, attached to 2007-09-21

Review by Abe_Froman

Abe_Froman This is a really fun show. Mike was putting together the Green Sparrow in 2007, taking time off from touring, but just happened to land in Kauai for this night, and you can feel the relaxed vibe of this show through the excellent tape from the spreadsheet. Nothing you have to hear from this one, but there are some nice jams, as one would expect from that lineup. Maybe Phish will play Weekly Time at some point? Aloha!
, attached to 1998-08-02

Review by dr32timmymeat

dr32timmymeat Lifeboy has a really interesting uproar from the crowd deep in the song, in the climactic final choruses. Maybe there were glow sticks flying around? Maybe someone ran on stage? Or maybe the crowd was just legitimately moved by this early-era tune being played to a T. Whatever the hoopla was about, it's not a normal end of song ovation. Lifeboy rightfully doesn't get that much fanfare... it's not that great of a song. But this version is particularly on-point and the crowd gets real lathered up during it.
, attached to 1990-09-20

Review by Mattynabib

Mattynabib A lot about this show has been covered by @demandopener, so I'll just leave this here to commemorate my "Phisheversary" of 28 years ago today! I'd heard a fair bit of Phish before this, and I had ATTEMPTED to go see them at least three times, all foiled foiled: once through sheer apathy because I didn't get it yet, once by a car being stuck in ice, and another by my car being stolen (and thus missed the famous first Boston Paradise show)! Finally, on Sept. 20, 1990, I made it to the Somerville Theater. I had expected to go, enjoy it, and be done. Needless to say, this did not happen: I was a convert. I ended up back the next night, early enough to be near the front of the line, and with my Tascam 4-track recorder and some cheap-ass mics. My career as a taper never really took, but my love of Phish led me to several tours and 100+ shows over the next three years, including all of the Somerville Phish shows over the next year or two.
, attached to 1999-09-14

Review by conormac

conormac Love this show. Classic Phish, and one of my faves from '99. Starts out fantastic, with an energetic Chalkdust, spackled but soulful Sloth, a great bust out in Curtain (very well played), and a surprisingly nice landing pad in Waste. The Loving Cup gets a nice '99 style take (from Trey), though, the Farmhouse, after a slow (albeit great) What's the Use and Velvet Sea, is an interesting call. Nellie Kane and Rocky top in set 1 is also interesting, but the Taste that splits them makes up for all that with some great Trey soling and superb support from the rest of the cast. Peaches to open is great, def satisfying the rarity category. AC/DC Bag goes big, and we all know and love it. I love that Miek and Page continue to hint at standard Bag changes htrouh=ghout, which helps propel this swirling jam for more than 15 min. The jam has a climax, with a chill spacey ending, but.....speaking from 2018, would love to see them go into Crosseyed and Painless at the 19 minute mark (when it gets Phishtronicy), but I guess phans had to wait until Cypress. After quite the adventure that is Bag (most phans must have been beside themselves) we land in a thick Gumbo. Trey starts this one out with a pretty aggressive tone and sprinkles the lyrics with nice fills. Mike gives a little extra uummph leading up to the standard Trey solo entering the jam. Thiigs seem to be gong normally, and loosely, when Fishman snaps the hi-hat, we get the ABTD tease, which is naturally AWESOME, Fishman keeps varying the beat giving it some extra mustard. The jam that ensues is straight funky, and the dance party is sweaty, Fishman keeping it "light" with his vox. Next DWD comes out roaring, the energy is so high going into the jam. Not the most exploratory version, but absolutely shreddery from Trey and Fishman beating the hell out of the skins. Frankenstein ends the set on a high note, some hiccups in execution, but fun nonetheless. Simple is a fun encore, Mike hitting the harmonies nicely, and, when Trey abandons the mixed up vox before jam, launches into a short but sweet lil jamlet. Hello my Baby ends this classic show in Phishy style. '99 is a phunny year in Phish. The inconsistency made for interesting tours, but when they were on , it could send the crowd out of this world. Many shows lag due to new song placement and often several slow songs linked together in stretches. This show starts to go that route in the 2nd quarter after What's the Use, but the band comes out swinging in the 2nd half and makes up for it in spades! This is a classic show, enjoy!
, attached to 1998-07-28

Review by dr32timmymeat

dr32timmymeat Old school as h***. Funny that coming off a show where they played 6 covers, this show breaks way old school. Not sure if they were in a rut, getting bored, or what, but this is the second consecutive show where the setlist wasn't "normal" at all. (This break from the norm is better than the cover orgy.) It's Ice, The Wedge, Mango Song, Brother... these songs weren't getting played at all leading up to this show. Really cool, makes for some good listenin' if you happen to be working your way through the tour. Curve balls all over the place.
, attached to 1995-12-01

Review by dr32timmymeat

dr32timmymeat I'm kinda floored that there is no show note on this Down with Disease. It's an absolute rager. It is a concise, tight jam... nothing remotely experimental about it, but my god does it hit the spot. I'd take this 3-4 minute jam over a more ambient, improv DWD (like, say, the 8-16-98 Lemonwheel version, which is long and fun but doesn't sniff the peaks of this version).
, attached to 1999-09-14

Review by Abe_Froman

Abe_Froman This show has been given the Live Phish treatment, so that right there is a pretty good reason to seek it out. The AC/DC Bag....man. The first 12 minutes or so may be some of my favorite Phish ever. They drop into a minor key, and just go to town on stuff that sounds like it came from a movie soundtrack. And I love that stretch from The Sloth through Velvet Sea. There's just a feeling of good energy, good communication between the band and an attentive, appreciative audience. Great stuff.
, attached to 1995-06-30

Review by Miguelito

Miguelito Both of the Great Woods ‘95 shows were a lot of fun to attend but for whatever reason the next night seems to be the more popular of the two. Perhaps that’s due to the availability of the soundboard or it’s due to the setlist. Regardless, this night has many gems and I think this show is arguably underrated. With AC/DC Bag and Mule in the 1-2 opening slots, the band gives a nice, high energy sequence. Both are solid. After a quick Horn, the band plays Taste. This tune is noteworthy as being the final early version before the band reworked it into what would briefly become The Fog That Surrounds. Despite being short, this is a tight, energetic version. Much of the rest of the set is solid but not particularly noteworthy until the Antelope. This version is a typical mid-90’s version, full of zest and a bit more extended than modern versions. While not as thrilling as the previous year’s Antelope (which knocked it out of the park, or the Woods), it still closes the set out nicely, with fun, alternate lyrics. The Mike’s > Contact > Weekapaug Groove are the highlights of Set II but I like the opening sequence of 2001 and Possum > Ha Ha Ha. After the rare TMWSIY > Avenu Malkenu, we get to the meat of the set. I love this Mike’s, which instantly launches this set to the next level. This was a great year for Mike’s and this version was no exception, as it was high energy, exploratory.and generally awesome with a very interesting jam that starts around the 12 minute mark, eventually moving into a more ambient jam. The transition into Contact is nice, and Contact in the middle here is fun and unexpected. In fact, by my count Contact has been between Mike’s and Weekapaug only 2 other times, the first time being 6.20.95 and more recently on 7.7.12. The Weekapaug that follows is a beast and is highly recommended. They close out the set with a lovely Coil, followed by Cracklin’ Rosie and Golgi in the encore slot. Overall this is an enjoyable show with a couple of real highlights, particularly the Antelope and the Mike’s > Contact > Weekapaug segment.
, attached to 1994-04-17

Review by Miguelito

Miguelito This show has all the signs of an underrated gem. Off the bat, it’s 1994 so that’s an automatic good start as this was such a landmark year for the band. Next, a soundboard is in circulation, which I would think makes this show more attractive. Highlights from the first set include the set-opening Loving Cup, which has only happened a handful of times, moving right into the ever-welcome Foam. The DWD, while short and still evolving, packs a punch and moves deftly into If I Could. The second set is pretty packed, and highlights include an amazing Bowie, followed by an amazing Wolfman’s being played only for the fourth time. As with many from this year, the Reba is spectacular. Maze too is worth a listen. It’s quite a set with a handful of very strong tunes. Plus we get a Bold as Love encore, which I’ll always welcome. Overall, this show deserves greater recognition and to my ears is without a doubt underrated.
, attached to 2018-08-12

Review by charleschanwick46

charleschanwick46 It was a smoker. All Night. I never took a bathroom break. Llama got things going nicely, While going from the lawn to my pav seats BBFCFM was playing and I always like to watch the staff of the venue and see their reactions. When Meat started playing everyone started really grooving- the plaza was loaded with people dancing. It was quite a site and it was basically its own separate party the whole night. Oh boy was I glad to be in the pavilion for this night because the night before we were in Chomper Town, I try to shrug off people talking the best I can (out of my control), but N1 at MPP you could barely hear the band over the talkers. Alaska- I absolutely love this song and it gets me every time when Trey is just rippin solos. Tweezer- Short but solid - smooth transition into a smoking Gin (Hose). Got feels in with Curtain. Then an absolute FIRE CDT (Hose X3). Tweeprise to open S2 was everything you would hope for. NMINML - Gordo was hitting some basslines at 7:30 that got my nips hard, toe tapping stuff. Twist slowed it down a little but still hype- I have no problems with saying I like Caspian- I love to look around the room when Caspian plays and I take it all in. Piper- just when things started getting into hose territory, it was like a WAVE just took over me and the crowd, Tweeprise happened and took MPP into another universe- almost like everything you have done in your life was all leading up to that point, pure orgasmic joy- the roar of the crowd means you know that Phish were, in the best way I can describe it, hitting everyone's G-spot- serious squirting going on, ie: HOSE. They could have ended it there and I would have been fine. I really like BDTNL and thought it was placed perfectly in the set- another song to look around and take it all in. 2001- WTF- this is was down right sexy- super space funk with Mikes bass and Trey blasting off those effects that were just melting my brain, not a single person wasn't moving - DANCE PARTY USA. Harry Hood- perfect closer- all the feels, Hood will always have a special place in my heart and when executed perfectly it really rustles my jimmies, twas the case here. Solid Encore with Tweeprise to take us home. This was a perfect setlist on a perfect night at MPP. My friend who couldn't be there said this was the kind of show why I have seen them over 250 times. Blaze On.
, attached to 1992-03-22

Review by SplitOpenAndMule

SplitOpenAndMule It's nice to hear young Trey rock lead guitar and vocals on a verse with a very tight group of professional musicians. This is a fun boogie song, I think would sound good ending a Phish set. Can be heard at: https://youtu.be/uqNJ3jSofpc?t=19m20s (Adding more to be long enough to post.) The preceding NPR show on that recording is also very fun. I like hearing Phish cater to a more adult audience than was likely seeing them on tour. Funny to hear fans shouting for Fee, Reba, Golgi, and Suzy before Landlady.
, attached to 2018-08-31

Review by TweezingSpaceRanger

TweezingSpaceRanger This won't be the last review I leave about this show. But the Ghost->Crosseyed needs to be added to the jam chart. The jams out of each were both unique and the segue was ridiculous. It reminded me of the 12/30/97 AC/DC Bag where they almost went into Psycho Killer but just teased it. That sequence was too good. Also, the Mercury needs to be on the jam chart because it is the best version to date with Mexico 2017 being close. The funk jam following "the net's unbreakable" part is ridiculously funky. None of the jams I mentioned should be highlighted yellow, but they should at least be listed
, attached to 2018-08-31

Review by Cerias

Cerias Great show; beautiful weather and a great vibe at the venue! Perhaps the staff @ phish.net would reconsider the "Eminence Front" tease/quote in Free, which I don't believe it was. Though it was similar to the "Come and join the party ... dressed to kill" line from Eminence, it just appears to be a descending set of notes from Trey. A side by side listen would clear it up. Discuss!
, attached to 1994-05-07

Review by BroMcDudical

BroMcDudical For those who get as excited about little details as I do: When they go -> Tweezer Reprise (which is glorious in its own right) Page does something totally sweet when he kicks into the starting piano chords. Maybe he's done this in versions elsewhere but none that I can specifically recall. Basically he plays a reprise of the normal chords (which I believe the cycle of 4 is [D, E-sus4 (A-7/E?), F (D-/F?), G], something like that). Not to get bogged down in the technical detail but he plays the first pass through as normal with the exception of returning to the 2nd chord following the 4th, the next two passes through the cycle are noticeably 'reprised'. It's pretty cool, a tweezer reprise reprise (the original threeprise?), only fitting to cap off Tweezerfest....
, attached to 2018-09-01

Review by SkyTrainWand

SkyTrainWand Great weather, great people, great music. I really only have one thing to say... I thought the stage with Phish on it was going to start lifting off of the ground somewhere during the SYSF > Fuego combo. This was by far my favorite show of the run. Glad to have been a part of it all and sharing in the groove with so many wonderful fans.
, attached to 2018-09-02

Review by SkyTrainWand

SkyTrainWand WTF is wrong with Gotta Jibboo? I mean, it's fine if you don't like the tune, but don't accuse them of "mushing it all up" with a song that like 90% of the Phish crowd has no problem with. Phish has put together a lot of really good jams (even if some are only 12 minutes) with Gotta Jibboo, if you've listened to the Baker's Dozen version or Jibboo from 12/31/17 you know what I mean. Anyway, I thought this show kicked ass. I liked the Soul Planet opener going straight into Possum, I liked the Mellow Mood bust-out, for the most part I really liked their song selection in the first set. Miss You isn't my favorite, but hey, it's still an original and if Antelope follows, I'm more than cool with it. I didn't get to be there for this show, had to fly home but I think this is one of the greatest 2nd sets of the year. I'm extremely happy for all that were in attendance because I think the 46 Days -> Tweezer -> GA > Steam is top-shelf Phish. Sure, they could have picked other songs besides Suzy and Zero to close with but they opted to keep the energy high and rock out. Nothing wrong with that. I'll be listening to this set 2 for quite some time, and I hope you do too. WE LOVE DICK'S!!
, attached to 2018-07-25

Review by ElevatedPrime

ElevatedPrime Gotta say, GREAT SHOW. The energy was slow at first but was truly amazing after Tube loosened up the crowd. Opener was great to break into the night. Tube definitely shocked me tho. First set highlights include the light show. Started off slow and then WOW. Anyone who has ever seen a light show and saw those lights must have been blown away. Jim was a real treat and the follow up with The Horse and Silent sure to come made for a nice middle chunk of funk for Keepin which apparently was a debut. Driver drove. Sweet and simple. Saw it Again kept the crowd screaming into Ocelot. Definitely had some major jam material. Nice to see that one can take any shape. Two of the newer songs sandwiched Backwards. I have been coming around to the last two albums... That being said I was looking forward to the second set! Set Your Soul was a new one to me. I should know every tune ya?.... Twist Was Ridiculous = Fun Fun Fun! Man did the crowd get down on that tune. Gotta love "police man" harmonies... Trey is Hilarious. Never seen a SASS without the intro. That was cool. Right into it. What's the use really had trey using the reverb and feedback with that sustain. Love those tones.... The Wedge. What else can I say. We had our whole band there and it inspired us to add it to the set list!!! Love that tune. Second set ender Possum was, as usual, a toe tapper. THE LIZARDS. What else can I say. They ended with a tale and big finish. Crowd was wonderful... Loved the lights. !!!
, attached to 1994-07-09

Review by Miguelito

Miguelito Forever overshadowed by the previous night, this show is underrated and is worthy of greater recognition. As we all know, Summer ‘94 was a peak time for the band. This show was no exception, with killer playing and a knockout setlist. Kudos to @kipman for highlighting this fine show in the underrated shows forum posts. Reading this column and having attended this show (and the previous night, thankfully) inspired another listen. I wasn’t disappointed and it was fun reliving the show. The band opens with the classic early-to-mid-90s combo of Jim > Foam. I really love this pairing and both are solid renditions, with Foam being its usual awesome self. I really miss that tune being in regular rotation. After a brief but welcome Gumbo we come to Maze. This Maze is a strong version and an early highlight of the set. Next comes Guelah, which I’ll take anytime, followed by a decent Scent. I like this version but it’s not anything that’s really noteworthy. We then get a short and still evolving DWD followed by Horse > Silent, and then to Antelope to close the set. The Antelopes from this era were generally incredible and this one is no exception. I love this version. We get a little Call to the Post, leading into the build filled with intensity and verve. Trey wails on this one. This is exactly what the crowd needs to send us into set break. Opening Set II is a short 2001, leading effortlessly into Melt. This was a peak time for this tune during this peak era, so the chances were good that this one would smoke. And smoke it does. The band is in full sync here, which I can only describe as organized chaos. There is some screaming at a few points during the jam, and some laughter at the end, which is actually the perfect way to end this magnificent, frenzied version. Up next is Fluffhead, another highlight, as this is a very nicely played version that is perfectly placed in the set before leading into Poor Heart. The band is unrelenting so far, and this continues as this then leads into Tweezer. This version is relatively short and while it has a few moments that are interesting it’s not a particularly noteworthy take. Lifeboy, Sparkle and BBJ give us a chance to catch our breaths before the Hood > Suzy closing sequence. This Hood is a fantastic version of one of my favorite tunes, with a strong peak before its finale. Sleeping Monkey and Tweezeprise close it out nicely. Overall, this is an excellent show that deserves numerous listens as it has a lot to offer, including stellar versions of Maze, Antelope, Melt Fluffhead, and Hood. This show is an underrated gem.
, attached to 2018-09-02

Review by TweezingSpaceRanger

TweezingSpaceRanger It's hard to compare this show to the other 2 played earlier this weekend. The energy inside the venue was incredible. Soul Planet wasn't the opener I was hoping for but the segue into Possum was nailed and the place went nuts. Mellow Mood was a great bust out and the Tube>Funky Bitch that followed got the place going crazy again. MFMF>Horn>Maze was a great Rift triplet and the Antelope was a fun way to close the set. The 46 Days->Tweezer->Golden Age was probably the best music of the entire weekend. The whole venue lost their mind when Tweezer started. The amount of glowsticks flying around was the most I've seen since Magnaball. Steam through Gotta Jibboo was good song selection but the closing Suzy and Zero was slightly disappointing cause I was looking for a YEM or Fluffhead but oh well. Overall this show was another winner and Dick's 2018 was a blast. I'll be listening to the 46 Days Tweezer Golden Age section of this show several times
, attached to 2015-11-10

Review by TangledHangers

TangledHangers Really enjoyed this show, there was a moment probably around Mr Completely where Trey had all these lights focused on his his guitar and it created a strong beam of reflecting light which trey then took the time to shine across the crowd from left to right. Great venue, I had seen Trey at the Fare Thee Well shows earlier that year, so it was a cool feeling going from a football stadium to such a small room.
, attached to 2018-09-02

Review by Phishsurgeon

Phishsurgeon Never miss a Sunday show. In this (first time) reviewers opinion, those words delivered on their promise. This was my first Dicks run and I held high expectations because of the history of the band in this venue. I was completely fulfilled by Sunday's show, with Phish seemingly influenced by the scale and presence of the Rocky Mountains. The first set was a deluge of music, with highlights that included a crowd bouncing Possum, sweet reggae groove Mellow Mood, a beautiful Ocelot, Phish showing that they are always Keepin' it Real, face melting triad of My Friend, Horn, and Maze, and finally a soulful rendition of Miss You, closing with a majestic Antelope. The crowd needed that set break to ready themselves for one last push, which Phish then provided in the second set. Is hard to pick out a specific highlight from a second set that was a single, continuous flow of the finest music this reviewer than recall being a part of. I think the second set is best viewed as a single entity, a massive organism of music and energy, that gave the phans in attendance a transcendent experience. This colossal show was capped off by an emotional Horse/Silent in the Morning followed by the anticipated, and explosive Tweezer Reprise. I held high expectations for this run and this show, and those expectations were exceeded.
, attached to 2018-09-02

Review by Philbombs77

Philbombs77 Because I don't tour anymore, I only go to the Dick's shows because they're a 30 min drive from my place. I started to get this weird feeling that the band was playing a lot of the same songs year after year when they come here. I looked into it last year and, to my surprise, it seemed even more prevalent than I imagined. I compiled a list of how many times the most-played songs appeared at Dick's and posted it to the reviews under 9/3/17. I'm updating that list after their 8th consecutive run in Commerce City. I'm not adept at statistics and advanced probability, so if someone out there can speak to whether this falls within or beyond the bounds of expectation, especially the songs that have appeared at all 8 Dick's shows, I would be eager to hear from you. An asterisk denotes that the song was also played during Phish's 3-day run at 1st Bank Center in 2010. Light (8)* CDT (8)* Ghost (8)* Piper (8)* Antelope (8)* The Wedge (8) Hood (8) Tweezer (7)* Moma (7)* 46 Days (7)* Slave (7)* DwD (7) Sand (7) Gin (7) Free (6)* Twist (6)* Carini (6) Suzy (6) Steam (6) - - Steam played only 32 times since it’s ’11 debut (almost 1 out of every 5 at Dick's)
, attached to 2018-09-02

Review by Slewfoot

Slewfoot Another Dicks winner! I felt like the first two nights had a delicate, introspective precision to them. Last night the music had a great easy going flow from the stage to the crowd...Soul Planet was rockin and set a great tone for the evening...a lot of the songs had a deep psychedelic vibe which was on full display in the 46 days>Tweezer>Golden Age segment. It was wonky and bizarre yet totally worked...cheers to Phish on wrapping up a great tour and can’t wait for Albany!!!
, attached to 2018-09-02

Review by GAphishin

GAphishin From start to finish...nothing but eternal sound! Patient and guided. Inspired and curvy! An absolute blowout to an absolute blowout weekend! I am eternally grateful for the opportunity to have been present. Kuroda, my man, MVP! If anyone finds my face in the clean up crew’s endeavors, please pm me.
, attached to 2018-09-02

Review by MJ_Calleys

MJ_Calleys Wow. In the late haze of eastern time couch tour, these words spin forth. I enjoyed the full weekend. Friday was wonderful Saturday was solid Sunday was ethereal I love this band, but i have one critique of the entire weekend. Pick any song but jiboo in that spot. You literally had an all time show going and you mushed it all up with gotta jiboo. Finish the fourth quarter. Friday: 4.75 Saturday: 4.10 Sunday: 4.33
, attached to 2018-09-01

Review by 90MinuteJam

90MinuteJam Great show! #firstsetbeliever. They’re focused and it’s a damn dance party out there. Dwd was solid and the early Shade was a good move. SSF and Fuego were on, transition to CDT was less than optimal, but I’ll leave the nitpicking to other reviews. Dallas Mike gave 2001-> A+ and DM knows his shit. Honorable mention to Lance & Tara who made the drive from Arkansas and great people in the area, from the Sarah-Eric-Obie trifecta, solo Chad, to the big crew that brought it. Energy like that makes any show a best show.
, attached to 2018-09-01

Review by justbecuz

justbecuz Another solid show. A not so typical set one opener Sand kicked us off. DWD had a great jam that built to a proper crescendo and delivered a proper ending of the song. Shade cooled it down and was the first balled of the weekend. Up next was Home. I really hope that the band explores the possibilities that the end of this song offers for jamming in the future. It always ends too soon for me when they play it. Wolfman's was up next, and had some excellent playing by all involved. Towards the end of the jam I could have swore that Page was trying to steer them towards Sneaking Sally but we would have to wait... Wombat was tight and didn't really get exploratory but is always fun. Bathtub Gin had a great ascending jam till Trey played the familiar riff we all know and brought set one to a close. To me the band seemed to be getting more hyped as the set went on and the way Trey looked at the crowd, I figured set two would be rocking and I was right. Set Your Soul Free works very well as a second set opener and the transition into Fuego worked very well. Fuego has become one of my favorite 3.0 songs and when placed early in the second set is an indicator of good things to come. CDT is when the band really came alive. Trey was jumping around and adding blues licks at the intro of CDT and you could feel the energy, like touching a spark plug. CDT segued into a rather short Twist with nice work from Mike and Page. Piper has always been a jam vehicle for the band and although this one was short, it contained some nice moments before the transition into The Wedge which was nicely delivered. The pause that followed was pulsated by Fishman's beat indicating 2001. This version had some thick funk layered throughout it and did not disappoint. A surprise Sneaking Sally arose from 2001 and immediately brought a smile to my face. Short but sweet it had some vocal jamming before the first chords of Slave could be heard. I am a sucker for Slave and this was a pretty good one and the perfect way to close the set. I was expecting an encore along the lines of Friday night but instead we were treated to More. And that is how Phish always leaves me, wanting more. So well played gentlemen, well played.... Best advice, never miss a Sunday show... Ever. Also, anyone else a little confused by the lack of Mike songs the past two nights?
, attached to 2018-09-01

Review by TweezingSpaceRanger

TweezingSpaceRanger This was another great Phish show. Sand was a fun opener and the DWD covered some ground before peaking and returning to the song's theme. Shade and Home were a bit slow but Wolfman's through Bathtub Gin was an enjoyable stretch of songs. The Set Your Soul Free>Fuego combo worked really well together and I enjoyed each song more than I thought I would. CDT through the wedge kept the energy high and all the songs were well played and fun despite the lack of type 2 jamming. The crowd was having a blast. However, the big highlight of the show was the stretch of 2001>Sally>Slave. That was a great way to end a set. I was expecting more from the encore after last night's raging Martian Monster and Julius but oh well. Overall, this was a great live experience with high energy despite the lack of type 2 jamming that blew everybody's mind the first night. Hopefully the Sunday show doesn't disappoint!
, attached to 2018-09-01

Review by Matty1222

Matty1222 ]How could they top that Friday show? The energy, passion, emotion, and intent that was displayed on Friday night was intense. You felt it. It was undeniable. The concert ended. After parties were had. Stories were shared. Rest, wake, repeat and here we are again. Ready for round 2 and they didn’t waste any time phunking around. Sand kicked off the first set and sets an immediate vibe with Trey looking noticeably more relaxed and patient. They jam on this and make sure to give it one proper lift off to the moon before going back into the Sand riff to cap out a heater of a first song. Proving tonight isn’t going to be your run of the mill first set, Mike rumbles his bass and we’re off into DWD. This hasn’t been quite the summer for DWD where only Camden and Austin come to mind but Dick Diseases usually don't disappoint. Trey changed his tone after a few minutes, Page starts doing the space noises, and we find ourselves in a Gordon driven jam with Page adding splashes, Fishman grinding, and Trey being patient. This shit will get your head bopping. That is until Trey decides build it up to a frenzy then completed it with its proper ending and now we’re on our way. Shade followed DWD and gave us our first ballad of the long weekend. They sound-checked this pre-show so though a slight bust out, didn’t come as a complete shocker. Home gave Page a chance to test out the vocals and they executed this quite nicely. They went quickly into a raging Wolfmans Brothers. Keeping it pretty high tempo the whole time with a nice peak at the end. Wolfman introduces his good friend Mr Wombat and this the animal has some funky vibe vibing. They nailed the lyrics and changes and seemed to be having some fun with this number but didn't really venture much. Next up is one we all expected this weekend. Some called it as an opener for last nights gig. Everything’s Right stepped on the court and gave some new meaning and reflection to the lyrics we have heard Trey happily sing for the last couple years. They jammed it, we loved it and then they decided to serve up one of our favorite cocktails Bathtub Gin. This Gin had some pop and was really building momentum and upon peak Trey kicked it up another level where I can only assume their amps were turned up to 11 at the time. Then, just when you think they are going to kick it into ludicrous speed, Trey opts for the Ginn riff and they end the set gently. This is a very solid first set and one we would sign up for any day. Moving on. Set 2 kicks off with Set your Soul Free. Downvote me all you want but I love this song. Love the lyrics, love the vocal harmony at the end, and I love the way my 3 year old daughter sings it around the house. It’s fun. This songs jam stays pretty uptempo for a while and then they slow it down where you start to notice your eyes closing while Trey and Page have a musical conversation using multiple effects on their respective instruments. They catch a real fine wave and carve that sucker up and down till Trey starts repeating a three cord riff similar to DWD Mexico that we are all familiar with. After toying with that for a minute thing quiet down and Page rings out the opening notes to Fuego. The rocked the song with Trey adding some extra effects and the jam was par for the course until Trey employed a strange effect and the band followed which created a psychedelic feel. Some heavy stuff in there with incredible focus and timing. Fuego came to a quick end before Mike could “drill” us home and CDT was underway and fast tempo one of that. (3.0 fast). Without slowing down for any turns, CDT went full speed into the the bright white lights that CK5 had on full throttle while the crowd chanted “Can I Live While I’m Young” like it was the first time they ever sang those liberating words of freedom. Now, this where the concert takes a few Twist” and turns before arriving at the song selected for the fourth slot. Twist came and went pretty quick and changed quickly into Piper. Intro was short and sweet. Jam was uplifting, relentless, had multiple themes. Give it a spin. They decided that given the distance to the pin, a Wedge would appropriate and it played well. They had time for one more phunk phest. 2001 has been one of 2018’s MVP’s with segues, teases, and the best CL5’s light show has to offer. Calling them relisten -able would be an understatement. This was a solid 2001 that had moments and was what everyone thought would close the set until Sneaky Sally and Slave came through to give this show the one two punch it it earned but didn’t need. Sally was standard. I don’t give my opinion on Slave. Every Slave to the Traffic Light is different for every passenger that boards it’s train. To each their own with that one. But check this one out, it rocks. You want “More”. You got it. Sing along. Lights Close. Saturday Night 2 in the Books. P.S I wrote this review while watching the web stream and posted it immediately after the show at close to 2am EST. . I find writing these and reading yours a lot of fun. Enjoy, thanks for reading, and don’t ever ever ever miss a Sunday
, attached to 2018-08-11

Review by zarathustraz

zarathustraz I was there and have relistened quite a few times. Party Time has some extra party to it, and Breathe and Burning has a peak that just can't be denied. Stash has moment or two of extra spice, but the big guns don't really get blazing until 46 Days, which is a dark, beast of a jam. To open the second set, Sand has some nice phrasing, but never really picks up steam. Who's ever heard of a Sand second set opener without a peak? Sort of a travesty. After no-peak Sand, Mercury comes in. Mercury is welcome company most of the time, but with such a long build up in the song, it should be coming in after a big moment, like a light cool down before the next big jam. The Mercury jam starts out strong, but Trey totally flubs the peak, as in he legitimately loses time and hits the wrong notes. A nice ambient jam after that, but it's really hard to enjoy that Mercury with the crucial climax being so badly messed up. Ghost is the highpoint of the set with a strong build and an ecstatic peak that reminds everyone why they came to the show, and Fuego does a fine job functioning as a transition song to a nice and patient Slave. Martian Monster throws down hard in the encore, and Golgi is well-played too.
You can still access archived Phish.net reviews


Phish.net

Phish.net is a non-commercial project run by Phish fans and for Phish fans under the auspices of the all-volunteer, non-profit Mockingbird Foundation.

This project serves to compile, preserve, and protect encyclopedic information about Phish and their music.

Credits | Terms Of Use | Legal

© 1990-2018  The Mockingbird Foundation, Inc. | Hosted by End Point Corporation