, attached to 1997-06-25

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw One of the weirdest Post 93' 2nd sets I've ever heard. Bag makes a strong tour debut. Saw it again is extra venomous very strong. Besides that I don't have much to say about set 1 basically because most of it is the songs they've played consistently every night. And all are played very well but nothing else really stands out. Set 2 now is a whole different story. What a bizarre strange set, and it just doesn't end once it starts. I don't know what was in the Kool-Aid at setbreak but I'd try it at least once. The DWD jam gets into some thunderous funk. It speeds up going for a wild ride, then fizzles into some nice mucky funk. There jams are becoming more cohesive every show. It also makes a cool sandwich coming back from Piper. Super weird Meatstick section that sounds nothing like it would after. The segue into Mcgrupp is a great swampy mucky mess that is some kind of Makisupa McGrupp monster. Not much else I could say besides it being very very out there even for this time. Cecilla continues the bizarreness. And just to mess with you more Rock A. William comes in on the oddest note. This great set ends with a very strong Antelope. How about a nice meaty Guyute encore? YES PLEASE! The first set doesn't do a whole lot. But the 2nd more than makes up for it.
, attached to 1997-06-22

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw More of the same setlist. The guys are still trying to shake off the rust of all the new songs. But they also have a pile of older songs they are really into playing fairly consistently as well (Taste, Stash, Theme). It's all pretty tight playing and a pretty good quick set. Another strong Taste. Stash is power and intense as it should be. YET ANOTHER strong Theme. Ghost has a nice jam starting with some nice "97' Jamming" followed by some hooting by Fish which is very reminiscent of the Island Tour Roses Jam. And of course yet another LxL. Overall a decent show with some good meaty songs shoved in.
, attached to 1997-06-21

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw Typical festival set. Sample has a nice extra explosive guitar solo. 2001 is in a weird slot I've never seen it in but it is short & sweet as a festival set would permit it to be. Yet another strong Taste. Why is every Theme during this tour so good? Just another great fluid version. Dirt is strong. Hood is cohesive and good. Twist has an odd mellow start to the jam. But it builds thanks to some Thunder provided by Fish. It mellows again and goes into some Trippy Ambience before finishing with some more Thunderous playing. Overall it feels like a pretty forced jam, but hey it's a new song so they are trying to figure it out. Overall a decent festival set unloading some new songs.
, attached to 1997-06-20

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw The best show yet of this tour! Things are gradually coming together jam and set construction wise! Taste is a nice ripper to kick things off. The jam after is a super weird one, very nice and cohesive and of course a pretty good segue into Cities. Fish is all over cities although its pretty compact. Horn is pretty powerful. Ain't love funny is a pretty good sequence. The segue into LxL is just amazing so seamless, Lxl is still slowly growing. Another Chaotic I Don't Care. Antelope is strong as always to cap this pretty strong first set. Bowie opens the second set and it's fairly strong. They stretch it out a bit and it is a little too noodley for my taste, but still has the weird & intense elements that Bowie should have. Ghost little by little gets more and more jammed out. This one has a nice groove. Trey is on fire at the end of it. Bye Bye foot although a slow ballad really works in this mid set, makes me wish they'd give it a spin again. Twist has a nice jam, first with Mike in the lead and then it mellows into a nice slow groove. Julius is strong. Very straight forward encore. Overall 2 pretty strong sets with a lot of interesting things to offer. I give this my 1st 4 star of this tour.
, attached to 1994-10-15

Review by kipmat

kipmat There's nothing wrong with the circulating AUD of this show, but 10/15/94 would make an interesting LivePhish archival release, because the band lowers their volume rather often during this show. The best example is the Catapult section in the middle of the YEM jam, but Reba and Golgi also have extended quiet sections, and a SBD would also capture the band using the group mics for Amazing Grace and Foreplay/Long Time. Plus, there's some mumbled banter at the start of set 2, as the band is checking their vocal mics - it sounds like Trey is saying "I feel like farting" in a silly, weasely voice, before Fishman says, "Aw, I bet Trey thinks this has gone on too long"! Would a SBD illuminate what this was all about? :-)
, attached to 1997-06-19

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw Yet another average show. Sometimes It takes a show or two for the guys to get their footing. This tour seems to take a little longer than usual to really get started in my opinion. There are several possible reasons for this. 1.) They have a ton of new material a lot of which will end up on "Story of The Ghost" and a few on "Farmhouse". 2.) They are playing in a totally different country. Yes a lot of folks came across the pond to see them play these shows. But maybe there was a need for them to tend to people who were maybe not as familiar as those following them in the states. Either way they're not playing bad at all so it's not that big of a deal. The show kicks off with LxL and Dogs Stole Things. Two of the most played songs so far. Not too much of a difference besides the tightening each time they were played. Theme once again delivers they have been on fire with the last couple of them. I like the lightening fast segue into PYITE they were definitely in tune for that. Maze is very good with some nice "Cool Jerk" type teases. Waste has a especially strong ending to it. Stash starts the 2nd set. It is there first true dip into some jamming this tour. It escalates into a tense jam with some great work by Page. It mellows out into a nice jam led by Fish and what sounds like a germ of what will become Black Eyed Katy. Nice segue into Ghost, it's interesting to think that the intro to Ghost will change quite a bit and this is one of the few segues that goes into the quick funk into of Ghost. Strong Jesus Left Chicago Trey just goes off. Caspian ends the set on a very gorgeous note, it is very inspired. Standard Encore
, attached to 1997-06-16

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw A very average show. Taste is very strong and well played. A top tier Theme in terms of playing. Wolfman has a nice mellow '97 style jam to it. Besides that the rest of the first set is fairly forgettable. LxL is the best version yet with Fishman all over it. Ghost dips a little deeper into experimentation but not too deep. The "I Don't Care" sequence is pretty cool and seamless. Strong Reba not peaky or particularly beautiful but well played. Hood is strong and pretty. Cities is always a welcome encore and this one is short but pretty sweet. Overall more messing around by the guys implementing there new songs into their sets. It doesn't make for anything noteworthy or memorable but still a well played show.
, attached to 1987-04-29

Review by SplitOpenAndMule

SplitOpenAndMule I just want to add a note about the FYF debut, and sole live performance of the song until 2010. It can be listened to by downloading this show from the spreadsheet. The recording starts at the second verse. It sounds like it does today, but instead of the "Hi, I'm Bill..." line, Page says "Hi, I'm Page," (which I think is especially funny) and the band immediately goes into the fast-paced ascending riff. But then, instead of the song stopping like it does today, Trey turns on Jimmy Page mode while the rest of the band is silent, essentially playing off of the Heartbreaker solo. Trey's guitar tone sounds exceptionally screechy and bad ass. Mike comes in with the Dazed and Confused bass riff, Trey keeps soloing and the band plays on the Dazed theme for a brief time before closing with a long sustained noise fade out (not sure what else to call it). It's only about two minutes of Phish history, but I thought it was worth sharing for anyone that wants to hear some of Trey's Jimmy Page influence.
, attached to 1997-06-14

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw Slowly warming up. Yet another show of new songs. Even some repeats from the night before. This adds to the awkward flow of the 2nd set. The debut of Dirt is slightly rough, but I actually like how it is played. Cars Trucks & Buses is stronger than the norm. Another LxL not far off from the one the night before, pretty straightforward. For most of the set the crowd wants "Free" and they finally get it. It's the highlight of the set and has some great funk in the middle. Caspian is a great set closer. Twist comes out the gate for its debut finely polished and obviously well rehearsed, as is Piper. The remainder of the set is very off and likely not totally thought out. A lot of the song selection would soon be 1st set songs. There is a last second show highlight with David Bowie and Cavern. Bowie although not epic or very exploratory is stretched out a little and well played. Cavern strangely enough goes into a funk jam halfway though, mostly Trey messing around with the wah. But it is very cohesive and they go back into the ending section of Cavern easily. When the Circus Comes and Rocky Top are just the standard encore. Overall not really any better or worse than the average show the night before. But still a string of cool debuts.
, attached to 1997-06-13

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw Unique and interesting Tour Opener A lot of tours open with the guys unloading a bunch of new material. Sometimes all at once and sometimes spread out. This is one of those shows where they just unload. Limb By Limb is the first interesting part of the first set to me, only because it is a strong version for a debut. Wolfman really gets things going as it goes into a nice groove jam pretty quick. Fish starts laying it down and Trey follows. Great groove and a great picture of the funky jam style that makes 97' so legendary. Taste is also pretty strong. Stash is quite strong and a preview of what is to come later on in the European tour, nothing to ground breaking or new but just a great extended version. Maze keeps the intensity going after Stash and is played very well. Slave is in a bizarre placement mid set and is fairly straightforward. CDT is very unique as it goes into a very funky jam midway and does not ever return to CDT proper. It has a very strong segue into the very first Ghost. Ghost doesn't really drift off but it's a great solid first version. The segue into Olivias pool is also very cool. I love that they are segueing into these brand new songs like they've played them for years. The encore to me is likely the highlight of the show. You get two debut covers both played fantastically. Stand! even has a funk jam in it that moves it in the first of several great segues into Izabella that is played so inspired that you almost mistake Trey for Jimi for a second. Overall a really good start to the tour. Nothing epic or legendary or necessarily memorable. Just a solid fun show.
, attached to 2011-08-15

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw A powerhouse of a show. Right off the bat you get a very strong Back On The Train, not extended or especially unique but very strong. One of the best ScentOAM of 3.0. Wolfman immediately goes into a jungle funk groove, then moves into a beautiful yet tense jam, and ends in a great peak. Babylon Baby is a well played Debut. Alumni Blues is always a great bustout and it is very well played. Sand starts the 2nd set on a strong note. Light has a very quick but very good dark/evil jam that is very potent for how short it is. The first of many great segues in this set is the > into Dirt (it kind of reminds me of the end of Money going into Us and Them). Waves is very top notch with a fantastic inspired solo. The segue into Undermind is fantastic and flawless. Undermind really holds the set together perfectly and the guys are giving it their all. It also goes a bit deeper than you'd expect for 13mins. Yet another great segue into Steam. Fire is destructive and great to close out the set. And now for the most epic encore of 3.0 (so far) almost another set of music! Not crazy about all the songs played (besides hood) but everything is very well played. And hood is especially bass bomb crazy as Mike just goes off trying to shake every brick from the building. Overall a fantastic inspired show. I almost would give it 5 stars, however it is missing that overall feeling of legendary to me. So I will give it "Over" 4 stars ;)
, attached to 1997-07-06

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw One of those "Burnt Out" shows. Maybe it was the extended soundcheck or the guys weren't sleeping too well but this show just gives off the impression of being exhausted. There's not really too much to write about for the first set besides Stash which kind of picks up it's jam legs after the epic Paradiso version a few days earlier. It picks up steam and goes into a weird chaotic jam followed by a tense little groove. Mule is especially sloppy. The remainder of the set is a bunch of straightforward quick tunes that don't add to the show much. Overall a pretty forgettable show, one of the weakest from this tour. Set 2 opens with a free with a different midsection, instead of the pulsing groove you typically get this one is very funk influenced not by way of the bass groove but by Page and Trey's playing with Wah and clav effects. YEM is somewhat awkward to my ears because you can hear the guys really trying to jam this one out, it feels very forced. Unfortunately it comes out as they can't really keep a decent idea together and it all feels somewhat disorganized. It is notable for not having a vocal jam though.
, attached to 2010-08-07

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw This is a really REALLY good show. Top 3 for 2010. The first set is superb just extremely solid front to back. Bag is very strong right out of the gate, no real stretch to it but very solid. Foam is well played. The highlight for me of the first set is Jibboo, it's very pretty and just fantastic hose throughout. It is definitely 11 minutes that is worth any fan of hose and/or Jibboo. Reba, Sleep Again, and Army of One are all just top notch with great tight playing. 46 days is also fantastic with an amazing solo by Trey and a cool but brief jam at the end. The segue from Wilson to Light is interesting to say the least. Maybe a little rushed? One of those segues that I'm not sure is a ripchord or almost flawless. Regardless it is very apparent that they had plans for light from the get go and they're just gonna go for it. The jam starts out pretty intense, it mellows out as Trey noodles around as Page adds layers of ambient noise. The remainder is just a nice pulsing groove I like quite a bit. Hood is very thoughtful and strong. Theme is also extremely strong and has a very triumphant solo by Trey. Suzy even has a little extra to it. Slave is pretty standard but who complains about Slave closing a set? Ok it's been a pretty long show maybe just a short encore? Nope! They play Lizards and First Tube. What a fantastic show. One of the best from 2010.
, attached to 1991-12-31

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw A very interesting show. Some great destructive playing mixed with a lot of "Playing it safe" versions of songs. Possum rips the top off the building to start the show. Stash is a little sloppy but towards the end great peaks ensue. Straight Forward but well played Lizards. Very Strong Gueluh and Esther. Llama is one of the biggest highlights of the show (crazy right?) Pages organ solo is just insane and Trey comes in and tries to top Pages solo with an insane one of his own. Brother is a huge version and kind of evil. Reba is not epic or peaky by any means but still well played. Also a very safe Antelope which I find very odd expecting them to go balls out with it. The intro to Wilson is that of legends it's just hilarious and perfect. Tweezer has a nice jam pretty early on, a very clear view of what was to come in later years. Mikes song has a nice bouncy groove towards the end. And Hydrogen is just gorgeous and top notch couple of minutes. Nice little quick 3 song encore. This show is a glimpse of the past and the future. Great playing, a little messing around with songs, and the band still has that extra intimate feeling that would only last for another year or so.
, attached to 2016-07-22

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw It's always funny how "Being There" can change your perception about a show. I showed up extra early and spent several hours enjoying others company sheltered from the blazing Southern California summer heat. Great day great vibes all around. The goal originally was to get in line to be in the first phase of people on the floor. Of course as usual one thing leads to another and plans don't pan out. Luckily I was with people who knew people and I somehow managed to be one person behind the rail Page side. That easily is a plus for any show. There is not much to write home about for the first set besides the Cavern>Antelope mashup. No bad playing per say just nothing with any heat on it. Set break was especially long for this show. Something like 45mins? Treys guitar tech spent a significant amount of time messing with his pedals and holding a manual. From what we gathered he was having technical issues. This is likely what made most of the show not result in balls out jamming or messing around. If you don't trust your effects gear you're limited and likely anxious and that effects your playing. Second set is much like the 1st set except with even more of the feeling of them cramming in as many songs as possible. Fuego has a little messing around to it but not much. It seems they were making up for the long set break and played a slightly longer set. Even sticking YEM in at the very end (very much to everyone's surprise). My favorite part of that set was The Wedge yes no jamming or anything unique. But it is so well played that I was just dancing my ass off. Overall note a noteworthy show by any means. The playing was still pretty spot on and I've seen worse shows, especially those where they have trouble connecting and to me that's much worse.
, attached to 1993-08-07

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw Another great show from a great year. Lots of strong playing, lots of your typical shenanigans. Set one has a beautiful and cohesive stash. Trey and Page have a lot of fun with it riffing around. Reba is straightforward but strong. Very well played very strong Maze where everyone is on pointe with nice Stairway to heaven Tease. Really enjoy the "Rollercoaster of the Mind" Mockingbird Narration. Set two has a nice Mikes-> Kung sequence. A top notch segue into The Sloth. A typically strong MFMF. Mcgrupp I also noticeably strong. Antelope starts out a little disjointed but becomes the standard ripper that it is. Average encore for this era. Overall a very strong show that illustrates all of the bands strengths at the time.
, attached to 2010-06-27

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw This show is the perfect mixture of fun with a great setlist. It's one of those nights that truly feels like the guys are playing something special for those in attendance. Tela is the first really notable song in the first set to my ears, it has some very inspired and powerful playing to it. Sample has a really nice peaky solo to it. Gin has some great hose for how short it is along with great peaks. Antelope is also very strong to end things. Set 2 is where all kinds of crazy and fun things happen. The first -> into Saw it again is fantastic and meticulously done. The beginning of the Piper jam sounds like they really want to jam and are trying to find their footing, but never quite find it during the duration of it as they keep weeding through ideas. Ghost has a nice little micro jam to it that to me is better than the stretched out Piper. Although very rough Jumping Jack Flash is an awesome debut and reminiscent of the "Taking Care of Business" debut just a few years later. Another pretty awesome -> back into saw it again. YEM ends the set on a very strong note. Fire is well fire. Overall a fantastically unique and fun show. Definitely one of the best from 2010.
, attached to 1994-11-22

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw This show is insanely consistent with an epic jam. What else would you expect from 94'? Excellent Top Tier Foam for any era. Guyute is very strong. Although not really jammed out DWD is extremely strong and well played. Funk Bitch starts S2 and much to everyones surprised the guys start digging into it. Right away Page starts getting into it with some great key solos. The Jam starts quick with an infectious groove that you know they're not going to turn back from. It goes into a lightspeed rollercoaster from hell before fizzling out to a very experimental and spacey jam for the remainder of the jam. The YSZ-> Cry Baby Cry sequence is fantastic. Runaway Jim is very powerful and picks up a lot of steam shredding into a very funny and great version of BBFCFM. This is followed by probably my favorite Phishgrass section of a set (mostly because of the song selection). Hood is gorgeous. Highway to Hell is great fun. Lizards Encore? It just keeps going! An amazing show even within the confines of an amazing tour.
, attached to 2010-10-20

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw A very good show, just short of legendary. The show kicks off with one of the best versions of My Soul I've ever heard. STFTFP has an explosive guitar solo. Wolfman has a fun little vocal jam mid song. Decent segue into Cities. Guyute has a very strong peak it feels inspired (as would be felt the rest of the set). Bowie is strong and very tease crazy. Antelope has a nice middle section, with some weird tense noodling. Drowned and Sand kick off the second set straightforward. Axila is in a weird slot mid second set. SOAM is short and sweet (although it is not over). The Have Mercy sequence is bizarre, it has a nice little jam with some great pretty riffing by Trey towards the end. Piper has a nice little jam that kicks off pretty quick. The segue into Melt is trippy and cool. The set is capped by a very good Slave with some great patient playing on Treys part. GTBT? Well it's a great way to end a show! This show is in the upper tier for 3.0 however I would not award it 5 stars although it is close.
, attached to 2016-10-28

Review by jadedforbin

jadedforbin Fantastic start to what is easily the best run of 2016 and one of the most consistent multi-night stands in all of 3.0 Phish. Martian is great but short, sounded like they would jam it for a second. A few 97-era gems thrown in early, the show really kicked in when Trey wailed the end solo on "Home". Fabulous Steam, likely one of the better versions ever played, certainly in this unusual and unexpected slot, anchored the set and foretold of the greatness to come. Then came "The Golden Age". Afterwards I mentioned to the folks I was hanging with that I love it when Phish does a jam so singular, so great, that by "Vegas Golden Age" you KNOW someone is talking about this version. It IS that good, all the praise is very warranted. For sure the jam of the year, and a 10 best of 3.0 moment. Personally, it was my best moment of 3.0. But with 75-100 relistens I can confidently say this belongs with the Dicks 12 Light, Randalls CDT, Atlanta15 Tweezer, Tweezerpants, Tahoe Tweezer and the other greatest of 3.0 moments. Very likely the best version of this beloved cover Phish has ever played. This Golden Age is better than entire shows by itself. It is as we say "on the level". #winning will never regret going to this run, was going to do just the last two but chose to solo 10-28 and 10-29 instead of missing 2/4, great decision!! :)
, attached to 1998-12-31

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw One of the better NYE shows. 1999 out of the gates is a top shelf debut, excellent playing and execution. Mike's song has a very beautiful jam, not your typical evil thrash. Weekapaug has a great climax in it. Ghost comes out an has a very mellow hose jam, the tension picks up a little and gets weirder and weirder till the end. And as dumb as it sounds Ha Ha Ha is actually probably the best version I've ever heard. Tweezer is a little slower and a little funkier (like it will be for all of 1999). Mike finds a nice groove early and Trey kind of just goes with it, a very mellow jam. Is there ever a bad segue into Cities? I haven't heard any and this one is no exception. Cities is straightforward but very cohesive still, very well held together. Antelope is a little longer than usual and very strong. And who complains about Frankenstien and capping a set? Jim is very power and strong as it moves to the new year. Simple itself is sloppy but a lot goes down on stage after the balloons drop so I believe that caused a little error and distraction. But it roars into a jam, this continues for a little while and then mellows out for a few minutes before Hood starts. Hood is very noteworthy because I do not believe I've ever heard such a long intro to it, around 7 and a half minutes! Which is very cool and unique, but maybe a little too long at the same time. Hood also has a fantastic triumphant ending. Tweeprise is also pretty noteworthy as it is one of the best sounding ones to my ears. Llama comes in and leaves things on a high note. While my guitar gently weeps is very well played and a great way to end the show, Trey is really enjoying it. Overall definitely one of the best NYE shows I've heard (behind 93, 95, and 99)
, attached to 1998-08-03

Review by Phish1994

Phish1994 Why Rhinoceros was played (per @theothr1): "......okay, so, Rhinoceros was played to honor the passing of fan Philip Andrew Cassels...Phish paid tribute to Phil by opening the Deer Creek show with the song he was listening to before he took his own life (when they found him, the tape in his truck's radio was right where Rhinoceros ends) shortly before the band kicked off Fall Tour 1997...the band was fully aware that Phil’s brother, former Pharmer’s Almanac editor and HT contributor Kevin Cassels, was at Deer Creek that night so, it was played for Kevin for Phil...a bit maudlin? Perhaps but, i know for a fact that, having absolutely no idea whatsoever that the band was gonna do this, Kevin was deeply touched by this "silent" (and emotional) homage." https://forum.phish.net/forum/permalink/1377153155
, attached to 1998-12-29

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw A very straightforward but consistent show. Rock and Roll kicks things off and although it is pretty quick it is very well played. Melt has a nice little mid section groove. The rest of the set is average but nothing to frown about. Free is very strong coming out the gates for the 2nd set. Fantastic spacey segue into 2001 with some great drumwork by Fish, a very dance oriented version. Followed by a pretty safe barebones version of Boogie On Reggae Woman. YEM is pretty standard but has a nice little stretch to it. Straight forward Divided Sky encore, but an awesome encore choice none the less! Overall a fun consistent show.
, attached to 1998-12-30

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw A "Decent" show. Not too much to write home about regarding the first set. The only exception being a very pretty version of Frankie Says. Even Maze and Reba are pretty standard mediocre versions. As usual the jam out of DWD is an intense shredfest, It goes into a distorted type of space before triumphantly returning back into DWD proper. Piper has a great explosive peak. Caspian is the star of the show. The intro is absolutely gorgeous and the song itself is also very well played, and on top of it the outro is also gorgeous. For those who hate Caspian in the 2nd set you should hear this and see if you still feel that way. Coil has a psychedelic ambient outro instead of just piano. Slave unfortunately is very anticlimactic. A Possum encore is always great, but this version is absolute insanity. It's pulsing and intense and Trey just goes off. Overall some great peaks but a fairly straightforward show.
, attached to 1993-04-14

Review by pmc2kd

pmc2kd Amazing box set, in need of a review: Buried Alive is the opener (and a choice one at that). No time wasted in getting the energy levels up! Poor Heart maintains the manic pace and is replete with some welcome shouts of Cactus! from Trey. Maze makes an appearance in the third slot and continues the frenetic energy of the show. This is an excellent version, plenty of pace and Page’s solo is energetic and well done. Trey is full of vinegar as he takes control and guides us to a clean and fiery conclusion. Water break! Bouncin’ fits here very well. It’s a relaxing selection after that opening. It’s Ice is very well played, but is not the best version (high standards in the early 90s) as the middle jam section is nothing too groundbreaking. Still a great setlist call and plenty of fun! Stash -> Kung -> Stash -> Kung is as good as it seems on paper! An deeply exploratory Stash (with fine composed work) is given the full treatment and appears destined to return to song form, but the band has other ideas. A cool backing jam leads to the Fishman led Kung chant! They then make a full return to the Stash conclusion - with Kung vocals included! Trey makes for an acoustic guitar and they perform a Kung reprise jam. This is an absolutely awesome suite of music and you don’t get to hear much acoustic improv like this. The Horse>Silent is a nice follow up and played well. Divided Sky is up next and is very well done. Fans of the song will be pleased, even if it’s not in the upper echelon. It’s still crisp and triumphant and is nicely placed in the set. I Didn’t Know gives us some hijinks. Golgi Apparatus closes the set in adequate fashion. Pretty nice version, with some energetic set closing banter from Trey. Overall, this is an excellent first set. Jamming highlights a plenty in Maze & Stash madness along with plenty of well executed and great songs like Divided Sky & It’s Ice. If you wanted a microcosm of the tightness and exploration that ’93 has to offer, this is a fine set. Set II kicks off with an unbelievable little piece of audio history in the form of an on-stage wedding proposal. What an amazing insight and just a magical moment from a band on the ascendency. Trey then initiated Bag in honor of the newly engaged. This is a very crisp version. Pretty high speed by today’s (and latter years of 90’s) standards. Features a fiery solo from Trey. My Sweet One is second up, and is short but sweet before they kick into Tweezer! The Tweezer is not annotated on the setlist, nor is it particularly long, but it bears the hallmarks of the early 90s Tweezers in the form of a clean opening section (although there’s a stumble before the jam, where Trey gets lost momentarily). They kick into a dark Tweeprise-esque jam to start before sliding into a more chaotic, chromatic, note filled early 90s Tweezer jam. It reaches a couple nice climaxes without going anywhere too crazy before reaching the early 90s slow breakdown ending to Tweezer. It’s certainly a nice addition to a solid set. Resolving into Mound is quite pleasant to my ears and seems to jive with the breakdown ending of the Tweezer. This is a strong version of the tune. Big Ball Jam is up next and is what you’d expect (these don’t always come through on tape). It’s a decent enough musical interlude to me. YEM is the anchor of the set and what a version! Opening arpeggios are delightful, the spacey section is serene and magnificent & the drop in out of the space is sublime. Mike takes an inspired bass solo around 4:30 or so and it really cranks through the SBD! A screaming Trey solo gives way to a screaming lyric section (Trey shouting versus trying to be too funky). The music though remains appropriately funky and Trey dials back the shouting. Mike is laying down some fat lines, Fish and Page are working quite well in tandem here as well. The organ and bass take over at 9:15 or so, with Fishman remaining insatiable with his fills. There’s some good start stop stuff around 10:30 before Trey jumps in with some nice rhythm guitar. At 11 minutes it’s a Fishman solo with the occasional bas bomb and an eerie Trey drone at 12 or so. Trey then plays some quiet funky/jazzy solos over a very quiet jam and boy is it good. Well they slide right into Spooky with ease and it’s sublime! Inspired stuff here and it fits like a glove. The jam gets cooking right back into YEM and we are off. Trey throwing out some inspired and climbing leads with Page coloring the organ overtop. Good peaks and Trey teases the spooky melody as they break down the jam into Bass and Drums. Mike proceeds to eviscerate his instrument, with a sly spooky quote as well. There’s some awesome and heavy interplay between the percussion and band here as well before the vocal jam arrives. It’s a fun enough conclusion to an inspired version! Follow that up with Harpua! Yes please! Great narration and good song. Nice treat. Early 90s Phish magic. Runaway Jim gives us a final dog song to wrap this set up with a bow. This version has a soaring solo from Big Red and acts the part of set closer with aplomb. Most excellent. I’ll throw out the term “extra mustard” here, since I don’t use it often. The encore is a triple threat of Lengthwise Contact & Tweezer Reprise. Not many better ways to end a show. Overall, another excellent set. Good jamming throughout (type I mostly, but still great). Loved the opening Bag, the Tweezer Mound combo and of course the YEM. The Harpua and Jim were both nice cherries-on-top! Classic show. Worthy of praise and a great SBD release.
, attached to 1992-07-24

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw Pretty dang good opener from an evolving band. Foam is very well played. Tweezer at this time is at a stage where it was evolving and they were finding their footing with it, you can tell with this version as they mess around with it a little bit. YEM has a pretty good mid section with some great tension and release by Trey. And Tweeprise give the set a very full feel. One of the better opening sets I've heard.
, attached to 1998-12-28

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw This is a very strong show, both sets are pretty great. Stash is very fluid and intense and has an explosive ending. Very strong & powerful Farmhouse, a great Taste. The Acoustic portion is great especially Albuquerque. Tube blasts off like a rocket ship after a few quiet songs. Even Golgi is especially strong from this great 1st set. Carini quickly lights a fire under everyones ass to start the 2nd set. It thrashes and then moves into a weird eerie groove. Wolfman is slower than usual, the jam is very spacey, it makes one feel like they're floating through the cosmos. Short and sweet BOAF. Quinn has a nice tiny jam coming out of it. Bowie is particularly pretty. Been Caught Stealing is pretty sloppy but still a fun encore. Overall almost a 5 star show. Definitely above average.
, attached to 1996-08-05

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw This show is fairly mediocre IMO but still some strong playing. Divided Sky is played near flawlessly great version. There's some really short versions of Wolfmans and Wilson (among many other short songs). If I could is a really strong version, the harmonizing is pretty great. Julius has a very strong guitar solo. DWD stays type one for a while before they sink into a nice groove led by Page and Fish. It gets really weird and interesting before it is ripchorded into It's Ice. The Haileys>Somewhere over the Rainbow>Waste sequence is bizarre but interesting. The little acoustic set of songs is fun but IMO should have been in the 1st set or played as an encore. Amazing grace is one of the best versions I've heard them do. Mike's is pretty shredtastic (as are most in 1996). Cavern is cool as an encore considering it's red rocks but it's pretty straightforward. This show has an awkward feel and feels very "songy" at times to me. But it does have some great highlights.
, attached to 1995-12-08

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw Very well played show. A lot of times you pick out the good songs out of average sets, but with this show you pick out the best out of great sets. Exceptionally strong Jim, they are firing on all cylinders very fluid, It has an explosive finale. Fluffhead has a near perfect ending solo. The set ends with a smoking GTBT. The Tweezer jam starts with some strong interplay between Page and Trey. The jam is very experimental and gets very mucky towards the middle. It has a great Kung section almost reminiscent of the Lassie section of the Providence Bowie. The segue back into Tweezer is fantastic almost as great as the Broome County Tweezer>Timber>Tweezer a week later. Tweeprise is in a weird slot in he 2nd to last song of the set. Antelope is also very strongly played. The Beatles encore is fantastic and besides the 10/31/94 Halloween set is probably the only time you'll ever hear two consecutive Beatles songs. Overall a fantastic show. But It just doesn't have that classic legendary feel that the shows around it have.
, attached to 1990-04-24

Review by haroldchasen

haroldchasen The following review is from [i]The Earlham Word[/i], student newspaper, from May 4, 1990, under the headline [i]Phish brings sound of improv jazz to Earlham[/i]: "Phuckin' awesome!" was one Earlham student's response to the April 24 concert by the alternative band Phish. When asked to classify the band's music, one student pro- claimed, "Alternative Dead." Another: "A cross between Carlos Santana and Pat Metheny." "Improvisational jazzy bluesy jamming rock with a Frank Zappa overtwist," was the definitive answer from Anders Wright, S.A.B. member and the student responsible for bringing the band to Earlham. The four-member band, based in Vermont, played at the college as part of their Mid-West tour. Twenty-four hours on the road from Colorado preceded their performance, which was followed by concerts at Notre Dame and Oberlin on the following two days. "I heard about the band last year," says Wright, "but it took me a year to find a copy of their tape ([u]Junta[/u]). Someone gave me a number to call, and got me in touch with their manager." The preparations for the Earlham concert took four months. The band, originally booked for two-and-a-half hours of music, played from 9:30 p.m. until 1 a.m., with segments featuring [i]a capella[/i] singing, narrative, choreographed trampolining, and vacuum cleaner playing. Seventy-five to a hundred "hard-core" students stayed until the unique concert's end. "Everybody I saw was having a really good time, even though a lot of people hadn't heard them before," says Wright. "The important thing is that this shows we can do it again. There's no reason why we can't have good entertainment here, all the time."
You can still access archived Phish.net reviews


Phish.net

Phish.net is a non-commercial project run by Phish fans and for Phish fans under the auspices of the all-volunteer, non-profit Mockingbird Foundation.

This project serves to compile, preserve, and protect encyclopedic information about Phish and their music.

Credits | Terms Of Use | Legal

© 1990-2017  The Mockingbird Foundation, Inc. | Hosted by End Point Corporation