was nice and coming out of the box with My Sweet One into Mike's Groove was fun. They did stronger shows at the Bayou, but the Love You/Whole Lotta Love was worth the price of admission.
You can still access archived Phish.net reviews


Phish.net

Phish.net is a non-commercial project run by Phish fans and for Phish fans under the auspices of the all-volunteer, non-profit Mockingbird Foundation.

This project serves to compile, preserve, and protect encyclopedic information about Phish and their music.

Credits | Terms Of Use | Legal

© 1990-2019  The Mockingbird Foundation, Inc. | Hosted by End Point Corporation