a Project of the Mockingbird Foundation


Link Trey Anastasio Band, Saturday, 05/31/2003
Warfield Theatre, San Francisco, CA

Set 1: Mozambique, Simple Twist Up Dave, Last Tube[1], The Way I Feel[1], Cincinnati, Black Dog

Set 2: Mr. Completely[1] > John the Revelator[2] > Night Speaks to a Woman[1] > Caravan[2]

Encore: Root Down[3]

[1] Carlos Santana on guitar.
[2] Carlos Santana on guitar; TAB debut.
[3] TAB debut.

Notes: Carlos Santana sat in on a second guitar for “Last Tube,” “The Way I Feel” and the entire second set. Portions of this show including Carlos Santana were officially released on the 2004 DVD Live at The Warfield. The traditional “John the Revelator” and the cover of The Beastie Boys’ “Root Down” were Trey Anastasio debuts. Though it lived in the Phish repertoire from 1990 to 1996, this show also marked the Trey Anastasio debut cover of Duke Ellington’s “Caravan.” "Night Speaks to a Woman" contained a "San-Ho-Zay" jam and "Moving in Stereo" teases from Jennifer Hartswick. "Caravan" included a "Manteca" tease.

Musicians: Trey Anastasio, Dave Grippo, Russell Remington, Peter Apfelbaum, Jennifer Hartswick, Russ Lawton, Tony Markellis, Ray Paczkowski, Cyro Baptista, Andy Moroz, Carlos Santana (Guest)

Login Register