, attached to 2018-08-12

Review by Jayrizzledizzle

Jayrizzledizzle Is it just me or Trey teasing Everybody Must Get Stoned by Bob Dylan during Alaska from about 7 minute mark through rest of guitar lead? Maybe just coincidence but I think I heard it during the show, couldn't place it, then had to go back and relisten yo figure it out, almost like a Mystery Jam Monday. Amazing show from top to bottom!
, attached to 2018-08-12

Review by Josh006

Josh006 Not to be overly juvenile, but it’s hard to give this listing evEn a modicum of legitamacy... “Tweezer Reprise jam and quotes”? After Piper we got more of a Tweeprise than the opener! #ThreeTweepriseNight !!! This was noted originally, then someone caved to some couch terring haters. Least that’s my guess! Haha
, attached to 2018-08-12

Review by Koa96

Koa96 S1: [Llama] our first one of 2018! And such a treat to open the show! I was quickly reminded of the two massive banners at the SF show which had written "SLOW LLAMA" and "DRIVER"...the boys acknowledged the Driver but had to wait to tonight for the Llama! [BBFCFM] is another 2018 bust out and keeps the energy sooo high starting off, Trey even jokes that they are going to "speed things up" so they bust out [Meat] another first for 2018! and a little jammy taboot [Alaska] do we have a theme of 2018 bust outs going? YES, yes we do! And all though its a slow, feel good song, it has a great jam for mid set...and then it happens [Tweezer > Gin > Curtain WITH > CDT]...In my opinion, this has to be one of the best 4 song runs in a long time. All four songs are part of deep phish history and lore. Other than Hood (which we get later!) what else can you slot here? Open for debate of course, but for me, with how it flowed, it's top-top shelf phish. And they absolutely nail it. The WITH was the highlight for me. And that's only the end of set 1! S2: [Reprise] as an opener! Clearly, combined with the end of Set 1, this show is reaching legendary status [NMINML] is a fan fav off the new album and super groovy [Twist > Caspian] is another epic two song run, love the placement and tightness to this [Piper > BDTNL] sets us up for a great finish and they don't disappoint with [2001 > HOOD!] The encore had it going too with fan (and radio!) favorite Heavy Things [Bug>Reprise] to end it - WHEW! Gotta breakdown and emphasize set 1 here cuz it's so great...basically split into twos perfect parts (1) 2018 bust outs > (2) Epic Diamond nugget of a set 1 closer with tweezer>gin>curtain with>cdt. The fact we get a Reprise opener in set 2 and so many of (my personal) favs with NMINL, Twist, Caspian, 2001, Hood...this show is easily top 3 of summer thus far. Don't miss a Sunday show!
, attached to 2018-08-11

Review by rich43500

rich43500 There were a couple great moments in this show, but overall I found this performance very disappointing. Maybe they gave it all they had at Raleigh the night before, maybe it was just an off night. The highlights for me were definitely 46 Days (one of the best I've ever seen, it was truly next level), Stash and Martian Monster. Other than that though everything felt a little all over the place or off - even the Mercury was missing something. The low point was how early everything ended, with sets clocking in just around an hour and the showing wrapping around 10:45 (I remember past Merriweather shows going later, maybe curfew has changed) That being said, a bad performance doesn't equal a bad show since it's always fun to get together with your friends and see your favorite band even when they have an off night. Plus, they totally made up for Saturday on Sunday.
, attached to 2018-08-12

Review by gratefulphishy

gratefulphishy Wow. That’s all I have to say. What a great night to see the P Fish. Tonight a friend of mine that I stayed with in DC decided to make this his first show at the last second. He had never heard of phish but appreciates lots of music. I’m always kind of sceptical because let’s face it Phish is kind of an acquired taste. Yes they are the best in the world to me but without hearing them it’s kind of hard to explain them. So I was interested in what his reaction would be. I told him that he couldn’t have picked a better day being that it was a Sunday at MPP. On the way up to mpp the rain was really coming down. Not looking good for the start of the show. We got the best spot on the lawn. Same spot I was in for the previous night. The show started right around 730 and immediately the rain had stopped. Llama opens. Everyone in the place freaks out and gets moving. Never can go wrong with that as an opener. Bbfcfm is next. My first one and it’s insanity. My friend thought it was a little weird but appreciated the comedy aspect of it. Trey goes “let’s pick it up a little” then drops in on a Meat. This one is absolutely nuts. I swear everytime they play it, it just keeps getting better. Now I’m not a huge fan of Alaska but this one was especially good. Trey shreds towards the end of the jam and my friend goes “wow this dude is insane at guitar” I said “you just wait til they drop something like a tweezer, then you’ll see”. Not even two seconds later Tweezer drops. First set tweezer you can’t complain. Not the biggest jam but definitely worth a relisten. Then they bring in Gin. This one is short and sweet but my god did it rage. At this point I was losing my shit. Probably the highlight of the first set. Well worth listening to. Curtain is always nice. This one was very good. As soon as I thought the set would be over Chalkdust comes in. Once again a pretty short jam but a great way to end the set. First set gets a 5/5. The best first set of the summer so far. My friend was blown away at this point. The crowd was fired up and I was itching for the second set. Tweezer Reprise kicks in. What an awesome way to start it off. Gets everyone dancing and ready to go for what was to come. NMINML was suppper funky tonight. No huge peaks but lots of pockets. Twist is short and sweet like most of the jams but had a impactful jam for the time. Caspian gets thrown in. Nothing out of the ordinary and the shortest jam of the night. Piper gets going and I knew that it would be the highlight of the set. An absolute bonkers jam that goes right back into Tweeprise. reprise of the tweezfest at MPP and everyone lost it. They had to throw in one chomper hit but BDTNL isn’t the worst of them. A great jam out of this one too. 2001 was the best I’ve heard live. I’ve seen it a lot but this one was just crazy with the funk. Better than the Alpharetta one imo. My friend really appreciated this one. Hood drops and I was excited. A complete bliss jam. This Hood is well worth the repeat listen. Second set gets a 4.5/5. Only a couple longer jams but we didn’t even need it. The perfect song selection with short but interesting jams. The set is really worth listening to as a whole. I had to dip out for the encore and I was pretty disappointed but wasn’t super bummed after only getting a heavy things and bug. This show gets a strong 4.6 to me. Just a absolute stellar time tonight even with the rain. My friend had an absolute blast and was like “dude I can’t wait to see these guys again.” He said of all the guitar players he’s seen (Clapton, Angus young, Santana, etc) Trey was the best he’s ever witnessed. I said that’s just the magic of phish. Tonight was one of the best shows I’ve seen in person. Thanks again to the band!
, attached to 2018-08-12

Review by kyleindeed

kyleindeed And tonight’s episode of Don’t Miss A Sunday Show will be starring Tweezer Tweezer Repriser III . Complaints of Phish playing too slow were quickly and swiftly answer. S1 Llama. Lightning Bolt opener. HUAH BBFCFM. Smack in the mouth.. HUAH HUAH Meat. Seems to keep getting more stank on it w each play. Saw it Hartford 16 and this version was even more scrumptious. Alaska. If the haters come out of this show (which I doubt) just looking to pick on lil ole Alaska.. then I always tell’em to relax. Tweezer then pops up in yet another beautifully welcome S1, and a very fine placement indeed. This Tweezer didn’t f around and brought some heavy, expensive goods (w many lights flickering and vibrating taboot). BRAVO! > Gin. Oh of course, why would we lose the momentum we’ve had the whole set? No No says Gin... fill the tub up with lots of toys and bathe like it’s your birthday. These aren’t the longest versions of these priceless songs but like most shows this week.. very tight. > Curtain With. A later than usual placement here but not to be outdone by the 2 songs prior. This might actually be the highlight of the set if we had to choose. It was full of them. > CDT FTW to close S1 and rock the new top off of MPP in splendid form. S2 was poised for something to prove after the best S1 in awhile. TWEEPRISE right out the gate.. Welcome Back! NMINML, a welcome jammy platform to mold the freshness of this whole show. > Twist. 2013 Revenge Tour continues and brings the WOOOOO’s out for some fun. Prince Caspian not a vast exploration as many of late (Pitt Caspian namely) but still went very well in this set. > Piper (another 2013 revival) that got good, like really really good and fast, from there we got our first tease of the prise to shortly come. BDTNL. Ladies f’n love this song. My most seen Phish tune (9 total to Ghost, Hood and CDT all w just 7) and always a complete treat. Speaking of Hood, a standout version to bring S2 to a close. Encore sees Heavy Things, Bug soften our hearts for a minute before an anticipated and welcome final Tweeprise. I venture this is the first time Tweeprise has begun S2 AND ended a show. Who knows. So like 2014, another Tweezerfest of sorts with tons of substance, moments, great playing and (most importantly). FUN! Curveball will be great for all those attending and no worries about how well Phish will play. This was the best show of the week (barely edging out Raleigh, which isn’t easy for me to admit). Looking forward to seeing the boys next year!!!
, attached to 2016-12-30

Review by Coleman_

Coleman_ Writing because I was going back on this show and realized .net no longer lists Party Time as part of the setlist following Light, but rather considers it an extension of the Light jam with Party Time teases and quotes. Reader, do not be mistaken. The segue into the jam is absolutely flawless - the uplifting calypso jam left behind by Light gets picked up by Party Time seamlessly. According to the LivePhish app, there is a standalone Party Time jam for 6:53, a complement to Light's 16:04. I petition that Party Time be re-included in the setlist properly, as it deserves to be recognized. In fact, .net had even deemed it of Noteworthy Status, but that no longer seems to be the case as the only entry in the jam chart for Party Time is 7/8/12. Blasphemy! Not only does the jam "peak nicely" as .net had once put it, but it serves as the victory lap on the mammoth third quarter that had just transpired. That aside, I agree with most of what has already been discussed. Song selection was excellent - was glad to finally get my Old Home Place. This was the best Sugar Shack of 2016 (huge upgrade from 7/3/16), a well-executed Wilson, and a surprising but welcome YEM first-set closer. However, the first-set highlight is the powerfully triumphant Gin jam complete with Free bird teases. Other than that, the second set speaks for itself. Back to back monsters in Tweezer and Ghost with an instrumental Who fill sandwiched between, and then a Light that fires on all cylinders keeping the energy high. These jams alone present a strong case for why this show should be considered among the best of the year, but the thrill ride that was Party Time should not be overlooked.
, attached to 2018-08-07

Review by Fluffheads

Fluffheads This was a fun show- not live altering, but enjoyable from start to finish. The scene was cool, the vibe was friendly and the boys were having a great time. Bowie, DWD and Light call for multiple re-listens and the Mikes groove was a great set closing surprise. I feel lucky to see these guys year after year.
, attached to 2018-08-11

Review by weekapaugh79

weekapaugh79 20 years ago on 8-11-98 was my first Phish show. To get that 4 song encore to celebrate my 20 year Phishiverary was great, and to throw in that Golgi (Show closer from my first show as well.) was a treat, the Martian Monster and Rocky top sandwiched between those two did not disappoint. First set started unexpectedly early a 7:37 start time,,, a heater, and whats not hotter to get the crowd going than Blazing on, and Party Time , a very nice Breath and Burning to heat up the Sugar Shack, they took it Home to say the least and that Joy .... stash got a nice jam as did 46 days Now Second Set...started with a heavy sand almost 12 minutes, keep the jam jar open, here's a Mercury that you mustn't miss, and onto a dirty Ghost that i couldn't stop smiling through, saw Trey tell Page Fuego was next and boy was it, the shortest jam of the second set at just over 9 minutes, it keep the heat on, and to finish out the second set , those harmonic notes that i hear every-time a traffic light changes, a nice Slave to end the second set. Being my first MPP show, the steep lawn was terrible to see anything,and the chompers...it got bad at points,, people, respect the artists and your neighbors,, and shut up but all in all loved the show...heading to the Ball on Wednesday
, attached to 2018-08-11

Review by PennPhan

PennPhan MPP is my "home" venue. I couch toured last night because I couldn't make it to either MPP show...and I'm SOOOO glad I missed this one in person. I'm a bit sad that I also paid for the MP3s, because other than 46 Days, there's absolutely nothing worth listening to again. Let's hope that "don't miss a Sunday show" holds true for tonight (couching it again), but the guys set the bar pretty low last night with the song selections and mostly uninspired performances.
, attached to 2018-08-11

Review by kyleindeed

kyleindeed Still baffled this morning at the skepticism this show is getting. Flubbs and slower song mix in S1? Sure. Blaze On opener was cool, might be getting overplay in S1 but there are worse things in this life. Highlights of this set were Party Time (w an absolutely filthy Fishman beat midway thru), an awesome Stash as the sun went down and a truly rocking 46 Days. I concur with a previous statement that 46 Days has been MVP of this tour. Every time played it delivers the goods and audiences have been all in for it. S2 was tight and oh so smooth. Sand kicks us off in fine fashion and explores the space. > Mercury. Masterful. Highlight of the show, even with an outstandingly impressive > Ghost. I went bonkers for Mercury and Ghost. This is my 7th summer in a row (2012-2018) that I’ve gotten a Ghost. Planning to get this streak up to 10 in a row if I can help it. And a few of those years I could only see 1 show. > Fuego. Short and intense. No hating on Diego... keep it rolling. > Slave. Perfect finish to this 5 song S2. Mood was beautiful. 4 song encore including a BONKERS Martian Monster and my 1st MPP in the books. Raleigh may have been better from top to bottom, but this S2 is the most tight and intense that they’ve played all week. Don’t miss a Sunday Show!!!
, attached to 2018-08-10

Review by AntelopeStash

AntelopeStash 14th show...1st YEM = tears of joy. Oh yeah and there's also that Drowned->NICU and that little Runaway Antelope who almost got pulled over for running out of control. Still smiling. Very interesting first set banter and an unusually sung Guelah...and this review might be long enough to post now. Thanks Phish!
, attached to 2018-08-10

Review by blombekr

blombekr A blast of a show. From the stream it seemed that it was the abrupt ending to Wombat that lead both to the awkward yet flavorful banter, and to the subsequent EXTRA MUSTARD poured on the rest of the set. Trey seemed to have a certain swagger to him post-Wombat. What can ya say about the second set other than Phish Phished. And I thought Thread was great to have around, particularly when they weave in the "You're alone" refrain like that. More songs about threads, maybe less about souls for now.
, attached to 2018-08-10

Review by yemyourface

yemyourface First off, I’d like to thank Phish for the free webcast. This show was a treat to watch and listen to from the couch and was full of emotions. I noticed after Wombat that Trey had broken silent suit and become very animated/talkative. This is always a fun turning point in the night when it happens because to me, is indicative of relaxed excitement and an eagerness to have fun with the music. The rest of the first set was full of fun and games, my favorites being Saw It Again and Limb By Limb. Second set is a full on classic Phish rager. Opening the set with Meatstick, again, emphasized the silly and lighthearted vibe of the night. Drowned (while I’m not a huge fan of Trey ignoring the original introductory guitar work) lubed the bands gears and before long shifted smoothly into NICU. I love it when this song gets the a-typical treatment, and this version put us into some spacey type II territory before going into Thread. This is a cool song that I don’t know all that well, but found myself admiring the thought provoking lyrics time signiture changes. It gets really dark at the end of the song and the jam from this version definitely catapulted the band into some forgotton mental space because what they came tumbling out with next was some of the most fun Phish I’ve heard the band play since I became a fan in 2009. The first segue from Runaway Jim -> Run Like An Antelope (queued by trey) was the key that unlocked the door the next level. It was game on after that. It may not have been flawless throughout the experimentation of this sandwhich but it was pretty darn close. Besides, they don’t care if they miss a chord change.. it’s all about the energy. They had me giggling and grinning ear to ear which is why I listen to Phish. When they went into Makisupa Policeman on a drop of a dime where Antelope meets reggae I was completely floored. It was awkward and vulnerable and full of love. Yem had some nice alterations via Mike’s whammy bar which was panty dropping awesomeness, and Trey let loose some licks towards the end that had the shed on fire. The vocal jam completely silenced the crowd and I laughed seeing the audience all stand in attentive mind boggled silenced while the band wrapped up the package before sending it off with a stamp that read “A Day In The Life.” Go Phish.
, attached to 2018-08-10

Review by phrench

phrench The first four songs are energetic rockers graced by great interplay, and some very nice type 1. There's nothing wrong in type 1, after all it's the basis of most jazz since bebop. The second Wombat of this tour is as weird as the first, but it's cut short quite early. The band nailed the fugue in the first (and only?) Guelah of the year. Solid BoaF and Saw it Again. Timber threatened to go spacey but stayed in course, leading to a nice LxL which led to a cute Farmhouse and then nothing More. That song is catchy as hell (are there still people out there thinking Phish can't do a song?) and sums up S1 pretty well: songy but very solid. Or the other way around. There's no comma in S2, it's a segue-fest of sort. Meatstick opens funnily, Drowned follows strongly, and is actually the big jam of the night... despite its short length. It peaks in a typical Trey-in-high-register way, and - > exquisitely in NICU. Some spacey segment develops really nicely before Fish kills the beat and reinstates a more martial pattern, which dissolves into Trey's larsen and the mysterious riff of Thread, the third outing of this major new tune, only waiting for its extended jam in its the final segment, an eastern-sounding modal piece in a 15/16 SOaM-like meter. But then Trey ripcords into a Runaway Antelope Policeman double sandwich. This is the truly fun part of the show. Musically, the focus is on the elegance of the segues, and the first coming of the Antelope is simple and effective : Trey just plays the riff and the whole band leaves Jim. So the band runs a bit and then Mike brings Jim back, quoting the bass riff like Trey quoted the guitar riff. Jim runs away and Trey calls the Antelope back and the whole band is in tune after a few bars, and runs to Trey's quote of the first bar of Makisupa, and then everybody is in uniform. Funny banter between Trey, Fish and Page. Trey sounds like a violin and Mike engages the super synth autowah machine... and this is the end of this policeman, with a final chord on which the Antelope's progression bounces back, and at last we're treated to the lyrics! Trey launches the band into YEM. Solid, like most of this show. Strong bass synth from Mike again. Nice Beatles reprise to end this song-based concert. I prefer the depths of the first night in Camden this week (a show I think is underrated), but the playing is strong here and there are some really cool Trey-and-his-amazing-rhythm-section moments and a few true liftoffs.
, attached to 2018-08-10

Review by kyleindeed

kyleindeed Alllllright, woooooo!!!!!! So glad to be in the NC for this lovely evening of Phish. Never been to Raleigh before (had to get the shrimp and grits today.. tip of the cap to Tupelo Honey... Indeed) ANYWAY... :) ... This show has been the highlight of the week (and I loved Camden more than most peeps did too!) S1 starts just after 7:30 due to early curfew. Kinda weird on a Friday, but what do I know? I’ve never been here!! STFTP. Cool Funky Bitch. funky! bitchin! Hadn’t seen it since 2013 (and am still on a mission to see every song I haven’t seen since 2013) Ocelot. This was played at my first 2 shows, Blossom 2010 & 2011, and was at one point (in my Phishie newness) by fav tune. Not anymore mind you, but I also got to see if for the first time since 2013. The Wedge. Funky, always a treat Wombat. Highlight of S1 w/ it’s jam. I’ve always defended a well jammed Wombat (I was at Dayton 17). Guelah. Love this song. Trey, never sing this song in the higher octave again (unless u feel like puttin ur tight pants on). Love u, Big Red. BOAF & Saw It Again. Lovely, always quite lovely. Timber (Jerry... Ho... the Mule w/ a Scent). Band “pulled this Timber ‘fore the sun goes down” in fine fashion, what a lowcountry sky too. This was a classic version and beyond its norm. The song choices tonight were stellar. LxL. Re-emerges post Tahoe 2. FINALLY! HOORAY! Farmhouse.... awwwwwwwwwww More. I was really looking forward to seeing this for the first time. Not because it’s full of deep dark grime and sludge.. but because it’s a solid S1 closer. Reminds me of Bowie. It made non believers jumping around celebrating their glorious splendor. Still, S1 in its songy “bobbing on the surface” left us wondering “there must be something more than this?” So naturally, S2 was something more. A lot more and spontaneous as could be. Meatstick opener. Woooo!!! More fun!! Frolicking!! Meatstick Dancing and resumed splendor! Drowned was a welcome move here. Not seen since (my phav) BD Jimmies show. The longest jam in this show for those counting. Energy filled and always a fine jam for its spaceyness and variety. > NICU was the first sign this set was gonna shine. Another 2013 revival for me only my first in S2. And this 9 minute version was arguably my favorite live microjam. Some weird BD Steep stuff here and me lovey. Thread. Filthy and well placed. Welcome back! Then the unthinkable happened. We learned not only that our dear friend Jim is actually an Antelope... but he’s also been running from the reggae Policeman for some time. In all seriousness (which isn’t saying much for tonight’s show) the interplay w Jim, Antelope and Makisupa was a goldmine of fun. Arguably as fun as Tweezerfest in 2014 (and nay do I forget MPP is upcoming now. Never been! Can’t wait!). BRAVO, BOYS! The South needed a YEM. This one was a Gem of a YEM and the best I’ve seen live. A Day In A Life sends us to a close at 10:45 curfew. Again, best show this week. Deep and jammy? No, kinda like Camden N2. Worried? No.. that’s what shows like MPP, Curveball, Dicks, fall tour, NYE etc etc etc are for. For now (ahem) let’s just have fun and enjoy the hell out of what they’re cooking up!!! And I’s love me some good Lowcountry phare!! ;-)
, attached to 1999-12-13

Review by jkicharvey

jkicharvey This show reaffirmed my love for the band! Great 1st set with a typical Theme ending. However, the best part about this show for me was the first part of the 2nd set. Ran into a buddy in line for a beer during intermission. He says I should hang with him at his seats. Turns out he was on the floor right up front. The most memorable part of this show was standing essentially right in front of Mike for the first few songs including the sick baselines of Jibboo and Sand! I'll never forget it! Thanks Woody for getting me down in front!
, attached to 2018-08-08

Review by gratefulphishy

gratefulphishy Coming into this show I had really high hopes after not being super impressed with the previous night. There were a few jams that shined through but I was expecting something big for Wednesday night. I’m a native to this venue. Seen a lot of shows here but never got to see phish. Personally there’s nothing too special about the venue itself. With one of the biggest lawns around there is plenty of room for chomper heaven. This show was full of them too. Although I can’t complain because there were minimal talkers. Other than the mom (which was probably her and her son’s first show) that was taking videos with her flash on the whole time, the crowd was rather good tonight for being on the lawn. Eventually the mom was dancing and having a good time, was glad they enjoyed the show. The first set immediately kicked off with Moma. And let me tell you the crowd was going nuts. Even the security guards were dancing. Right then I knew the band was going to be locked in for the night. Free comes next which was pretty standard but had me really focusing in on mike. Where I was standing on the lawn might have just been one of the best spots for a very well balanced sound. For the whole night I would be locked in on Mike. Undermind got me excited, I’ve never been let down by the song and this one kept that streak going. Nothing super big but a solid, tight jam. Tftb was nuts, trey started raging the place and I knew he’d be on fire for the rest of the night. Almost no flubs from him so far in the show (he’s getting old I don’t blame the guy if he does). My sweet one is always a pleasant surprise. Can’t complain there. Steam is always welcome in my book, this one wasn’t great but a good jam. Train song is just the usual train song and they had to throw a slow one in there somewhere. Now Halley’s is always one of my favorites basically due to it having two of my favorite jams of all time. Everytime they play it I have high hopes of a 20+ minute jam but alas we just get a standard one. Now I’ve seen several everything’s right before this show. Everytime it plays I always think ugh, then mid way through the song I get a guilty pleasure and start to enjoy. But then the jams always come and this one was no joke. It might be up there in the talk of one of the jams of the summer. An absolute rager that had almost every person jumping up and down by the last two minutes. This one will be on repeat over and over for me. First set gets a 4.5/5. Overall it was a super tight set. No flubs from Trey and the band was locked in. The crowd was left extremely satisfied. Before the second set I was fired up. I was ready for several huge jams. But, of course Julius starts it off and I think uh oh here we go. The crowd goes fucking nuts for this. I’m ready to get it over with, then carini hits. Carini being the mvp of the tour, I was ready for the jam to take off but we only get a 10 minute one. Nice little jam but nothing worth relistening to. Sysf isn’t too bad for one of the newer songs. Again, was expecting a big jam but nothing took off. Wingsuit got some groans but the jam was beautiful. Not super long but impactful. Scents is always welcome and not too shabby but short jam. I’ve seen waste a gajillion times so nothing super special but the crowd ate it up. Now SOAM was the highlight of the set. Just screeching evil tones from trey. But the mvp of this song was CK5. The lights were perfectly matched. I was in awe. Not one I’d go back and relisten to all that often but the live experience was unbelievable. They end it with zero and of course I wasn’t too happy. But I was hoping we’d get a nice encore with a rarity. Nope we got Suzy and that completed the chomper fest. Second set 3.5/5 overall had lots of tight playing and decent short jams but not something I’d go back and revisit. The show itself gets a 4/5. The first set was awesome. A great live experience. The second not so much. But I have to say, if someone has never listened to phish before this show is great to show them. Full of the “hits” and not too long of jams where they could get bored if they are new to the jam scene. I’m have a good feeling about what’s to come at merriweather. At least we know the chomper hits won’t be there.
, attached to 2018-08-08

Review by gingerphish

gingerphish This show improved leaps and bounds on last night's performance. Energy is the name of the game and this show brought it heavy. Every single song, from the opening notes of Moma, felt fresh and played with purpose. This show was super tight and had amazing flow. In comparison to last night, which had a pretty decent DWD and an awesome Light jam to my ears, but had no flow, tonight didn't take anything deep but took everything to the top. See Theme From the Bottom as a perfect example of this. Solo was just absolutely scotching. The Everything's Right was the jam of the night. The boys took it up a notch with a nice, type one jam to start it off. After a moderately high peak, Page keeps it going and brings the jam down to some dirty, dark playing. Trey links up with Page and Mike here and brings the jam to the stratosphere. What a first set. The second set was just has high energy as the first and definitely saw some type 2 treatments, but nothing mind boggling. I thought, probably like the rest of you, that the Carini was really heading in a nice direction before Trey abandoned it for Set your Soul Free. I was disappointed, but the jam out of Set your Soul Free did not disappoint and made me quickly forget about that pesky rip chord. Even this Wingsuit was well placed and peaked nicely. As I've said before, never complain about at Scents and Subtle sounds in this spot. Waste was definitely needed before the mind bending that happened during this SOAM. Holy crap this jam got effects-laden and dark. While I also agree that this could have been a 93 jam, I would say it would also fit right in 03 as well. Overall, this show just brought the heat and energy. I highly recommend listening to this show that is sure to be lost in the scuffle of a deep jam summer tour. Phish always delivers at Camden.
, attached to 2018-08-08

Review by Koa96

Koa96 Set 1: [Moma, Free] was a nice funky way to open us into this show, Mike's has no qualms leading us through Free [Theme] as always this beautiful song builds but in particular, Trey soars and I'd say the highlight of S1 [My Sweet One] Page absolutely DESTROYS this one!!! You can literally hear Trey yell multiple times YEAH! as Page rips thru it...so much energy in Mike's singing too...a really great version of this song [Everything's Right] continues to be a great jam vehicle at the end (or beginning) of sets...I love how Trey is really trying to finish all songs, and in this one come back to vocally EVERYTHING'S RIGHT at the end. Set 2: [Julius, Carini] was a rocking, energetic start to the second set [SYSF] is a new favorite, I love how this song starts, super funky [Wingsuit, SASS, Waste] was a beautiful section of S2 and they do a complete version of SASS this time unlike SF before they hit us with [SOAM] which barely hung in there thru the jam and was thought to be the end of set but they hit us with a [Zero]! 2018 - It's the Summer of Everything Soul!
, attached to 2014-10-18

Review by Cranker77

Cranker77 So from being from the east coast Key Arena was a venue that I was really looking forward to seeing. This venue holds a lot of history inside these walls. This was my Nassau Coliseum of the run. So to show my respect I strapped on my green new balances to pay tribute to the late departed Supersonics that once held court in the building and was ready to show some east coast love. It seamed like the band was ready to to the same. Coming out of the gates blazing with a well suited cavern to get us warmed up and blood flowing. After catching my breath for a brief second the the home town crowd got what they wanted ,the anticipated "Duh-Dunt ,Duh-Dunt"and they were loving every minute of it. Though it was very short lived like it was all summer. I thought the transition into Rift was ok and well played. Trey seemed like he was having fun w/ Moma. But to it sounded like to me that the rest of the band had trouble getting on the same page with it,and got a little out of sink. After that the boys also payed there respects to the Sonics with The line . After that the set kinda lost its short lived luster for me . Although it was nice to sneak in a Sugar Shack. Only the 17th one played. I didn't get the whole Wolfmans>Sparkle >Gin thing but hey that's been typical of first set song selections these days. But hey not really anything to complain about thus far. Know the second set on the other hand to me was fucking amazing on all different levels up until a certain point. And if you were there you know what I'm about to express and talk about. To me the DWD was a good selection to open the set with. It gave them a chance to work out the kinks and try to get in sync with each other. Something I thought was leaking in the first set. Golden Age I thought was well played. This is where you can see the fans starting to get back into the show. Then Fuego really started to get the crowed dialed in and you can really see the vibe the band was getting off it. The Light all the way to Sand was pure fucking madness and the crowed was so showing there approval. To me I was really digging that hint of funk-ness that really miss from back in the day that Trey was laying down in that cities.. The light>cities transition really got my blood boiling and the crowd was feeling it as well. I thought how they dropped into 46 days was a perfect fit in keeping that funkiness alive and flowing. This is the sound I came to hear and at this point from what I can see and feel they finally had hit there stride and they knew it and we were ready for them to blow the roof off the building and we where ready for it!!! If you were there you know what I'm talking about. The emotions of the crowd when the finally went into sand was amazing. They were loving every minute of it. This set had everything going for it. Great flow and amazing energy. The 6:48 of sand was just pure perfection. The prelude of 2001 started ringing through the speakers and you can hear the crowd go nuts. The place just got 60 degrees hotter from the intensity of what was know a full fledge dancing party. The Key Arena was about to be set on fire. Everything that I hoped for while I anticipated coming here. And just as fast as the heat rose the air was sucked right out of the building. The sudden abortion of 2001 into the ill fated BDTNL. It was like seeing Kemp getting stuffed at the buzzer for a game winner. And the crowed let them know the disapproval and let down. They officially lost me and left me shaking my head why. After some of the most intense crowed felt music being played they dropped the ball and could finish the money shot. Though the bold as love was a nice attempt to try rebound from what could of been a highly talked about night the damage was done. Then realizing that all was lost there was nothing left to do but leave us w/ a meatstick>character encore shaking our heads even more. In all in all I left the show some what pleased. I took it for what it was worth. The potential was there. If that 2001 was not aborted that show would be defiantly talked about a lot more. The Key Arena was everything I thought it would be in a venue. As for my statement earlier on the nice tribute they did by playing the line for the Sonics, I take it back I dedicate it to the band cause they really missed the big shot in not hitting that 2001. You went from possible champs to mediocre.
, attached to 2018-08-08

Review by kyleindeed

kyleindeed I had said in my review of Gorge N3 that Melt was my favorite Phish song... more on that later. S1 has tons of playful fun. General “Theme” for the night was to go intricate rather than predictable. Everything well played and great exchange between the band members, esp Steam and Theme. But the first set is made impressively better thanks to this Everything’s Right thunderous closer. Bravo! It’s not often S1 has the longest jam of the night, but it does sometimes happen. No 15+ or 20+ jams to speak of, but they micro jammed the crap out of this set. Carini and SYSF were a decent compliment (albeit I wouldn’t have complained if they stayed within Carini during this time). My first SASS so a huge joy for me. They did SASS proper too and it brought the thunder here too. Even the Wingsuit and Waste had purpose as appropriate breathers between ragers. I erupted when they broke out Melt. Jam length aside, I’ll take this Melt to my grave. What a riot and joy to experience 5 years after my previous (and first) Melt. Im bound to see as many songs from 2013 that I haven’t seen since. Zero got funky in S2 close ( a la BD Powedered Donut). I had been asking for a Suzy for years. Hadn’t seen it since my first show (like Hydrogen last night). Brilliant! If you value deep and extended jams, this isn’t your show. Tight, intricate, driven and well played music? Eat it up... Indeed
, attached to 2018-08-07

Review by 3twenty6

3twenty6 My fourth show ever. Previous three were Jimmies, Boston Cream, and 12/30/17. So it stands to reason that I'd eventually hit a less than perfect show. But name another band that, 30+ years into their career could have an "less than perfect" night that hit the peaks of this show? I'll wait.... Still waiting.... Still waiting.... Yeah. I thought so. I like Crowd Control and was happy to catch it as the opener, but it wasn't blazing or mind blowing. Same with NMINML and Blaze On. Passable, good, not great... The band was finding their groove. Lawn Boy was still Lawn Boy (not Lawn Man). Infinite was good, and being the second performance, you can see its potential. Then we got the obligatory Wilson a few miles away from King of Prussia, PA was welcome, and after that came the first "moment" of the night. Lately, each outing of Roggae has been outstanding. This was no different. Maybe this won't rank as an all time great, but there's no question, the band is feeling this song every time, and it's always a treat these days. Rift has seen better days, but I boogied nonetheless. That 46 Days?? Yeah. We're gonna be talking about it for a while. Mark it in yellow on phish dot net and so the world will know its value. Check it out. Great Great Great Great performance. One of the tunes that BENEFITS from Trey's current pet effects and dirtier tones. Sparkle was Sparkle, and Bowie was smokin'. And the first set ended on a high note.... Set 2... DwD. We'll talk about it at the end of the year with the "Jam of the Year" discussions. It went deeeep and found some glorious spots, and it got weird and it got dark and it got funky and it got spacy and it got Number Lined, which was alright, which went into IAWITW, which is growing and evolving, and it kinda felt like things were going off the rails and Miss You sucked the wind outta the joint, but except, it didn't. Somewhere near the end, Trey found It and them sweet dirty tones lit up that song, and there was no place else to go but into the Light (a song I've caught in my last 3 shows) and this one went places. Beautiful, weird, type two(?) types of places... If not official Type II, definitely far out Type I. Mike's Groove was fun but sloppy. The "You Sexy Thing" thing was a cool thing, but it was evident that they weren't all playing as one. But it was fun. Always always fun. And Show of Life, the only remotely rare song of the night, sent us home, and all was well... This is probably my only show of 2018 (unless an NYE run in NYC is happening), and while, on the whole, it wasn't the mind blowing experience of my first three shows, it was mighty fine to be there. This is still the best damn band on the planet... By a longshot
, attached to 2018-08-07

Review by mblum

mblum I’d like to think they played Crowd Control, No Men in No Man’s Land, Blaze On, and Wilson in response to the prior days’ .net debate about the Alpharetta3 performance and its recap. All four songs have lyrics that read directly on topic. And all four were played with [i]fervor[/i] baby! ... Amazing band, amazing community.
, attached to 2018-08-07

Review by youenjoymybeard

youenjoymybeard That DwD is INCREDIBLE! Easily the best jam of the summer with the Alpha-Ghost, Gorge CDT & Twist close behind. The jam had everything, including relentless energy until the last few minutes, easing us into a gentle landing. Jazzy and Sticky Mike Bass lines, spacey synth leads supplied from page, Trey using effects and standard shreds to build PEAKS ON PEAKS ON PEAKS out of no where. Mikes new song Infinite is really great, and definitely shows jamming promise. That jam alone should have made it worth the trip out there to see the P Fish.
, attached to 2018-08-07

Review by Koa96

Koa96 Set 1: [Crowd Control, NMINML, Blaze On] was a safe start but solid playing all around to lift us into the show, [Infinite] I'm a fan of this new Mike tune. The type I jamming in it's debut at the Gorge from Trey was very promising as a jam vehicle and they deliver again here with Page taking his crack this time [Wilson] was nicely tucked in to keep the energy up, [Roggae] is another beautiful masterpiece, they really have nailed every version of it on summer tour thus far [Rift, 46 Days, Sparkle] were all pretty standard and super high energy songs to cap the first set [Bowie] they kept the lid on this one at only 11min which I was happy about since I'm not the biggest Bowie fan. Set 2: [DWD] opener is an unbelievable jam! [#-] can be hit or miss depending on the flow of the show, but it's a beautiful Trey song and it's an enjoyable version [IAWITW] I love the synth on this song just wish Page would power up more thru the lyrics [Miss You] great mid-set ballad to settle us down [Light] is another major jam vehicle! [Mike's Song, Hydrogen] has a rough start and can either be taken as funky fresh new version of the song or a complete flub [Weekapaug] they make up for it and share in the groove to end the second set! Encore: [Show of Life] is the DUDE OF LIFE!
, attached to 2018-08-05

Review by hseamons

hseamons Wow, just when I thought nothing could surpass the focused intensity of the BGCA run, this Alpharetta show takes Summer '18 tour to a whole new level. There is some exemplary playing here that demonstrate how Phish, a whole nine years strong into 3.0 with a historically epic Baker's Dozen stand under their belt, can still bring the heat and exceed expectations. It seems every year this band is still reminding us that they have not retreated to a boring nostalgia act with nowhere else to take us. 8/5/18 is a very special show of that kind that has everything we love about Phish: a totally unique and surprising setlist, classic Phish antics and teases, some powerhouse Type 1 and Type 2 jams, and a profound feeling of fresh, inspired playing and FLOW. Given their quite extensive body of work at this point, many shows these days are grab bags of Phish classics, bustouts, and extended jamming—but then there are those more rare gems of shows that take us on a remarkable journey, where each song is a stepping stone to greater "show-construction" fulfillment and musical enlightenment. Old standards become revitalized in terms of how they are placed and executed, and the basic elements of the Phish experience are transmuted into solid gold. Night three of the extra hot Alpharetta run—a Sunday show, no less—encapsulates why Phish remains one of the top jam band acts of our time.
, attached to 2018-08-07

Review by Slewfoot

Slewfoot I loved this show last night. The band was in sync from note 1 and having a blast. I was lucky enough to be in the pit and their expressions said it all: Trey was fist pumping after Crowd Control and even Mike was smiling for much of the first set....The energy in the room was off the hook for the first three songs and then the set veered into many different directions all well played. Looking at it on paper, it’s a dense first set chock full of goodness....The DWD deserves all the praise and more that will inevitably be heaped upon it. The jam went to 4 - 5 distinct sections with each one flowing oh so smoothly into the next one. I honestly could have left happy at that moment....The next batch of songs I’m sure will have many people complaining about a lack of energy. While the songs may not have had a fast pace, they more than made up for it in the feeling behind them. BDTNL almost had a ballad type feel to it tonight as it’s bouncy quality was toned down a bit. I was into it and Miss You is such a great passionate song these days....The Light caught me off guard, but I was soon immediately right there with them. Another killer jam here that led into a surpring and always welcome proper Mike’s Groove. I’ll take this trio any time, any show....The Show of Life was a perfect cool down encore....All in all I would give this show a 4 for song selection and playing and a 5 for the feeling surrounding it all. I personally thought the band was playing with more gusto than the shows I saw on the MSG Holiday Tour. Can’t wait for tonight! (PS - for some reason I couldn’t make separate paragraphs here so the .... denote where they would have been)
, attached to 2015-08-09

Review by CHelton03

CHelton03 I walked into this weekend of shows telling my friends "I hope I get a Brian and Robert." I know that song isn't a great show song, but it means a lot to me. Little did I know what was ahead of me as I walked into Alpine Valley the night of what was my second show... First off was the Very Long Fuse, and I hadn't heard it, but it was a cool jam. It set a neat tone that everybody had no problem dancing along. And then that chord. The intro to Col. Forbin. The audience lost it. I knew it was something special happening, but I didn't know what. Forbin crossed over to Mockingbird, with a flub or two (who cares?), and Trey's narration about the shitting bird. Funny story. It winds down...and then I hear it. "Doot doot doo, doot doot doo..." Brian and Robert. I got choked up and everyone I was with started patting me on the back. One of the guys said I must be good luck since I got the B&R, plus the Forbin/Mockingbird rarity bust out. Anyway, Saw It Again is another tune that folks love or hate, and I am in the former category. Esther, Weigh, the Sloth, and Sanity were all solid performances (remember, this is written 3 years later...) and set up a nice platform for a fun Split Open and Melt. The last notes of that tune rang out, and the lights came up for set break, I knew I had just seen something. Not sure what it was at the time. But it was something. Set two was deep funky jam city. Antelope picked up where SOAM left off. Carini took things deep underwater, while Waves had everyone pop up for air. Tweezer was...Tweezer, amazing and massive. It set things up for the nice cool down that was Dirt, another of the "some like it, some don't" songs that I love. Often times those songs (Or the Jerry ballads for ye Dead Heads) popped up in sets at inopportune times. The tunes played on this night did not. Then we got Mike's. Mike's one had use grooving. On the ride up to East Troy, my buddy and I talked about the long history of first and second Mike's, and how it had been absent for a long time, but had come out. We wondered if we got a Mike's, would we get a second jam? Boy, were we rewarded. Massive and tasty. It settles down into a nice second line for Blaze On. Blaze slowed things down for a nice breather before a ripper of a Weekapaug, and then a tasty Tweeprise to cap off the set. Wow. Contact was fun. Frankenstein was the end of the show. All in all, I don't know that in 3.0 I could have gotten a better first and second show. I'll never have the opportunity to see some of the amazing shows of 1.0 or 2.0: I am a 3.0 Phish fan in terms of live shows. But I am glad I have had the opportunity to see this band perform, because as we all know, things might have been different. So thank you Trey, Page, Mike, and Fish for making my "opening" Phish weekend a stellar success. Here's to many more shows!
, attached to 2018-08-07

Review by aybesea

aybesea They should call summer 18 the Roggae/46 Days tour... absolute fire! (and now for some extra words since I can't leave the small snippet above, but maybe with just a few more words, or maybe it's just ridiculous that I have to add this, but that't the way that they make me do things, although this is absolutely a ludicrous requirement)
You can still access archived Phish.net reviews


Phish.net

Phish.net is a non-commercial project run by Phish fans and for Phish fans under the auspices of the all-volunteer, non-profit Mockingbird Foundation.

This project serves to compile, preserve, and protect encyclopedic information about Phish and their music.

Credits | Terms Of Use | Legal

© 1990-2018  The Mockingbird Foundation, Inc. | Hosted by End Point Corporation