, attached to 1994-06-17

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw More than just a "Fun" show. This show is solid from front to back. The first set is less "fun" and more just solid 1994 Phish. The Jim that opens the show is Breathtakingly amazing. Melt is played flawlessly. There is excellent playing and especially harmonies in "If I could". Even typical first set songs from this period are above average like Foam and Scent of A Mule. Just an all around great set. Set 2 is more of the fun sort. But still it weaves seamlessly. Sample has a ripping solo. Mike's is fun and exceptionally played even with all the craziness ahead. The segue into Simple is fantastic and it's a great version. I absolutely love the weird I am Hydrogen/Simple mashup. What song is it really? Can't say for sure. Harpua has one of my favorite stories ever. Julius has some extra mustard on it more than usual. The only "Average" part of this show is the encore. You get a very typical and average Sleeping Monkey > Rocky Top. But it doesn't take anything away from this exceptionally played show. This is by far one of the best Fun/Well Played shows I've heard.
, attached to 1999-07-07

Review by crepu

crepu For those who find the siket disc Phish’s best studio effort, this - aside from Cypress - is the show. For those who come from a slightly different background (from the typical Phish fan) where the Cure is our Beatles or classic rock, where we’re disheartened by grunge’s truncation of shoegaze, and we’re “still waiting” for the Halloween cover of Yo La Tengo’s I CAN HEAR THE HEART BEATING AS ONE - this is the show. Sure, it starts off rather disjointed. But there’s something to that. “Back on the Train,” Whats’ the Use?,” and “Billy Breathes” are executed the way they should be, but seemingly out of place. Yet, it starts making sense. It bounces around between blue-grass and in-your-face intensity and the styles we’ve been used to from Phish, but those textured and ambient stylings sprinkled throughout were teases of what is to come in the second set, a set coming to terms with Phish’s ’99 direction, and coming to terms with the monster-exploratory set II. Taken as a whole, this show proves Whiteheadian concrescence; the multiplicity and diversity expand into one. What Phish does with their silly antics that reel us back from transcending jams, they simply transcend here, and their songs - not quirkiness - steer us back before setting us out again. This is a different Phish, and that’s what Phish is about. ’99, perhaps the most misunderstood year, is not lost on some. But it doesn’t matter. BMGS and a nostalgia for those loops over loops echoes, “God’s one miracle, lost in circles.” Oh, and there’s that encore with one of the most genuine and humble musicians in the game. Serious taste.
, attached to 2003-03-01

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw Trying too hard for the tour ender. Chalkdust is a peaky and explosive start to the show. Foam is strong and stretched a little bit. Character Zero is in the middle of the 1st set which is quite odd. Another slightly stretched out and strong Divided Sky. Straightforward but well played Waves. Average Sample. Another explosive set opener in R&R. Piper quickly goes into a groove and Page adds some good flavor to it. The jam is pretty repetitive with the guys adding something every little bit. The segue into Boogie On is just fantastic, Mike nailed it. Antelope is it's typical ripper to end the set. Probably the most notable part of the show is the encore. They do a total fakeout with First Tube (pretty standard standalone encore song) and then BAM! Goes right into YEM, the crowd must have lost it. Proud Mary although a cool debut isn't half as interesting as it sounds in the setlist. This show has the feel of the guys giving it one last strong push to end the tour. The issues come with the sets not particularly flowing too well and some issues connecting and playing inspired.
, attached to 2017-05-06

Review by dpwilljr

dpwilljr First time back home since 2014. First TAB show since Vegas. I flew up to the state I was born and attended this show with family. Everyone had so much fun and my Brother and Niece were completely impressed. I was able to finally meet Mike a.k.a. MJZ1974 and spend some time with him talking about music. One of the best TAB shows I have ever seen. Thanks to Trey and the whole band.
, attached to 2017-01-14

Review by beovaldi

beovaldi Listening to this whole show many many times since I listened to it live 4 and 1/2 months ago brings back good memories. With that said, it's somewhat disappointing to me that this show is rated as low as it is. I honestly listen to this show more than the 1/15/17 show (which I also thought was spectacular). I think it's because of the setlist imho. The Curtain With opener was really solid, and who doesn't like a Bag to follow to get the show on the road? Breath is Breath, and Poor Heart is Poor Heart. I love Page singing Halfway to the Moon, and The Line was ok. There were some good moments in Waking up Dead. But then things get started. A solid Tube and then Fast Enough. It isn't nearly fast enough for you? Hmmm. That seemed to be the theme of the show...second night of a three night set. It's as if they were telling the crowd that this isn't fast enough for you, because you're here to rage, but we're going to play a chill show...and that's what they did. Ocelots are fast and they played a good one, but not as fast as a leopard, which is what the Phans wanted. Then a must hear CDT to close the set. This was the peak of the show. Second set was pure musicianship. (Except Trey's flub in Winterqueen.) Excellent Crosseyed opener, then an excellent run of songs from here to the close. I just wish they would have > or -> the songs together. Blaze on blazed, Meatstick. Meatstick went crazy with exploration and some spacey jamming, then Winterqueen was just sublime. Mercury was an excellent version with some great percussion by Fish and great guitar color from Trey. Light got super intense and jammed and then a closing Wading. I know this gets a lot of criticism, but it fit with the laid back theme of the show. It's not fast enough for most Phans, and, trust me, after the show I was like..."eh, that was ok." But listen again. There's a theme here and some great music that is all tied together. Like Phish was just telling us "relax, you're in Mexico...ocelot speed is ok for one night." Then of course they go full leopard speed and melt faces the next night. But they set us up for that! The encore was the encore. If you listened before or were there, relisten and rerate accordingly. P.S. When is Mexico 2018 getting announced?
, attached to 2003-02-26

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw Pretty strong and inspired show. Very strong (and unexpected) YEM. Clone is just excellent, very well played. Roggae is top shelf. Great guitar work in Drifting. Moma dance goes into a fantastic groove. It moves very well. Final flight might be my favorite of all the side project songs in this set, it's gorgeous. Maze gets really out there, in the best possible way. Nice stretched out Stash to start the 2nd set. Nothing super exploratory but just a nice long Stash. Ghost is superb, it has a very danceable groove in the jam and Low Rider works perfectly. Excellent segue into Makisupa. Oh and another amazing segue into YaMar. A solid Waves. Oh and what did you say? ANOTHER fantastic segue into Frankenstein, just amazing. A Loving Cup encore. But don't turn it off just yet. It's the GREATEST Loving Cup encore ever. Trey goes insane! Awesome show.
, attached to 2003-02-25

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw Peaks and Valleys Talk is the first highlight to me because it's a huge bustout, and played on electric guitar. 46 Days has some extra mustard on it. Taste is an all timer, just an epic version. Slave is in a totally weird slot, not closing a set and in the first set. It has a pretty huge ending. WOTC has a very heavy and mucky jam, solid version. Bag is a pretty damn rocking version. Cities doesn't have much of a segue into it and is pretty straightforward. Really strong Theme. Who would of thought this would get stretched out for a decent amount of time? It's really REALLY good. Jim is pretty well played. Pebbles is a great cap to the set. Coil and Zero are pretty damn uneventful but still two great encore songs.
, attached to 2003-02-22

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw The Sloth is very well played and a pretty random opener. Piper is a nice exploratory warm up jam. The segue into Weekapaug is pretty slick. Walls of the Cave is a relentless momentum driven jam with great peaks. Mountains in the Mist is gorgeous as usual. Tube is always a welcome set opener, and this one has a nice stretch to it. The Gin jam starts in a kind of up tempo down tempo jam. And dissolves into what seems like the end as Trey plays the Gin riff. But the rest of the guys won't have it. It goes into a nice cohesive groove led by Fish. The majority is mostly noodling weirdness. Not really a fan of it, seems a little too fluffy for me. Bowie is very strong and well played. Overall a string of good songs strung together around standard stuff.
, attached to 2003-02-21

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw Wilson is a nice high energy opener. Frankenstein is in a really weird slot, and it keeps up the energy. Disease transition into a nice floating groove, it's a nice warmup jam. Lifeboy mellows things out. Antelope is top notch and well played. Weird set closer in I Didn't Know. Mike's is strong and it moves into a static layer groove. No ending coda (and no weekapauge) it just drifts into Free. Not crazy about the 2nd set song selection, but waste is pretty strong for slowing everything down. Strong hood that is very cohesive and well played, great ending. All of these Dreams again kills the momentum. Very strong possum, fantastic peaks. Very well played. Great Velvet Sea Encore. Overall pretty awkward sets. But still good stuff.
, attached to 2003-02-20

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw A show with epic moments, that almost hits legendary status, but not quite. I enjoy the 1-2 punch of Rift>R&R although Page seems a little out of sink in his singing and things feel a little off in general. Waves is very strong and well played. Simple starts very sloppy but the jam after is very tranquil and pleasant. It's a very ambient and psychedelic jam. Jibboo has a fantastic hose jam to start and has some fantastic peaks. Tweezer to start a 2nd set almost always means a jam. The jam starts kind of floating around. Trey eventually turns on his super mucky tone and just riffs around for a little bit. It grows darker and darker and is peaky as hell at the end. PYITE crashes in after in the best possible way. Excellent placement midset for Fast Enough For You, it's well played too. This is followed by IMO the best Seven Below ever. The song itself is played perfect The jam starts with some hose and it just seamlessly flows from idea to idea. Sometimes this annoys and bores me but it all works very well to me. They nail the song again at the ending just a magical version. Pebbles and Marbles goes deep into chaos to close the set and has a very long peak (as if this set didn't melt your face enough) just a great high note to end the set. The encore has a great Anything But Me likely the best version ever. Overall a fantastic show just great. But It's not flawless and doesn't quite have enough for a 5 star rating in my book.
, attached to 2003-02-18

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw Fairly average 2.0 show. Not too much to talk about in the first set besides A very strong Stash. BOAF has an excellent guitar solo maybe the best for that song. And (like every one from this year) a very strong Walls of The Cave to close the set. Moma Dance starts and the guys sound refreshed and rejuvenated in their playing. LxL has a kind of eerie dark jam. Strong Divided Sky in a weird 2nd set slot. Carini has a quick thrashing dark jam. YEM is very cohesive and strong with a famous vocal jam. Mexican Cousin is likely the best version ever. Overall nothing to exciting. They sound tired throughout the first set but the second set and encore have some great notable moments.
, attached to 1992-05-17

Review by fhqwhgads

fhqwhgads This show is one I'll reach for in the future when I want kitchen-sink "phun" rather than a particularly deep jam. Pre-August-93 Phish didn't reach levels of Type II--as we know it today--nearly as often as post-, but that's no reason to ignore earlier shows or be disappointed in this archival release. The three recommended jams are all Highly Recommended for good reason, particularly the teasefest and Secret Language-encrusted Possum. There's plenty of banter and antics throughout the show, too. The LivePhish archival release contains filler from the next, tour-closing night in Burlington, VT, and it's very well complementary to this show. In the absence of any true Type-II excursions, which many of us have come to take for granted--in the sense of going into every show expecting them, and not necessarily devaluing them thereby (an unusual usage I felt the need to explain)--I rate this show 3/5, but the musicianship during this era of Phishtory is very strong; it would just take about 15 more months for it to coalesce into the prototype for what has become the standard of excellence when it comes to Phish shows.
, attached to 2003-02-16

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw Riding on the heels of yesterday. Bowie flies right out of the gate. It has a very solid nice groove in it's jam. Excellent weave in and out of Catapult that leads to a fantastic conclusion to a great sequence. Great version of Round Room, definitely one of the better versions overall. Cool Golden Lady Debut. Also one of the better Pebbles and Marbles. Yet another solid first set. Disease kicks things off, it doesn't go very deep being the jam gets ditched into 7 below. The segue is nice back into DWD from 7 Below. I'm not sure but this may be the only show with two weave in and out sequences to start both sets. Piper goes lightning speed right off the bat. They are trying to find their footing for most of it. The middle section is very Birds Of A Featheresque. Trey eventually finds a nice little riff towards the end. Friday is surprisingly a great way to end the show in my opinion. Overall I like this show a hair less than the night before. But still a nice few shows to kick off the tour.
, attached to 2003-02-15

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw Not bad not bad! Llama is great. But the show really kicks off with Wolfman. It has a nice cohesive groove from the start, it's a nice warmup jam. A nice dip into the pool if you will, it's quite pretty. Strong soaring Reba follows. Great Life on Mars? Bustout, very well played version. Even a strong Antelope to end the set. Very strong first set. Good short and sweet Waves to kick things off. Strong bug. Ghost gets a little stretched out but it's a pretty generic Ghost jam. Cool extended intro into hood. It veers off towards the end before a fantastic build to the end. Standard Sample encore. One last fire for the night. Overall a slightly above average show that is pretty solid front to back. I may even like the first set more than the 2nd.
, attached to 1998-07-20

Review by fhqwhgads

fhqwhgads This is a fitting example of a show that has a lot that turns me right way up. 20-min.+ Gin opener, which burns slowly to a tremendous release, whipcrack-tight Birds of a Feather not that long after its chronological debut, a well-played Theme From the Bottom, a Moma Dance with a bit of "extra mustard," LOL, and a great, driving Split Open and Melt which still manages to get into the groove because Fishman's playing adheres to a danceable outline. The Drowned -> Makisupa Policeman > Maze sequence is must-hear, IMO, if you're a big fan of Summer '98 or 1998 Phish in general, and the encore is plenty of phun and ends with a legitimately jammed-out Halley's Comet.
, attached to 1997-07-30

Review by fhqwhgads

fhqwhgads This show has a lot of what I love about Phish. I'm a phan of 1998 vintage (that's when I was introduced to the band, though I didn't see any shows until Lakewood 2000) and I think that for that reason I've always been drawn more towards and identified with the late 90s. I've come to appreciate earlier and later Phish, but that's probably always ganna be my sweet spot. So I can really get off on the cowfunkin' Wolfman's Brother, though I also love the Recommended Jam in Chalk Dust Torture. But the centerpiece of this show is the David Bowie -> Cities -> David Bowie (so much so that a .Netter handled himself after the sequence.) Bowie is cruising along at high altitude for about 15 minutes before an uptempo funk groove starts to develop, whence Cities. Cities is played at a faster tempo than normal... worth seeking out for enthusiasts of funk, cowfunk, or Cities in general, or just for any phan at all, really. I don't think there were really "quarters" in Summer '97, but this fourth quarter is pretty standard (though who doesn't love a good "Fire?") One more note of interest: the Piper in this show is only about 5 minutes long! You might be interested to hear it in its early form (having debuted earlier in '97 in Europe, IIRC.)
, attached to 1994-11-25

Review by fhqwhgads

fhqwhgads One can hear in the big jam tunes the very experimental nature of the jamming that was characteristic of this era and basically the whole initiation into Type II that carried on from August '93 until possibly '96, though Fall '95 showed signs of reining it in to some degree in order to focus more intently on themes and motifs that could carry a jam rather than just the aggressive-sounding psychedelia of some of those years' highlights (which I do enjoy!); Cf. the Soundcheck Jam from this show on the Chicago '94 release. I really like the music-IQ satisfaction of the near 40-min. run of Simple > Harpua > Weekapaug Groove, and it's certainly novel to hear Weekapaug segue (->, not >) into The Mango Song, and of course this show is notable for the great jam in Simple and the first appearance of the glowsticks in Harpua, but this isn't one that I'll return to often, perhaps just because I came of age in phandom post-cowfunk and prefer a little more stability in the jamming: not monochromatism or unwillingness to take risks, but merely cohesive direction and a more danceable sound (even though I Can't Dance.)
, attached to 1994-06-18

Review by fhqwhgads

fhqwhgads This show is synaesthetically "red" for me--for the most part--in a way mostly based on the song diction that compares to the 7/8/00 Live Phish volume. I think it's just a function of the Summer '94 sound that I get that impression. But I digress. The chops on display are mind-blowingly pyrotechnical, to be sure, but the jams are of the deconstructionist quality that would later evolve further in Fall of this year and Summer of 1995. The jamming, in other words, is more "eccentric" than "shreddy," though there is certainly plenty of instrumental virtuosity to be heard here. The much-renowned Bowie, for example, seems continually on the verge of bursting with new ideas but doesn't settle into the most compelling themes, as can be found in such as the 6/11/94 YEM (a week before at Red Rocks) or in Fall 1995 (I'm referring to what well-known phanlanthropist Charlie "@Icculus" Dirksen calls "teary-eyed jamming.") This is a great show, though; don't get me wrong. Phish just had an "huge" element to their sound at this juncture that can either turn you all the way on or not, and I prefer a more focused type of exploration.
, attached to 2003-02-14

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw Not a bad way to kick off a tour!!! My Sweet One carries on a cute little Valentines tone. Cover of The Rolling Stone is a cool debut (although kind of a dark foreboding anthem of what was to come in the next few years). The jam out of fee is excellent, a great little warm up jam. Fantastic segue into Taste. Great Taste with some fantastic drum work by Fish. Gin goes into a nice tranquil jam. Not your typical Gin hose jam, it goes into a nice happy melody with a nice peaky ending. Nice segue into Caspian. Overall a fantastic show. Strong Possum to start the 2nd set. Strong Walls of the cave that swiftly goes down the rabbit hole. Trey is gnarly tone shoots through a dark groove. Then it dips into some mellow and pleasant ground. The segue into Carini is fantastic and unique. Strong Bag with the infamous stage crasher confessing his love for valentines day. It also has a nice Fish led jam coming out of it.
, attached to 1993-07-22

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw Pretty kickass Llama to start the show. Notably strong Horn. Pretty sloppy poor heart intro. Very solid and well played Stash. Pretty straight forward 1993 first set. Tweezer is basically the business for this show. It is very strong and cohesive with a nice quick chaotic jam that packs a punch. The segue into Walk Away is fantastic as it usually is out of a jam. It's Ice is another pretty rough version. Possum is strong. The Banjo compliments Paul and Silas well, and is surprisingly very very good during Avenu Malkenu. The Segue into Rocky Top is also pretty kick ass. Pretty average 93' show .
, attached to 2016-07-15

Review by youenjoymybeard

youenjoymybeard There I am, first time at the Gorge, first time seeing Phish after a year or so of being a fan and Tweezer opens the show. I'm thinking it really does not get much better and it will be a hell of a show. I remember an artful Tweezer peak just as the sun disappeared behind the backround of mountain peaks which provoked an inspired roar from the crowd. I had brought a friend who had never seen a jam band before, so this was a BIG first for him. He looks over mid wolfman’s jam, wide-eyed with a huge smile, and says “I GET IT DUDE, I GET IT.” I don’t think I will ever forget that moment, it was too perfect getting to share an event of this magnitude with him. Second set was total bliss, at times I think the guys even confused themselves with the variety of songs they were teasing throughout. The first night we watched from the lawn, to experience the sight of the gorge and the lights. Looking down at the pit was a hell of a trip, the crowd in constant flux being painted by Kuroda’s lights. Highlight for me was Ghost with “whats the use” teases and the Ass Handed debut which had us all laughing to the point of suffocation. Page brought some serious heat to that 2001 as well. All in all for a first Phish show it couldn’t have gone better. The consensus seemed to be that this was a top 10 show for a lot of folks and that I was total screwed by both the on-coming obsession and that my bar will be set extremely high for future shows. I feel I was more than spoiled that entire weekend with bust outs, a debut, great jamming, a huge glow stick war, classic Phishy antics and humor, a vacuum solo the following day and a band that was more than happy to be in that place playing for those people. Can’t wait for our return to the Gorge for another great weekend!!
, attached to 2000-07-15

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw Just another show This show is fairly straightforward. Not too much to write about but here we go. Dirt is the first real strong version of the show. Wolfman is strong and compact with some nice funkaliciousness. My soul is pretty strong. Besides that not to much to the first set. DWD kicks off the 2nd set. It shreds then slowly simmers into a nice mellow groove. There isn't much of a variation for the rest of the jam besides it speeding up and slowing down. Towards the end there is what sounds to me like a Mind Left Body Jam Tease. The segue into While My Guitar Gently Weeps is absolutely fantastic and patient. Mango song has the beginnings of "Have Mercy" at the end but for whatever reason they didn't play the whole thing (why the hell not?). Bug is it's typical strong self for 2000. YEM is straightforward but well played. Yup not much else I can say. Not terrible not memorable.
, attached to 1997-12-02

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw Just another amazing show on a legendary tour. DWD is a compact ripper it has a fantastic segue into Makisupa (the first of several epic segues during this show). CDT has an explosive fantastic guitar solo. Good quick Ghost jam (are there any bad versions of Ghost in 97'?). Divided Sky is notably strong and likely one of the best versions I've ever heard. Taste is strong as most are from this year. Mikes Song jam starts with an awesome 97' cowfunk jam it goes into a nice groove before evolving into a tense jam. Although this whole sequence is epic I have to say Simple is mighty sloppy. However, the segue from Simple -> Dog Face Boy is fantastic It is just seamless. Great segue into YaMar, the jam that ensues is very funky and Mike slaps the crap out of the Bass. This is before a legendary segue into Weekapaug, probably the best segue into it ever. Mike just keeps slapping away as it turns into the Weekapaug intro. It is very slow at the beginning with extra funk. It speeds up gradually into a crazy powerful shredtastic jam. Trey just explodes with energy. Bouncing is a very cool down after the fact. Zero brings it's typical high energy to cap the set. Sample has a very explosive solo that ends this wild show on a high note.
, attached to 1995-12-11

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw December 95' never disappoints. I really like the MFMF>HAHA 1-2 punch to start the show. Very strong and cohesive Stash, great build and intensity. Reba is well played but pretty standard for this era. Dog Log has hilarious banter that would not be topped until the famous Big Cypress "Cheesecake" banter. Llama bursts out of Dog Log in flames and is quite powerful. Tube is a very strong 3 minute ripper. Curtain is pretty solid. Great Bowie intro, very tense yet cohesive jam that slowly develops into some awesome peaks towards the end. Great Mango Song. Fun ScentOAM. Gorgeous hood with some very patient playing and it unfolds just as it should into an epic outro very good version. Funky Bitch has a great sit in by Warren Haynes as him and Trey tag team it and play like they have played together for years. Trey would say later that Warren is one of the only other guitarists he can properly link up with and play "Over and under" and this is proof. Overall a very good show with a ton of different things to offer.
, attached to 1995-12-28

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw Solid Playing SOAM opener is a rare occurrence so that's pretty cool. It's a very strong and powerful version. Well played Curtain. Incredibly strong possum so many good peaks and just spot on playing. Yet another strong Timber from December 95'! Very strong Theme in its infant form. Weird slot for WIlson & Buried Alive and it kind of messes with the flow to me. Tweezer has a very strong jam, very experimental with a nice groove in the middle. Intense and kind of eerie towards the end. Cool spacey segue into I Didn't Know (also in a weird slot. Slave is relatively strong to close. Straightforward Encore.
, attached to 2014-09-26

Review by Brickmaestro

Brickmaestro Agree that the Divided Sky was beautiful with the full LA Phil behind it. Petrichor did feel a little derivative, but was still nice. The experimental "heartbeat" music group that opened up before Trey was weird. Overall, an unusual, but welcome Phishy experience. Trey was certainly having a good time, and that's always fun to see.
, attached to 2017-04-28

Review by 46Blaze

46Blaze This was my first time getting to see any of Trey's side projects live. Cool weather, constant breeze, and TAB ripping it up for a solid hour and a half – what more could you want out of a Friday at Jazz Fest? Just wanted to add, since the setlist seems to be having some trouble finding its way to the web, that First Tube>Dazed and Confused was a late-set highlight, Money, Love and Change had a deep funky jam, and the encore of Push on 'Til the Day left us all on an extremely high note. I also seem to remember Valentine and Small Axe being played. Still chasing my great Jibboo. See you guys at the Baker's Dozen! P.S. J-Ha is a force of nature!
, attached to 1995-12-29

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw A show with a lot to offer (besides the just the obvious) My Friend My Friend is played very strong as the opener. DWD is a really well played ripper. Stash is pretty chaotic and destructive and stretched out for a little bit. The always strong and well played Fluffhead after. And an extra strong Llama. Set 2 has a rare Makisupa opener. Gin kicks off strong and has a nice jam before going into one of the most legendary and well known segues ever into The Real Me. It is one of those lofty bell big triumphant moments in Phishtory. And after Real Me you get a nice little jam. It goes back into Gin flawlessly for it's conclusion. McGrupp is pretty top notch. BBFCFM is very well played and the Bass jam after is very nice. It features a bunch of different movements from Funk, To Classical, to Blues infused. Yet another fantastic segue into La Grange fueled by the Blues Bass section. Bouncing is even notably strong. Golgi Encore is Golgi Encore. Overall a fantastic show front to back. There is however something missing to me to make it 5 stars. But it's pretty damn close!!!
, attached to 2017-04-29

Review by AustinTxNate

AustinTxNate Legendary TAB show. Leaving the venue, I saw people with jaws on the ground and others smiling from ear to ear. The perfect mix of Saturday night party tunes, huge soaring peaks and a nod to Willie Nelson's 84th birthday. Here is my story about the latter. We made these incredible shirts merging Trey and Willie's face, with print saying "Have a Willie nice Trey". Think Trey's face, and Willie's iconic braids and headband. We were able to find someone at C3 to give 8 shirts to, and they delivered them to the band at Brunch that morning. The Austin Jamily met up at Pelon's, across the street from Stubb's, at 6:00 so that everyone that ordered (about 45) could pick them up. My Fiance saw Trey come out of his bus about 30 yards away, and knowing that we might never get another chance to meet him, bolted across the street giving Trey a huge hug and kiss. My buddy and I shortly followed and sheepishly gave Trey a handshake Hug, freaking out inside. He looked at the shirts we designed and said, "oh, I love those shirts!" I replied, "it's Willie's birthday!". He paused and said " Really?, we should play Willie tonight." Just like that, before we could get a picture, he was ushered away backstage. Riding high, we finished a couple more pitchers of Margs and heading in for primo spots in front of the Hartswick, Cressman and Casey. Our night could not get any better. But then...Trey opens with On the Road again and our entire group just lost it. High fives, hugs and tears of joy to start the show. We did it! The forecasted thunderstorms dissipated and there was no turning back from there. So much love at Stubbs that night and the band returned it with a beautiful show. Nights like that are what dreams are made of.
, attached to 2000-07-03

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw DWD kicks things off. Nothing exploratory or out there but Trey absolutely demolishes it towards the end very good kick in the butt to start things off. The Gin jam slowly builds with some great hose slowly swirling and revolving (much like the storm ahead). It soars for a little while before it comes back down to earth. Pretty good version of My Soul follows. Strong Heavy Things and Fluffhead (as usual). Jim kicks off the second set and after about 10mins it dives into a jam with some great drum work by Fish. All the looping and weird effects kick in and a solid groove ensues. They are firing on all cylinders and it mellows out into some psychedelia. It then speeds up into a nice thunderous groove and Trey rocks out hard for a powerful ending. Theme is very strongly played. Sand although stretched IMO is the pretty standard repetitive groove you get this whole year. Waste is a pretty nice and strong encore. Overall a pretty above average show.
You can still access archived Phish.net reviews


Phish.net

Phish.net is a non-commercial project run by Phish fans and for Phish fans under the auspices of the all-volunteer, non-profit Mockingbird Foundation.

This project serves to compile, preserve, and protect encyclopedic information about Phish and their music.

Credits | Terms Of Use | Legal

© 1990-2017  The Mockingbird Foundation, Inc. | Hosted by End Point Corporation