, attached to 2019-10-18

Review by GreatWent19

GreatWent19 Trey was great. And I loved seeing him in this setting. Some songs... Waste, The Connection, Ghost of the Forest, and BDTNL really stand out when given the acoustic treatment. But this isn’t about the show. This was a crowd that wanted to party. And Trey wanted to play acoustic guitar, with loops and quiet parts, and maybe tell a few stories. So what did we get? Fans screaming requests during quiet parts of the songs. Fans hollering while Trey was telling an emotional story about C Cott. Trey even had to admonish a fan at one point... “Hey Man, this is a love fest and all but you really shouldn’t have done that”. That was when some drunk moron screamed “WINDORA BUG!” during the quiet sections of The Inlaw Josie Wales. Disrespectful to the point that Trey had to say something. So to all the party-fans who want to get drunk and scream though an acoustic guitar show, I’ll say the same thing Trey said while they were yelling during songs. “You really took me out of it”.
, attached to 2018-10-28

Review by Ry_storm

Ry_storm I had the amazing treat to fly from Toronto for the 10/27 and 10/28 shows. They were my first since Wrigley 16 and did not disappoint. Going into the second night I was unbelievably amped for what was to come. Set 1: As soon as Everything's Right started, a huge smile appeared on my face. I absolutely love this song and had been hoping to catch one at these shows. For a show opener, this sprawling version featured extended Type-II jamming and an absolutely INSANE white-light peak. There are very few ways to start a show better than that. Must-hear. Next up came the funky Destiny Unbound. Composed section featured a couple minor flubs from Trey but the jam got absolutely swamp-nasty. Heavy Things and Miss You are great songs - one is a laid-back dance tune and the other is an emotional-yet-still-uplifting song. I was not unhappy to hear either of them. The Tube that came next was amazing. Starting in typical Tube territory, Page hopped from clav to Wurlitzer to Rhodes and back while Trey sprinkled staccato notes over Mike and Fish's deep groove. Switching to major key and reaching a nice peak, Trey instigated some sick I'm A Man teasing and Page hopped over to the B3 as the closing verse brought a rousing burst of energy from the crowd. Though Petrichor did bring the energy level down a bit, but it was a song on my bucket list and I enjoyed its performance. Though I am not a huge fan of IAWITW, the jam was fiery and brought the set to a great close ahead of a quick Grind. Set 2: I remarked to my dad during setbreak that I would love a Carini. When the first grating power chords rang out across the arena, I freaked a little bit. The dark and nasty jam turned funky and after a brief major-key peak, Page brought the jam to an ethereal close on the Rhodes that signaled the start of the Zeppelin classic No Quarter. This version got extended past its normal structure with around 5 minutes of Type-II jamming that got nice and funky before a slick -> to Cities. Unfortunately, this got a bit of a ripcord ahead of a bright and airy Gotta Jibboo, which seemed to summon a light breeze to cool down the arena a little bit. The Twist that followed was a gorgeous Type-II version with a segue into WTU?. This was my first time seeing this song live and the silence in the middle was absolutely beautiful. The little Twist Reprise after was a nice treat. Shade is a gorgeous ballad that is a favourite of my mom's, so she was very happy to see it. At the time, I wasn't too familiar with Plasma as a song, but as the jam got grooving, I made a mental note to check out other versions. This 12-minute jam felt so much longer as the band brought it to a massive peak. As they strummed the last notes, I prayed that we'd get one more rager to close out the set, and they delivered in the form of my favourite Phish song, Character Zero. I still don't understand why this song gets so much hate as a set closer. There is no scenario where this song doesn't absolutely burn the house down, and this version featured Fishman egging Trey on and a gnarled guitar solo that left a massive smile on my face. Fluffhead is Fluffhead. Unreal song that has probably my favourite moment in live music ever at the Arrival section. Unreal show.
, attached to 2019-04-05

Review by RoanJivers

RoanJivers This show stands out as one of the best shows I've ever seen. I went in completely blind minus listening to Ghosts of the Forest when they released the single. Wasn't sure what was going to be played and was kind of hoping to hear a Phish or TAB song played. So glad they didn't though. I've never gone to a show where I felt so connected to the band and what was going on onstage. Everyone behind me could have left and I wouldn't have known. You could feel the rollercoaster ride of grief through the whole show. Sadness, depression, hope, joy, etc.. I felt it all. I'd also like to add that this venue was amazing. The staff was so receptive to the fan base. At one point someone asked the security guard up against the stage if he cared that we dance in the aisle. His response was perfect, This is a Phish show. Of course you can dance in the aisle. Overall, great experience
, attached to 1995-11-30

Review by TweezingSpaceRanger

TweezingSpaceRanger When Phish plays a show with this type of maniacal energy, songs like Ha Ha Ha can earn you strange looks in the subway when you're head bobbing and singing the lyrics to yourself. Every song played during this show is loaded with crisp, tight playing by all 4 band members. Of course, the Tweezer->Makisupa>Antelope segment is the peak of this show, but just listening to that sequence alone sells this show sort. The first set has explosive versions of The Curtain, NICU>Bathtub Gin, Fire, and an extremely tight Lizards. Even the version of Free in the second set is loaded with tension that 3.0 versions just don't have (and this is coming from a 3.0 newb). The Harry Hood to cap it all off is just sublime. Overall, this is another fantastic release from LivePhish and a great representation of what made fall 95 such a special time in the band's history.
, attached to 1995-10-27

Review by 3PointOhKeePa

3PointOhKeePa I so rarely leave reviews, but I felt I needed to for SOMEONE out there. I've accepted the challenge of listening to every show Phish has played, and this was show number 864 for me, so I've heard a bit at this point. I used to pick shows to listen to based on jam charts and ratings, but with 1.0 there are often too many gems glossed over by doing so. I write this review in hope that it some day helps someone who is on the fence about whether or not to listen to this show choose to toss it on. While this show may not be the best of 95 (probably far, but not as far as you'd think, from it), it has a lotttt to offer despite the rating it has (which if you're reading this and it's now highly rated, please disregard). The fact that the Stash and Bowie aren't charted not only exemplifies how strong 95 is for Phish, but also how good this show is that two of the strongest jams are not highlighted (and so rarely get discussed.) It's a classic Fall 95 show with some ferocious playing and amazing moments at a time just before they changed the game forever (again!). I hope you all enjoy it as much as I did!
, attached to 1998-11-24

Review by Laudanum

Laudanum I've been re-examining Fall '98 after the release of the excellent 11/11 show earlier this year, and this second set is definitely deserving of more praise, and maybe a track or two on Live Bait. The opening Ghost falls somewhere between the white-hot rage of 11/11 and the deep, dark groove of 11/19, opting instead for Trey-led speed boogie that downshifts before the overdrive truly kicks in. The subsequent melt into Halley's is atypical and laced with ambience. Halley's is its usual bubbly self, and serves as a bridge between the two jams of the set, linking the following Tweezer nicely with what came before. Tweezer, then, is where the goods are. Make no mistake: this is an under-heard, underrated version. It dives almost immediately into Manteca waters and stays there, intensifying and shaking, until it too melts into ambience and the old school Tweez ending. Compare this jam with the incredible Manteca->Tweezer from 10/30, and you'll hear its genesis. Fish is the hero of both, typifying the wave Mike so aptly described him as this year. Trey does some weird things in Possum, and ratchets up the melodrama to absurd levels in Zero, elevating the closing trio of songs above what the setlist implies. The whole set is worth your time, especially if you've got a new taste for the electro boogie of '98.
, attached to 2019-07-14

Review by thewiz

thewiz Most things have already been said but I thought I'd point out that the week following this show was the premiere of Between Me & My Mind in theaters. Numerous references to the movie are woven throughout the show, including in the Icculus narration (Fishman as sad, sullen, melancholy man) and the Ruby Waves jam itself (in the movie Trey mentions, "this song doesn't really go anywhere"). Very Phish-y.
, attached to 1995-10-27

Review by Miguelito

Miguelito A bit of an underrated show, this show has numerous highlights. The opening sequence is phenomenal, particularly the Jim which shows the band coming out of the gates swinging! Fluff in the two spot is nice and the following Taste maintains the energy. A few songs later, the Stash is pretty fantastic and while not nearly on the same level as my favorite version that occurred just a few weeks prior on 11.14.95, this one is worthy of a couple of listens and I’m surprised it didn’t make the Jam Charts. The second set has lots to offer too. The Bowie has been mentioned by other reviewers and I am in agreement with them that this is a great version. It’s different and exploratory, while maintaining the listener’s attention throughout. Why this one isn’t on the Jam Charts is mysterious. The Simple > McGrupp is a wonderful combo, and the Possum to close the set is another major highlight. Overall, this show deserves a bit more recognition than it seems to get. Then again, there are so many great shows on this tour I can see how this one can be overlooked.
, attached to 2019-09-25

Review by RunawayJim4180

RunawayJim4180 Super cool experience last night at the Grammy Museum here in LA! Trey followed a screening of "Between Me and My Mind" with a Q&A session, where he talked through some of the major themes from the film (life, love, loss, songwriting). There was also a brief Q&A session with the audience, where they took three questions. The first was a bit long so I forget the gist, but a girl from the audience made Trey something that looked like a book and handed it over to him after the question. The second audience question was "What happened at Alpine Night 3??". Trey mentioned that they had planned to jam out Mercury, but it just didn't happen. And Ruby Waves "just kept going", which was cool to hear. He also mentioned that during soundcheck that day they basically said to each other "would't it be cool to play TMWSIY and some of the older stuff?" Then they proceeded to rehearse all of those older tunes because they hadn't played them in forever. Finally, the third question was a throwaway of "who were your influences growing up", which you could find in almost every interview he's ever done. Anyhow, the music was great and the stories even better (check out his idea for a "Free" music video here: [url=https://www.youtube.com/watchv=5a5Ynw9NnIM]Free music video[/url]. Hilarious! Great night of music in an intimate setting (200 people)
, attached to 2019-09-21

Review by Jman428

Jman428 First time seeing Vida Blue, second time going to the Cap. Cool little scene outside the show, didn't see much of a shakedown besides some wooks selling stealie patches on the corner by the train station. Lots of extras to the shows on CashorTrade before hand, my brother and I scored two floors below face earlier this week and decided to go last minute. Also a fair amount of extras outside the venue for the show as well. When we got inside a half hour or so before the show started, there was a decent amount of activity going on at Garcia's, the bar/small venue attached to the main venue. We decided to grab a beer from inside the main venue instead and find a decent spot on the floor. We went Page side, and were able to sit on the carpeted floors and hangout before the show. When the light went down, they band took the stage and the crowd lit up a bit. They started with Analog Delay, which was fitting, and you started to notice the unique lighting set up that they had for the show. They took the tune out a bit, i guess you could say that it still stayed "type I" but Page was throwing out some wild sounding psychedelic synth layers with effects to create a bit of insanity, along with some cool guitar layer effects and Russell's energy-driven rhythmic drumming. The lights were set to plan white for the first song, and incorporated a Crossing Lines album logo that was suspended behind the band and surrounded by strips of some sort of LED lights that project inward towards the logo as well as outward and towards the crowd. Once they got into Real Underground Soul Sound, the lighting took to the RGB color spectrum and was actually really impressive to see for the first time. This song is my favorite off the new album. It is that slow funk, clearly inspired by The Meters. Page said something along the lines of "If you deconstruct that last song you can see who wrote it. It was Russell". This one got the crowd to really settle in and get a bit of a party vibe going. There were some good solos thrown in, and it was here that I started to recognize how good of a drummer Russell Batiste is with his ability to switch up the feel of a funk tune in so many ways, all while playing relatively simple patterns without over-the-top fills. Really cool tune. I went back for another beer at this point, this time to Garcia's with a shorter line and noticed that they were streaming the show from inside of there as well. There was no noticeable delay either, which means they must be hard-wiring the feeds from cameras. That was pretty awesome that you could get a break and still not miss any of the show. They also had a much wider selection of beer inside of Garcia's. I, of course, had to opt for the Sip of Sunshine that they had on tap. We settled back in on the other side of the venue on the floor now, and watched the rest of the show from there. Before "Where's Popeyes", Russell really got the crowd hyped up saying he wanted us all to lose our shit when that part came in the song. After a couple test "where's popeyes", they started the song and the crowd got hyped when they time came for it in the actual tune. At one point during the show, Russell said something along the lines of "Make it sound like we haven't been a band for 15 years and this is the last night of the tour". You can tell it wasn't planned because Page was grinning ear to ear and trying to hide it. This was probably the peak energy of the crowd the whole show, we got pretty loud and sustained it for a solid 30 seconds or so. Russell really is the hype-man of the band, and people love it. Page also eluded to the fact that they essentially will continue playing. I can't remember the exact quote, but it something along the lines of "can't wait to do it again soon" or something like that. I was also very happy so see "Sheep", though it was almost expected having played it at the other two shows of the tour. I didn't really care, as I love Pink Floyd's Animals. They played it very well, before ending with their classic, Most Events Aren't Planned. Setbreak came, and I stupidly pulled out my juul and took a hit of it. An usher made me go to the main lobby for a 5 minute warning he called it, which I thought was fair enough instead of kicking me out. But then the guy in the front took my license and wrote down every single detail of information from it. He wrote down my eye color and everything before handing it back and asking me to sign the sheet. I asked him what it would be used for and all he said was "we keep it on file". I was reluctant to sign it, but wanted to get back inside to catch the rest of the encore. I was sort of ticked off that they took all my info at this point, and regretting signing the paper and giving them my license, so it was hard to enjoy encore. It was cool that they chose "Cars" with Ric Ocasek recently passing this past week. Again though, they played this at the other two shows so it was almost expected as well. Still cool to see, though. The show got out and we walked up the street to the spot where we parked for free, and headed out. I would have rather taken the train, considering how close it is to the venue, but nothing really ran that late back to where I'm from and it would be more of a pain to park in New Haven and then have to transfer trains than it would be to just drive the whole way. Still was pretty in and out though, not terrible traffic after the show got out too. Good show overall, this is what I thought of each member. Adam Zimmon was a cool guitar player to see. He didn't have much of a forefront role that we are used to seeing with Trey, so it was nice to see Page take more of the leads role. This is not to say that Adam didn't have some great solos at points, it just seemed for his to have a more rhythm-player role most of the time. Sort of the least well-known and overlooked player of the group. Russell Batiste was pretty incredible to be honest. A phenomenal funk-drummer that could play a bunch of different styles, as well as the hype-man of the group. His ability to variate funk-grooves seemed to have no limit, and his sort of less-is-more style was very cool. Oteil Burbridge played a solid role in the grooves, I would have liked him just a bit higher in the mix though. I think that he didn't do too much to stand out really, didn't play many solo's but some of the brief bass line fills that he had were cool. Just didn't take the center of attention as much as I had expected really. Solid player, and I am sure he is capable of more, but just seemed underutilized. Page in this environment was cool to see. He sang just about every song, and his playing was much more lead-centric than in the Phish context. He had a variety of tools that he got to play with throughout the show, including a melodica and various synths. Seeing him be more of the center of attention at times was cool. He held up just fine for the long winded set vocally, probably sang more in that one set than he would sing in a week of Phish tour. Some real cool psychedelic sounding stuff coming from his keys at times. Would see them again.
, attached to 1994-11-14

Review by Miguelito

Miguelito Another strong and interesting Fall ‘94 show, this one has a lot of highlights with one pretty significant jam that elevates this show. Opening with MFMF, which is my favorite placement for this tune, is a promising start. The Jam Chart describes the outro jam as evil, which is aptly put. Scent and Guelah that follow are both solid, leading to Melt, keeping the energy high. The Landlady that follows is fun, and then we come to Maze where things really take off. This version doesn’t disappoint, leading to a frenzied and chaotic peak before concluding. The Cavern that closes the set is worth mentioning as 1 of only 3 that get Jam Charted. Set II opens with the ever-welcome Peaches. I love the placement. And then comes the Bowie, which is a fantastic piece of improvisation. This was just one of several significant jams that took place this month, which is clearly an important month in the band’s evolutionary development. And while I continue to rank the 12.29.94 version as my favorite Bowie, this one kept my attention throughout and this version’s importance shouldn’t be overlooked. As far as I can tell, it was the longest version played up until that point, only to be surpassed on 11.26.94. If you’re a fan of jammed out versions of Bowie, this one is worthy of your attention. After that monster we get a lovely Yerushalayim Shel Zahav followed by an excellent Slave. After a few breathers the band closes out this pretty packed set with YEM, which maintains the excellence found in the rest of the show. Overall this is a really great show with some major highlights, particularly the Bowie which is worthy of several listens.
, attached to 1992-11-27

Review by Wingtip

Wingtip The Capitol is an incredible venue, and this was my first Phish show. I was really into A Picture of Nectar at the time, and the band had a fun, shaggy energy that I think comes through on this tape. Divided Sky was the clear early highlight, but take notice of the Memories: the band was performing not just a capella, but *unamplified*, which is why you can barely hear them over the cries of "shut the fuck up!" They lined up at the lip of the stage, with their arms around one another, and sang into the beautiful red velvet and gold leaf and bobbing heads filling up the ramshackle old theater. You could actually hear them pretty well from the floor, but the tape doesn't quite pick it up. It was a great introduction to a great band, and I'm thankful I was able to see them at such an intimate venue.
, attached to 2017-07-25

Review by Tarhead9486

Tarhead9486 When Phish announced the Bakers' Dozen in 2017, it sounded like history in the making...and judging by 7.25.17, it most certainly was. I've been trying to follow up on the Bakers' Dozen shows just now (more time on my hands, I suppose), and seeing 2 years later that the ratings for this specific show is still holding up made it all the more of interest to me. Quite simply, when downloading it through Live Phish, I couldn't put it down for an entire week. At first, it seemed a bit awkward in some places, but that's how I usually am whenever listening to a new set of tapes or just albums in general. Putting Lawn Boy and Crosseyed and Painless aside for a minute, this show has some good moments on it: Thread and Tuesday are nice interludes after the intense renditions of Fuego and C&P; the debut of End of Session was a nice surprise; and, of course, you can always count on Stash and Bathtub Gin (the latter surprisingly not extended out [i]that[/i] much) for a good time. However, the centerpieces are going to be Lawn Boy and C&P. I've never heard (up to this point) Lawn Boy get an extended workout as it did here. Makes sense, since the show had a "jam" theme to it. Having the show end with Lawn Boy makes you wonder if all the songs in between actually happened...they go by that quick, and they're that mesmerizing. The 33-minute C&P has to be one of their best jams in recent years. What makes Phish compelling is that they're able to take a track and progressively deconstruct it as it goes on (i.e., dispense with each instrument one by one, thus stripping the music down to just ambient sound). They've been doing that with Down With Disease for years (the best example being the 23-minute version from 12.29.97); Simple, Bathtub Gin, and Halley's Comet; Kill Devil Falls got the extended treatment when I saw them in 2015. C&P is one of those countless numbers, but listening to how it disintegrates into space music (not too different from Klaus Schulze or Tangerine Dream*) made it that much more of a rewarding listen...only for the band to then float back to earth and then go back into the song...and end it! Other comparisons on this particular jam could be drawn to what the Dead did when they'd transition into Space in the 1980s OR Coltrane's improvisations (listen to One Down, One Up from 1965), where the rest of the instrumentalists sit back and let him go absolutely wild on the saxophone. Phish is most certainly worthy of these comparisons, and C&P is proof of that. All this happens in less than 3 hours, which is no easy feat. However, what emerges is a highlight of the 3.0 years and has motivated me to listen to the other 12 shows. I'd gotten the sampler album released in stores (The Bakers' Dozen), and the other shows just sound like a tasty treat. Although, I must say, it was interesting to see that nothing from 7.25.17 was excerpted on that set, but it's one of those shows where you need to listen to it in its entirety...a song here and there just doesn't do it justice. *If you don't know about Klaus Schulze or Tangerine Dream, do yourself a favor and pick up Schulze's Irrlicht and Tangerine Dream's Zeit...there were parts in the middle of C&P that made me think I put those albums on while drifting off into a semi-catatonic state. I wouldn't be surprised if the members of Phish had those albums on in heavy rotation while prepping for the Bakers' Dozen shows.
, attached to 2010-06-13

Review by Shadyside

Shadyside Not a show review, but I'll try and be brief ... This would have been the only birthday show I would have had any chance to attend. If someone asked me before the show what I wanted to hear for my birthday, this is exactly what I would have said ... "Well, Fluffhead. Obviously. And SOAM. How about It's Ice. And throw in Sparkle too, because it's the only frequently played song up to that point that I haven't heard live. Oh, and why not just play them all in the first set." WTF?!? I've been to every Star Lake show, except 2003. Another WTF was I doing that was so freaking important to miss a show like that moment. I was at Hershey, Camden, and MPP in 2000. Philly in 1999. DC area in 1997 and 1999. State College in 1997. Polaris, Alpine Valley, and Deer Creek multiple times. Cleveland in 1998. Point being, well within my local area of shows I've attended, or even would attend after this show. Can't believe I thought there was something else that was so much more important than a birthday Phish show.
, attached to 1994-11-13

Review by Miguelito

Miguelito A bit of a letdown after the preceding show but there’s some interesting stuff here. In particular, the Antelope to close set I is excellent. In this version, the band seemingly comes roaring back to life with a vengeance in what was something of an up and down set. It’s also worth noting that this set’s version of Simple is the last one before the big one, on 11.16.94, when the song changed forevermore and became a jam vehicle from that point. I also really liked the Divided Sky, which seems to have benefited from its placement in the second set. The Tweezer a few songs later is pretty nice as well, although the bar is very high for this tune this month and it doesn’t approach the same level as some of the other fantastic versions on this tour. It’s also worth noting that Funky Bitch made its tour debut in the encore slot, last being played on 7.6.94. Overall, this is a fine show but I like many others on this tour better.
, attached to 1996-11-13

Review by jadedforbin

jadedforbin My first show. At the time "Disease" was one of the few songs I actually knew, so I loved it as an opener. I remember thinking 2001 was super cool, and not knowing what was going on with the Suzy Greenberg and the HUMONGOUS jam that follows (which is up there with Darien 2000 in both length and insanity). I freaked out when they played Zep for the encore, the deal was sealed and I would soon see many more!!
, attached to 2019-09-01

Review by brybird

brybird I know I will be reproached for this and that most phanatics simply can't accept that the band might have an off night, but at risk of flagellation, I found this night to be "off." I am not sure exactly what it was other than each and every time the band got in position for take off, they faltered. I'd argue there were no cohesive jams, ambient, bliss, noise or otherwise. The best examples are Gin and Piper, they just kept stumbling. Compared to second set 8/31/2019 where the band came out just blazing. I apologize, but just curious if I was the only one that felt this way. Was I at the same show?
, attached to 1992-04-21

Review by Pjfmc

Pjfmc Fantastic Suzy opener. Early Uncle Pen, cool cool. Nice ripping SOAM with a heck of a jam. Fish and Page back way off and Trey and Mike walk it around for a while then Fish kicks back in and it rocks out. They're not the band they will be yet but they're on their way. Rift is so good here. Incredible Possum, great Ice. Things cool off but stay fun and we end on a fantastic tumbling David Bowie. Set 2, hold on to your butt. Love me Dinner and a Movie. Forbin>Mockingbird is good fun but gimmie that TWEEZER. This thing is weird and has an enormously satisfying melodic jam that's maybe a little bit pedestrian and a ton of fun. Mike and Trey interplay really elevates some simple riffage to the sublime. I love this Tweezer. Thank you Tela and then Mikes Groove continues to jam your butt , 92 style. Weigh immediately kicks off the shenanigans portion of the set. You can read about the shenanigans above or you can listen because this show is grade A top shelf '92 Phish. A must listen. Magical show.
, attached to 2019-08-30

Review by jadedforbin

jadedforbin Best of the run, all due to Everything's Right > Mercury which attains heights the band simply didn't reach for the rest of the run. Both the longest two tracks and the best two jams, these 2 versions are both top 3 all-timers for each song respectively. Mercury really is the best 3.0 Phish composition, and its even cooler that it's not on the actual album. Now it hangs out with Harry Hood (which was also quite great this set) and the other not-on-album cool kids.
, attached to 2018-10-31

Review by headyburritos

headyburritos I would rate this Halloween run as the most fun I've had out of the three runs I've seen. Other runs may have had better music, but this run brought all of the stuff I love about Phish; good jams, solid pranks, lots of fun, and friends from all over meeting up in one place to enjoy the music of Phish. First set was pretty standard and contained some fun "Halloween" songs to get the night started right. My lady and I found a good spot on the floor and held it down all four nights, which led to a new friendship with a huge crew of people who just so happened to live close to us. Thanks Phish! The "cover" set is where this show earns its keep. Personally, I "fell" for the gag. I did not do any internet sleuthing and did not look into the gag until way after the show. I assumed Phish was telling us the truth (stupid, I know) and believed that we were hearing some obscure Scandinavian band the whole time. I thought the stage design and set up really sold the act, and the music itself felt very prog-rock but also somewhat Phishy. If I had really considered it, I probably could have guessed that it was all original Phish music, but I was so swept away by the entire performance that I never really gave it a second thought. Third set was pretty solid, but nothing earth-shattering. After such a monumental gag in the second set, it's not surprise that they lost a little steam in the final set. Halloween is a looooong show!
, attached to 2019-09-01

Review by headyburritos

headyburritos Probably the strongest night of the three from a musical exploration standpoint. I thoroughly enjoyed Saturday and thought it had some of the best jams, but Sunday as a whole was the winner of the three. A nice, long first set to kick off the final night of Dick's 2019. I'm always hoping for something a little more unique, which seems to be missing at Dick's the past few years. Although nothing really out of the ordinary in terms of song selection, the first set was a solid hour and a half of good music. If you're not a big KV fan, this set could be kinda tough with Stray Dog, Turtle in the CLouds, and WACTOOB. Wolfman's was a highlight with some great funky jamming in there, as well as a dark and dirty MFMF, and I was particularly surprised by how potent the Crazy Sometimes>Gin segment was to close it out. Set two is where the real goods were brought this weekend. Even though the first song was completely unknown to many, I thought it had a good groove to it. I actually really enjoyed it and that can't be said for a lot of the GotF songs. The Fuego through CDT segment is the highlight of the second set. Fuego got real weird and spacey, and that trend continued into the amazing Piper that followed it. This song was a long longer than it felt. You can't really go wrong with Tweezer>2001, even if the jams are kind of short. CDT really picked up the great energy again before a nice, relaxing Waste. Cavern> First Tube is a high-energy way to close out Dick's weekend. The encore once again left a little to be desired, although Horse>Silent always delivers. Not really a big fan of A Life Beyond the Dream, especially the slow, quiet beginning, but the end was pretty rockin'. With Reprise coming at the end, I think it's easy to get past some not so great selections. All in all, a really solid and fun weekend seeing the Phish in Colorado!
, attached to 2019-08-31

Review by headyburritos

headyburritos Definitely a stronger showing than night one. The Phish came out of the gates hot on this night. Moma Dance always sets a funky tone for the show, even if it's a pretty standard version. The band kind of ran with the funk and groove based theme for the rest of the night. I'm a fan of the KV songs, so I didn't mind seeing another one pop up in the first set. If you're looking for a groovy, funky set, you can't go wrong with Gumbo, Funky Bitch, Ghost, and Tube. Solid bustout in Access Me; helped push me over into the 300 unique song club, along with Mountains in the Mist and Drift While You're Sleeping. The highlight of the first set was the face-melting Ghost and Tube segment. Just some straight fire from Trey during Ghost. Haven't raged that hard in a while. Mountains in the Mist was a HUGE song for me; been chasing it for years and finally got it. I don't have DWYS, but I also don't love it as the set closer. A little too slow and long for me, and not enough energy to be the final song of a set. Oh well, the rest of set one was killer. Set two: Who doesn't love a strong Mike's Groove, especially the classic version with Hydrogen in the middle. This Groove stayed pretty well within the normal confines, but was definitely rocking with some solid Trey leads. I really enjoyed how Weekapaug melted seamlessly (at least in person it felt that way) into 46 Days, which got freaky and weird for a few minutes. SYSF is definitely my favorite of the "soul songs," and this version delivered some goods. The highlights of this set are probably the Groove->46 Days and the DWD->NICU. I really enjoyed the weird soundscapes that came out of Disease and would highly recommend it. Definitely some weird deconstructed sounds and ambient, trippy stuff coming from the band during this second set. Not a huge fan of the NICU thru Wedge segment, although all of them were well-played, but maybe a little too chill for the end of the second set. Slave was beautifully played (When isn't it??) and I thought this version was slightly better than some I've seen in the past. Brian and Robert is a lovely song, but kind of an odd choice for the encore. Zero is a standard encore, but I would have loved something a little more unique. Still a solid show!
, attached to 2019-08-30

Review by headyburritos

headyburritos Pretty solid show to open up the Dick's run. The lot pre-show was a different scene due to the lack of a real shakedown and many lots being closed, but it was still a fun time. LOTS of fingers in the air and very few tickets being sold, although I'm sure some got lucky. First set was nothing too special but fun nonetheless, lots of classic 1st set songs. I enjoyed the BoTT and Undermind particularly. Some well-played songs but also plenty of rust to shake off during this set. I noticed a few missed changes, the band maybe a little bit disconnected after a month off. Nothing went super deep in the first set but it was a good warm up for sure. Second set definitely stepped it up a notch. I'm not crazy about Everything's Right, although I do really enjoy the guitar riff and the jam in this version definitely went places. I enjoyed the ride they took it for and was really pleased to hear Mercury follow it up. I've always been a fan of Mercury so seeing it in the second slot was great. I got so lost in the jam that I did not realize it stretched on for over 20 minutes. I'll have to relisten to really judge this 1-2 combo, but at the show I was really into it. Shade is not my favorite ballad, but after dancing my ass off for ER>Mercury, I welcomed the slower song as a chance to catch my breath. Light has a long history of solid jams, and although I don't recall much of this particular jam, I thoroughly enjoyed it, especially when it started to morph into Party Time. Who doesn't love a little Party Time jam in the middle of a different song? That really kicked up the energy levels for the remainder of the second set. Sand kept the funky grooves flowing and everyone got their groove on. WTU? was delicately and beautifully played; you could have heard a pin drop during the slow, silent part and it was gorgeous. A somewhat above average Hood closed out the set in classic fashion. I was at Halloween 2018 so I am a huge fan of the KV songs, and SANTOS is obviously one of the more rocking songs on there. Love seeing it in the encore, but also felt like some of the encores this year were lacking. They did play really late on this night so they were definitely at curfew by the end of this song. Both sets were quite long
, attached to 1995-10-27

Review by ureloch

ureloch There must have been some overlooking here: it's one of the best and most peculiar DAVID BOWIE ever, and it isn't even listed in the JAM CHARTS. Someone should add it :) And I agree with the reviewer who considers this one among the best 1995 concerts: there's a lot of great stuff besides Bowie. A lot of Fish funny stuff, a great Possum (with long-time forgotten secret language!), some vintage rarities like Fluffhead and McGrupp and an excellent Stash. This show shines even in a great month like oct '95 was!
, attached to 2019-09-01

Review by geogaddi

geogaddi This show was just incredible. Every jam over the 10 minute mark got the type II deep soundscape treatment. It felt like everything they've been experimenting with this summer became fully conceptualized, reaching it's final form. Wolfmans, Gin, Fuego, Piper, Tweezer, CDT are all highlights here. IMO it all peaked with the chalkdust, but that jam really just doesn't seem to translate well to the SBD recording. I'd seek out an AUD for this show, these gorgeous textures deserve much better than the clean/dry SBD mix
, attached to 2019-07-14

Review by Thicculus

Thicculus I've had plenty of time to reflect on this show and I'll say this... it's still fantastic. I don't know if I'd put it ahead of any of the Halloween shows, festival sets, NYE's, or Big Cypress, but it's going to go down in the books as one of the best shows of 3.0. Alpine N3 was so strong that the first two nights at Alpine (solid song selection, great atmosphere, etc) were rendered afterthoughts. Bustouts galore, a jam for the ages, and a little chat about a book, wrapped up a fun-filled weekend with great friends. I won't go through a rundown on the songs, as they speak for themselves, however I will say that you know a show is special when your immediate reaction is laughter... you can't finish sentences...just pure laughter. Laughing at setbreak as you try to piece together your favorite moments of the first set. Leaving the venue, voice shot, as you giddily walk to your car with friends, just laughing. That's N3 in a nutshell. It didn't make sense in the moment. It certainly doesn't make any sense now. I didn't stop laughing then and I can't stop smiling now thinking about it. Read the book.
, attached to 2019-09-01

Review by smaine

smaine This was a thoroughly enjoyable way to cap out an excellent, if somewhat logistically challenging Dicks IX. Given how familiar these some of these songs seem by now, it's strange to think that neither the Kasvot Vaxt catalog and the Ghosts of the Forests catalog existed at this time last year. That's a massive amount of new music to have injected into our scene over the span of a year, and it was really fun to see that land so well with the crowd. Life Beyond The Dream in the middle of an encore sandwich was super enjoyable. I love that this band continues to evolve. Score one for Fuego tonight. It feels like that song gets an unnecessary amount of crap for not really breaking out, despite outings like 1/13/17 in Mexico. Tonight's rendition should at least give the Fuego-haters pause, as the -> into a slow-build Piper is really a thing of beauty. The Tweezer was short and sweet, made all the better because it was set up as a contrast to the face-melting crazy that was the Piper jam. 2001 and Chalk Dust were pure dance party, taking a slight recharge break through Waste and then powering through to the end. First Tube is a song that I will always be happy to see live. The energy it imparts to the crowd is an amazing thing to be a part of. Plus, Trey just looks so damn happy up there getting us all wound up...what's not to love about that? First Tube tonight on the floor was utterly and completely insane. Very excited to give this one a relisten on the flight home.
, attached to 2019-09-01

Review by Wisy_Megabeth

Wisy_Megabeth Vintage Sunday phish in the second set. Loved the daring “sightless escape” that they’ve been soundchecking..they sounded totally ready and psyched to spin that jam. You know Trey has a special spot for all these GOTF jam vehicles. Honestly, would’ve loved a Beneath a sea of stars 1-3, but alas, Tweez came out for a nod to the folks after a trip down the better part of the wormhole that is/has been Summer ‘19 type X jamming. Encore was a blissed out and heart felt trio of old and new. Thank you, Phish, for closing out the summer right. See you in Nassau!!
, attached to 2019-08-31

Review by thesloth11

thesloth11 A solid show from start to finish. It was a hot day and we arrived on the lot as soon as gates opened. Shakedown was on the sidewalks due to the Prairie Dog plague, but it worked out great. I managed to score the last “Plague side rage side” T shirt with an infected Prairie dog on the front which made my day. After checking out Shakedown for a while, my crew and I visited the Dicks meat up We met the infamous Dale Cooer and some other .net legends. Everyone was super friendly, I definitely recommend this for all the fence-sitters who have contemplated attending in the past. Now on to the show....I think N2 edges out N1 for the best show of the run. The band was locked in all night and for whatever reason, Trey’s vocals were better sounding tonight than N1. Let’s talk about that 1st set Ghost. It was absolutely incredible...a must-hear version. Dark and evil while breathtakingly beautiful Reminds me of the Carini from the 2012 NYE run..... jam of the weekend imho. Song selection throughout both sets was great and it shouldn’t be understated how locked in they were all night. Who doesn’t love a Mountains in the mist? This rendition was as beautiful and the Camden ‘99 version...they absolutely nailed it. Tube was stellar and the segue from the very good DWD into NICI was flawless. i am probably in the minority, but I really enjoyed and appreciated the Brian and Robert complete with the “you’d be lost on the Plague Ground” vocals. Can’t wait to come back and do it again next year. ....what an incredible night!!!
, attached to 2019-09-01

Review by Kate_Keeper

Kate_Keeper Just wanted my first tweezer reprise. Of course starting with tweezer first. Amazing night. Let the skies of Commerce City forever rain with glow sticks. (Maybe that will save the Prairie Dogs) Great night and hope everyone had just as good as a time are I did. Forever in my memories. Phish you did Dicks dirty. Thank you to my brother for flying me out all the way from Syracuse university. Phish phamily.
You can still access archived Phish.net reviews


Phish.net

Phish.net is a non-commercial project run by Phish fans and for Phish fans under the auspices of the all-volunteer, non-profit Mockingbird Foundation.

This project serves to compile, preserve, and protect encyclopedic information about Phish and their music.

Credits | Terms Of Use | Legal | DMCA

© 1990-2019  The Mockingbird Foundation, Inc. | Hosted by End Point Corporation