, attached to 2018-07-22

Review by aaronloffler

aaronloffler There was a delicate "little drummer boy" tease somewhere in there....damn.can't place it. and i'm not understanding the "Birds" quote in BOAF. Is that The Byrds? Any reference to that in the Hour,Minute on the stream this show spoke very dearly to me. laughing and crying through a lot of it. Happy Tears. Watched stream from afar. 110% sober
, attached to 2017-08-06

Review by SmokeyTheBear

SmokeyTheBear What is there to say...Phish unleashed a perfect show. 13 beautiful wonderful nights at the best venue on Earth, all culminating to this. Zero song repeats throughout the entire run, what ever could the band unleash for this final 13th night? Dogs Stole Things was a great way to open this finale of a show, a fun little number from 20 years ago. Rift I'll admit is a song that took a VERY long time to grow on me, it's not my type of song at all but after learning the song is basically The Curtain With but played differently has allowed this song to grow in likeness. Ha Ha Ha is always fun to play but as the third song of the show it was quite perplexing, something was up their sleeves. As Camel Walk grooved on and was played beautifully, the doses started to kick into full gear, just in time for some short little clean shaven guy in glasses to ask me for a "marijuana joint" and promptly shoving a 20$ bill into my hands thinking I was gonna give him some. All the red flags started firing in my head and instantly I thought "NARC DO NOT GIVE WEED OR SMOKE AT ALL HE IS A NARC" and as Crazy Sometimes geared up I literally started to feel like I was going crazy. Having the transition into a very psychedelic Saw It Again and trying to get my bearings, Sanity comes into play. A bustout I've always wanted to witness live! But as the "narc" next to me kept staring looking for his marijuana joint, the anxiety started to rise just in time for the most intense psychedelic experience of my life as they started teasing all sorts of song sound bits throughout the song. I quickly handed the 20$ back to the narc and tried to relax, and thank God Phish was done fucking with us as they went into a very bright and much needed Bouncing Around the Room. At this point the narcs brother came back who I met and talked with before the show and he vouched that his brother was cool but just awkward and never smokes and doesn't know anything like that, as the good vibes of Bouncing went on and on and the anxiety and worries of a Narc quelled, I gave him a joint to enjoy and sparked one of my own to have a nice breather. Just in time too, as Most Events Aren't Planned made it's debut and this was just the most techno funk style song ever! Was pure Phish in it's rawest, even though I later found it's a Vidya Blue song, but still! MEAP was perfect and it was a great song in a fantastic spot! Bug comes next as things are finally back to "normal" and the lyrics are truly right, it doesn't matter! I Been Around came back around since the MPP14 show with the Tweezerfest, thinking this was the final song of the night it was very fun to hear as reminisce about that epic night...and then it happened...Trey grabbed a new guitar from behind him and started jamming a little riff... for a split second I thought they were going into a pure jam ala cavern island tour...but no...IZABELLA made it's return! The fabled song in which dozens of phans proclaimed Trey wouldn't play it anymore because it's "too hard" came out of the wood works and fucked all of our faces! A huge rocking song to end the most psychedelic, mind fucking first set I've ever experienced! Set Two rolls around, I tell to my show buddies...Simple -> YEM, that's it, 2 song set, boom! As the band strolls on stage Simple begins and becomes one of the most epic jams to ever grace our ears! 25+ minutes of pure beautiful soulful Phish rock, you couldn't ask for a better jam! As things fizzled down, Rise/Come Together came out and at the moment I was admittedly a little sour for it "ruining" my Simple-YEM 2 set prediction, but after many relistens this song as grown on me fondly and has become a HUGE favorite! A perfect song to cool things down after a huge jam with uplifting lyrics that just make you want to rise up! Starman came back afterwards from it Halloween debut and goddamn Mike! What a voice!! This song was very amazingly played and was perfect for the 1-2 cooldown before the YEM that came next! The Baker's Dozen You Enjoy Myself, 13 nights of waiting/knowing this will pop up on this night...it surely did not disappoint! With a very fun Izabella style jam for the best little tease. Loving Cup ending this epic set is always fun and helps lifts the spirits up even further! A classic ender of many epic shows. On the Road Again was encored with a very humbled Trey who choked up a bit during the song from the grand emotions, it tugged at all of our heart strings knowing this incredible band will be back on the road again after staying with us for 2-3 weeks in a row without going anywhere else. Lawn Boy Reprise as a nice upbeat funk rock song was PERFECT to close out this 13 night run which debuted the only jammed out Lawn Boy reaching nearly 30 minutes at 29:59. Tweeprise as always perfectly ends an amazing show, encompassing the entire Baker's Dozen since they played Tweezer the first night and didn't play Reprise until this night. Big Cypress was THE show with them playing endlessly all night long until dawn...but this...the Baker's Dozen..this was truly The Long Gig.
, attached to 2018-07-21

Review by SmokeyTheBear

SmokeyTheBear Ratings schmatings! Listening to this show from the East coast this morning was a great experience! Party Time and Punch to start things out with some great high energy fun leading into a very classic Mike's Groove! Can't get a better start to a show than that! Infinite is a new tune that sounds like it can have great potential coming out of a serious Type 2 dreamscape style jam in the future! It's Ice had the funnest funkiest breakdown of the night which just cuts right into your soul going right into a Divided Sky that reportedly was played right around sunset for the Gorge, which must've been pure magic! Cavern is always a fun tune to end a set. Tweezer opening is always a treat and went into some dark places before yielding to the light of Golden Age, giving us one of the most uplifting fun bliss style space funk jams this year! Going back into a quick Tweezer rift before leading into a very beautiful Farmhouse and a ripping Piper that just revived that style of jam in Tweezer to new heights! Prince Wading and Rise as a 3 hit cool down combo was very beautiful...I imagine actually being at the Gorge, on a head full, looking out into the ravine, having these songs played after that disco tech funk dance party, this section probably changed lives! Antelope is as good as ever, and the band is right, it doesn't matter! Who cares if some folks rate the shows down to a 3, as long as you're having fun and enjoying yourself that's all that matters! Who cares what the internet has to say about YOUR experience. Tweeprise ending always gives the energy and now we are on the cusp of the first ever third night of the Gorge. There's always ever been 2 nights runs, and this being the first third nighter, and first sunday show of tour...strap up, it's gonna be a wild ride tonight!
, attached to 2018-07-21

Review by DevinB

DevinB I must admit that the ratings on this site are sometimes a complete mystery to me. To wit, I am perplexed at how Friday night's show received a higher rating than this one. Having been at both, I can't claim any sort of bias either way, so I am surprised that my experience (and, incidentally, the experience of just about everyone I have spoken to at The Gorge this weekend) seems to contradict what people are saying here. First, let's get something out of the way: there are a lot of slow songs in the second set of this show. Yes, some may suggest they killed its momentum, but that's ok. After all, variety is the spice of life. These ballads were beautifully performed and bookended by some truly spectacular jams and high-energy material that more than made up for any dips in momentum. More on that in a moment. In contrast to Friday night's loose, jammy first set, Phish delivered a more streamlined take on the first frame this time around, featuring a great one-two Party Time/Punch opener, a 'classic' Mike's Groove sans the second jam, a strong reading of It's Ice, and a fabulous sunset Divided Sky for the ages. It also featured the debut of Infinite, which appears to have some jam potential and could be a great addition to their catalog. Now, about that second set... No, they didn't drop another exploratory 24-minute jam a la the previous night's Chalk Dust. But does that matter? Hear me out: for as exploratory as Friday night's show was, it seemed to lack focus and discernable peaks. Most nights, I will take a 24-minute ANYTHING, but I will be the first to admit that you could have easily trimmed five or six minutes off that jam and it would have actually been more focused and cohesive. And, occasionally, those bold experiments don't pay off -- see Light from the same show as an example -- so you're left with a lot of aimless, directionless noodling that never establishes interesting themes or reaches the transcendent highs we all know this band is capable of reaching. By contrast, the first two songs of this show's second set, while not as long or as exploratory, featured some incredibly cohesive playing from the band, focusing on dark, melodic passages characteristic of last summer's Baker's Dozen run. I would urge anybody focusing so intently on a handful of six-minute ballads to go back and listen to the peak of this Tweezer or the inspired mechanical soundscape late in Golden Age as a reminder that this second set was more than just Farmhouse and Velvet Sea. Ditto for the thrilling, energetic Piper. And, frankly, it's difficult for me to understand how someone could complain about a set that starts with a powerful Tweezer and ends with Antelope (even a by-the-numbers Antelope like the one in this show), effectively ignoring just how well those two songs frame a set. A great sandwich starts with the bread. In this case, we had at least one familiar ingredient in between (Piper) but also had some lighter fare that helped elevate its taste profile. I will be the first to call the band on their momentum-killimg moments, but I didn't feel that way about the ballads in this set. Farmhouse seems to be a nod to the remoteness of the Gorge, Caspian featured a truly serendipitous moment of powerful sustained wind right as the solo reached it's climax (sorry, webcasters -- nature really came through for those of us in attendance!), and Velvet Sea was... well, it wasn't the worst Velvet Sea ever. Sure, I understand that most of us don't associate these songs with strong second sets, but they have an emotional resonance that matches the natural beauty of The Gorge and delivers a different kind of Phish experience to those willing to open themselves up to it. Last night's show was expertly performed and riddled with highlights. It felt tight, focused, and emotionally rich. Even as someone who considers myself more of a jam guy than a song guy, I'm having a difficult time finding faults in this show. It was a wonderful and memorable experience, proving that this band is equally adept at playing clean and tight as they are at playing fast and loose. Can't wait to see what they have in store for Night 3!
, attached to 2018-07-20

Review by DogGone

DogGone This is definitely one of those shows where you don't expect it to be that good. The second set was peak after peak in energy, songs seamlessly melting together. To top it off, a Tube, Golgi encore was a sign of how much the music just wasn't ready to be stopped playing. This is one of those shows that just sneaks up on you and when you're in it, you're absolutely Phish'd. Such a great crowd too! Personal highlights: Simple, Ya Mar, Sand and CDT, My friend, Fuego. They were really telling a story and looked like they were just "feeling it."
, attached to 2018-07-20

Review by vinsanity46

vinsanity46 I loved this show. Dug the funk in Wolfman's, the beauty of Roggae, and the spookiness of the Undermind>Simple. Then a big ole' CDT that covered some varied terrain, peaked nicely (albeit untraditionally) then settled down and we got some spooooooky stuff yet again. I always welcome MFMF, and the Fuego that came after wasn't too shabby either. Shades of the Mayan Fuego...The jam in Light is very cool, especially the second half. It really ends on a dime. Waste is beautiful as always and the Rock and Roll had a little extra mustard to close out the set. Great stuff from the Phish this evening. Excited for night 2
, attached to 2018-07-18

Review by gingerphish

gingerphish A little weaker than the night before, but still not an awful show especially for this early in the tour. They got rid of some of the rust we saw last night, but still had a few sloppy points. The first set came and went. The Ocelot was my highlight. Really fresh take on what is normally a standard Julius-esque pump up jam. Instead, Trey takes the solo really dark. Gin also anchors the set well and peaks nicely (no 12/30/16 peak) like a good, type 1 Gin should. For some reason, I never really connect with DWD jams, but this one was enjoyable and really locked me in a points. 3.0 ambiance is always welcomed in my book. Didn't stray far from where the jam they dropped into after Trey's initial solo, but got things off to a good start. What's the Use has always been a bathroom song. You may disagree, but it just gets to repetitive for me. Blaze On lands on a rhythmic jam where Fishman is just killing it. Really enjoyed this version. The rest of the set was pretty standard as was the Suzy encore.
, attached to 2018-07-17

Review by gingerphish

gingerphish Overall, this show was good throughout. As other reviewers mentioned you could hear the rust on some songs as the band tried to get some of the composed sections down and come out of deeper jams. First set was definitely stronger than the second set, but I enjoyed the flow of both sets. Some may disagree about the second set. I thought the mid set cool down worked well especially with the nice, dark jam coming out of Soul Planet. Dad rock, for sure, but they take Soul Planet to a nice place. First set: What a start to the tour, although as mentioned a bit rusty. The Moma Ghost was my highlight for this show. I read a review on LivePhish app that mentioned the Ghost didn't really go anywhere or have a conclusion besides the weird key shifting ending. I would disagree with this. I thought the Ghost really explored some nice ambient hose. Felt like 98 at points to my ear. Funky Bitch and Zero were both solid, and I'm not a huge Stash fan so i'll leave that one alone. Second set: This no man's is solid enough for a second set opener although not as strong as the Ghost. This is no stand out version for this song, but none the less enjoyable. Carini really hits a cool jam for only being 9 minutes long. The cool down with Slave and Bouncing happened. Soul Planet through Harry Hood was sweet though. You remember 2016 when 4th quarter jams were nonexistant, and shows fell so flat at the end and just drained the energy out of the crowd? Not this show. Encore: Love both Contact and Julius. Especially to close out an average great show. I feel like this show will be one that people look back on as kind of a hidden jem. Nothing was year defining good, but everything was solid.
, attached to 1993-08-07

Review by ZimZamZoom

ZimZamZoom As an addendum to my prior review...I finally realized that the tramps memory was not false, but it was during MIke's Song. Didn't know that was a common thing back then until I happened to read the Song History for it here. It was intense and scary at times...I just signed up for LivePhish+ and am reliving the show once again :-)
, attached to 2018-07-17

Review by yEEt_1331

yEEt_1331 With the late norm of having longer, warmup first sets, this one sets up promisingly with the “Moma” > “Ghost” combo that takes up a little less than half the entire set time. They were going ham from the start and getting their edge back as soon as possible. The “No Men” looked like it could evolve into something great, but Trey looked to be having some possible rig troubles, and faded out to rip into “Carini”, which slithered into an odd “Slave” without the “blinking” intro. “Bouncing” would follow, and “Soul Planet” would make its second appearance to date. We then quickly “Steam” off the remaining rust from returning to tour and wrap up the show with “Hood”. The tiny venue would be graced with a “Contact” > “Julius” encore before leaving into the night to return the following evening for another show at Harvey’s.
, attached to 2018-07-17

Review by Matty1222

Matty1222 Free probably wasn't anyones guess as the opener but always welcomed. Possum gets you moving and then bam.... We enter into our first two headed monster of the tour with The Moma Dance into Ghost. 30 minutes of set 1 bliss. Funky Bitch is pretty standard, Mike's purple hair is not. What a guy. Stash gets a little extra juice and Character Zero adds a nice explamation point to a first set that was above anyones expectations for a tour opener. Did I mention that every song played so far has been from1998 or prior. No Men in No Man's Land kicked off set two with a bang and they jammed this one out for 15min using some intersting synths, a nice grove, ending in a bright white light blissful peak that we all have been yearning for. Next up is Carini which plays the second song after a big jam well. Nothing to brag home about but keeps the set flowing. I am always blown away by a mid set Slave. Slave to me has a feeling of closure and self reflection that usally is saved for an exclamtion point on a great set. This slave is wonderful, as they all are. Gordon, who really shined last night, showed patience with his solo while communicating with Trey. No where do we go? Why not bounce around the room for a little while and well Bouncing is Bouncing. Soul Planet kicks off the second half and is the second time Phish played the song following the NYE gag. I am a fan of this song but i know it gets mixed reviews. The jam is worth a listen as it has some interesting improv. Soul Planet crawls into Steam which is short and sweet. Still time left for one more jam and the boys break out Hood. This Hood is patient, dynamic, and even had a few bass bombs. Perfect way to end a very good tour opener. Contact, which somehow dodged 17 shows at MSG last year, is a fitting encore for the 1st show of a tour with a lot of driving left to do. Julius always packs a punch and leaves the crowd satisfyed. This show is beyong my expectations. I expected them to stay the course in set 1 and hopefully get a a sweet jam or two for set 2. Instead we have the concert MVP being a 30min Moma>Ghost that happens 20min into the concert. So pumped to see what 2018 has in store so lets get this show on the road!!
, attached to 1997-06-27

Review by exiled

exiled There obviously must have been a bad audience recording floating around a few years back, because the one that is now available is perfectly fine. Unfortunately, all it does is draw attention to the fact that this is an average show and not worth the time to listen, other than for completists who want to hear every note ever played by this band.
, attached to 1991-11-09

Review by SplitOpenAndMule

SplitOpenAndMule I'll leave a more objective review (does such a thing really exist?) for someone else. For my part, the first half of this show was nothing too special as I listened at my desk at work. Typically good Fall 1991 playing, which is becoming an early high-water mark for the band, but nothing especially groundbreaking. My favorite part was a bit of banter from Trey at the start of Sparkle about Artis the Spoonman, who opened for Phish earlier this tour, and said "the greatest thing someone can give to another person is their attention." Trey goes on to give the band's appreciation for Atlanta: "In Atlanta, I don't know, there's something about, every time we play in Atlanta... it's great, it's incredible." Anyway, it's an awesome 1st set setlist with pretty great playing. When I came home from work I had an very strong beer (I'm a lightweight and not that frequent of a drinker) and picked up where I left off on the show. Poor Heart was fun, and It's Ice really showed great prowess from Page and the rest of the band behind him. Then came this Tweezer which completely blew me away. Someone lets out a few blood-curdling screams at the start of the jam, so the band, as if in response, begins playing gently, and with more patience than the Phish of just a few months prior, they slowly build up to a heavy, HEAVY jam and peak. And Tela is the PERFECT cool down. The end of the set has very pointed playing, with songs landing well with the attentive crowd. And My Sweet One starts off with the "very, extremely rare, special" gospel intro, 100% worth hearing. Overall, average show, worthy of a review, worth hearing the Tweezer>Tela (though you're probably best off starting that grouping with the jam chart Fluffhead) and MSO.
, attached to 2016-12-30

Review by gingerphish

gingerphish Just had to add a quick comment here. I don't know when the Light-> Party Time was changed to Light with Party Time teases, and people (including myself) will definitely disagree with that call. Either way this is a fantastic Light and with the Party Time jam at the end, deserves to be a recommended version of the song. The peak that the Party Time scales is just incredible. Overall, this show was awesome and a thing to witness. If this Gin doesn't make you move, I don't know what will. IMHO, the Ghost makes this show. Amazing, chilled out jam to end a show full of highlights. 2016 was a weird year, but this was a complete show.
, attached to 1994-05-27

Review by jsauce

jsauce For those of us who care about such things, this is my favorite version of hood. Page is particularly active In the 25/8 runup. Mike finds a hook and page follows. Fish directs traffic until Trey steps In. When Trey hits that flurry of notes...it’s like for a moment we fly above all the pain and disappointment and frustration life offers. For a moment we’re free. This version of this song is why I listen to this band.
, attached to 1998-07-29

Review by BaconFlavoredKittens

BaconFlavoredKittens I was at this show with some great friends. On a lark, I said we needed a good Kung, and the band delivered. Aside from the music and the camaraderie, I will never forget seeing a shirtless wooly Phish-head running around the lawn like a wild man during the first set. Towards the end of the first set, we noticed that shirtless wooly head was now a COMPLETELY NAKED wooly head still running around and dancing on the lawn. Considering the quality of this show, I was not surprised by denuded joy. Naturally, as soon as the first set ended, everyone sat down, except of course for the naked wooly head who now stuck out like a sore ... thumb. Security kindly escorted him somewhere where we hoped he would get some hydration, maybe a soft chair and hopefully a 3XL "Welcome to St. Louis" t-shirt that dangled down to his knees. As my friends and I returned our attention to our immediate surroundings, we noticed -- during our discussion of that sick Bathtub Gin -- a lovely couple embraced in passionate kissing directly in front of us on a lovely picnic blanket. Somewhat stunned by their intensity, my friends and I silently tried not to stare, wondering if nakedness might continue on the lawn of fair Riverport. Instead, the female of the pair extracted her tongue from her lover, rolled to her side and threw up all over the ground directly next to her. And just like that, the moment was gone. As we looked on, the happy couple packed up their blanket and left for greener pastures while the pile of half-digested veggie burrito slowly percolated on the lawn. Thankfully some gentle soul walked over and placed a lost t-shirt on top of the mess, allowing us to eagerly await the second set without concern that any shoeless spinners might slip during the duration of the show. Seriously, I hope the naked wooly head got some clothes from security because he did not want that t-shirt back. Riverport -- for me -- will always be an amazing show, the best Bathtub Gin I've ever heard, and the tableau for the Tale of Naked Boy and Vomit Girl. I like to imagine they met somewhere in the middle ... hopefully with some adult supervision.
, attached to 2010-10-26

Review by jsauce

jsauce Dudes, HOW is this mike’s not on the jam chart? It’s my favorite Mikes ever. Seriously. It’s not the longest, but it displays some of the things I love most about phish’s playing. Nasty page funk clarinet intro to the jam. Trey is super patient with the peak. These days I feel like you can hear the peak coming from a mile away. He consciously side steps the obvious peak moments and the tension builds so that when the payoff comes it feels more earned. After that it’s pure meltdown until they turn around for another fantastic peak shred fest. For my money, when they play mikes well it’s about the most classic, telling phish jam out there. It’s so RAW and nasty. This one isn’t the longest, but if you know of a better one, please PM me ASAP and let me know.
, attached to 1998-08-01

Review by Capricornholio

Capricornholio My first Phish show and it was better than what I deserved. First set opens with the debut of Ramble On followed by a really great Mike's Groove. The Mike's song (which does't stray to far from the song's form) was standard for the time, but would be considered fantastic now. It segues nicely into an atypically placed and always welcome Esther which segues into an above average and extremely funky Weekapaug. The rest of the set is standard/great with solid versions of Guyute, BOAF and Funky Bitch and one of the few Fikus'. The second set opens with a week piper which goes into a decent Wilson. The set takes off from there with one of the better segments from the summer tour in the form of 2001-> Magilla>Tweezer>Fluff. The 2001 is nice and funky with a somewhat clunky, but interesting segue into Magilla. The second iteration of 2001 is only about 10 seconds long before going into [b]ONE OF THE ALL-TIME BEST TWEEZERS[/b]. This one tends towards beautiful Hose rather than the scary or funky territories Tweezer can often go. Lots has already been written about this jam which I strongly suggest you check out for yourself as soon as possible (available as a SBD from the Wisconsin Edition bonus disc as well as being posted on YouTube). To have a jam this epic land on Fluffhead is just icing on the cake. Things cool off with a well executed Brian and Robert into a critically underplayed Albuquerque. The whole rest of the show is firey with the set closing CDT and Frankenstein followed by the Been Caught Stealing > Reprise encore. Unfortunately, there are 0 good sounding recordings of this show. The tapers have done their best, but AV just isn't acoustically that great. You need to muscle through that shit and listen to it though because this show is great! 4.6 / 5 Solid A Phish.
, attached to 1998-07-10

Review by theghost

theghost My mind is also boggled that anyone would single this show out as a stinker. Even a bit boggled that the Halley's and Mike's Groove (the Simple in particular) aren't beloved, hall-of-fame tracks. The DWD to kick it off is no slouch.... perhaps not fully loosened up for the head of the song but I've heard lesser Disease jams exalted by the "sophisticated" phans. But yeah, the rest of the abbreviated first set is simply problem-filled. Feel free to skip. The Halley's is one of the greats in my mind. I remember when I first heard the version from 11/22/97, I was startled but thrilled to hear the jam not take off like a rocket ship (the traditional plan), but instead jump off a cliff and free fall into an abyss. This one is similar....it falls down into a relaxed trance-dance kind of groove that I'd think would appeal to the modern fan. I love this version.... it's right there with 11/22/97, the Great Went, 8/3/98, and 12/7/99 to me. As others have noted, the Simple is as good or better than the Halley's, but the Mike's Song setup is really nice too. The Weekapaug isn't super special (although I like the On Broadway breakdown part) but the suite as a whole is also right there with many highly regarded Mike's Grooves. Ok, the Sample>GTBT is pretty mediocre by the standards of the day and not a very strong finish...some demerits there I suppose. I like Brian and Robert. This isn't a particularly special version and I could understand fans being underwhelmed by the choice for the encore if it didn't go into a quick but excellent Taste. I don't know... I suppose the Halley's and Mike's Groove are the only essential tracks, but you've got over an hour of ELITE Phish right there. Plus about 20 minutes of DWD and Taste that won't disappoint either. FAR, FAR from a bad show. Don't overlook!
, attached to 2018-07-07

Review by setthegearshift

setthegearshift Nice high energy set from Trey band that was certainly appreciated by the fans who aren’t doing the non-Northeast summer or fall tours. We got to the venue in time to catch the second half of Twiddle (who had some pretty stellar ripping in their own set), and there was a ton of conversation about how this was the time to catch Trey because so-and-so couldn’t get to Watkins and Albany was going to be hard. The band seemed pretty focused and engaged throughout, which led to a great energy in the fairgrounds and a cool vibe throughout. The first third of the set was getting warmed up, with good playing but nothing exceptional. There were a few highlights of the show from our vantage point, starting in the middle with Everything’s Right, which played as its usual delivery and then Trey kicked into a jam that noodled for awhile before ripping hard and fast for the last few minutes. He went again with Sand - where the jam (which felt like 8-10 minutes but I wasn’t keeping track) went down into a deep well like Sand usually does before coming back out and exploding in energy. Finally, the First Tube and Push On were amazing. Trey clearly saved his best for last here. The First Tube came around again and again and again and reached a pretty great conclusion. Trey stood with his Languedoc pointed straight to the sky in front of his mic as he was urging the crowd to go louder and louder. A really cool joint participation with the crowd. And Push On was a final release - Trey was a maniac on stage, jumping, dancing, spinning right in circles and then left and then right again, all while continuing the build to a great conclusion. Our friends ditched us so we had to hoof it halfway back to town to get picked up, but that did not dampen a good show. Excellent vibes from the crowds and a good performance by Trey Band.
, attached to 2018-07-07

Review by setthegearshift

setthegearshift Nice high energy set from Trey band that was certainly appreciated by the fans who aren’t doing the non-Northeast summer or fall tours. We got to the venue in time to catch the second half of Twiddle (who had some pretty stellar ripping in their own set), and there was a ton of conversation about how this was the time to catch Trey because so-and-so couldn’t get to Watkins and Albany was going to be hard. The band seemed pretty focused and engaged throughout, which led to a great energy in the fairgrounds and a cool vibe throughout. The first third of the set was getting warmed up, with good playing but nothing exceptional. There were a few highlights of the show from our vantage point, starting in the middle with Everything’s Right, which played as its usual delivery and then Trey kicked into a jam that noodled for awhile before ripping hard and fast for the last few minutes. He went again with Sand - where the jam (which felt like 8-10 minutes but I wasn’t keeping track) went down into a deep well like Sand usually does before coming back out and exploding in energy. Finally, the First Tube and Push On were amazing. Trey clearly saved his best for last here. The First Tube came around again and again and again and reached a pretty great conclusion. Trey stood with his Languedoc pointed straight to the sky in front of his mic as he was urging the crowd to go louder and louder. A really cool joint participation with the crowd. And Push On was a final release - Trey was a maniac on stage, jumping, dancing, spinning right in circles and then left and then right again, all while continuing the build to a great conclusion. Our friends ditched us so we had to hoof it halfway back to town to get picked up, but that did not dampen a good show. Excellent vibes from the crowds and a good performance by Trey Band.
, attached to 2012-07-06

Review by daltone

daltone I had a lot of fun at my first show at SPAC in 2012. For whoever may see it, I'm writing this as a recollection of discovering the magic and was able to understand why people become obsessed with this band. The things that struck me the most about the experience were: firstly the wave of energy that everyone was wallowing in and hopping around about as soon as the Runaway Jim opener kicked off. I truly had no idea what I was in for. Secondly, I marveled at the accuracy with which people I talked to recalled how many shows they'd been to. An exchange with a guy next to me went something like "this is my 42nd one. First time for you? Haha awesome man. Have fun!". Listening back to this night never fails to bring happiness to me. Although at the time I was almost completely unfamiliar with Phish's catalog, I know now that I was lucky and got a fantastic introduction. I recognized Tube from a show a friend had once given to me on CD (it was 12/29/97 and he is a good friend for using that show to try and lure me into the Phish universe), but that may have been it. HYHU and Cracklin Rosie were unforgettable. Trey's sentiment, something or other about "if there are any children in the audience trying to decide on a career choice, I recommend this" was fun. I can't go into much detail on how I felt about the versions of so many favorites that were played this night. All I could tell was that I made a good decision to be here and that from here on, instead of "yeah they're pretty cool I guess" it would be "oh man, they're incredible". We were camped at Lee's which made the SPAC trip... wholesome. I know I came to the party late, but I couldn't be happier to be here.
, attached to 1998-07-31

Review by Capricornholio

Capricornholio A great (if somewhat short) first set with interesting song choices that are well played. Ya Mar doesn't get "all the way out there," but where it does go is very nice. This Cities is often in the conversation for best ever (personally, i'll take Greek 10) and deservedly so. It goes on for just over 15 minutes and has three distinct jam sections (type 1, delay loop, and hose). They stumble a little bit getting into the delay loop jam with what sounds like a forced key modulation. Everything after that is straight butter as the delay loop jam stays in funkytown for a few minutes before closing out the jam with about 6 minutes of ferocious rock. The set closes with a standard, but nice, Stash. Set II is a real snoozer. Outside of a Free that has a little bit of the proverbial "extra mustard," there isn't really much to see here. Even a "->" Izabella couldn't save this mediocre Twist. Perhaps sensing that they bricked the second set, they come out with a pretty great one-two for the encore with PYITE and Slave. Maybe if the two sets were flipped, I would consider this show a little better, but there are no real great highlights after the Cities. This is a fairly uneven show that is typically overrated because of the GOAT Cities contender in the first set. 3.35 / 5 B- Phish
, attached to 2016-07-06

Review by dutchbug

dutchbug This was the last show I went to. In anticipation of Curveball, I read a bunch of my old reviews and I really got a kick out of them. I remember not really liking this show that much. Weird coincidence, it's been exactly two years ago since this one. Seems like it's been ages. Scene outside was fine...I remember feeling a little out of place...oh yeah, baby was very young and I drove up from Boston to see the show. There was a coffee truck advertising marijuana sales on the loudspeaker...was there? I remember that. I don't know why they bothered using the loudspeaker, or why they wanted their business affiliated with weed sales (couldn't they get in trouble?). Hit Five Guys pre-show and grabbed some amazing free parking. City of Portland is great. In another life, I'd have more to do with the place. Venue had REALLY SERIOUS security. I couldn't bring in water, which was a bummer. Oh! Strangely enough, I ran into the guy that got me into Phish there! Yeah! He was walking up the aisle and boom! I hooked him up with a seat. Nice guy! I can remember the people sitting behind us---a guy with some claim to fame---maybe Trey had noticed him from stage? His girlfriend was with him and she had a beautiful way of moving to the music. She appeared to be fully absorbed. We also met some nice dudes to our side. A guy in rasta colored tie dye...Weird how I can remember people from a crowd at shows. Anyway...as people have mentioned here, lots of flubs in the show. Little exploration. Didn't really feel like the songs were building up to anything. I wouldn't ever listen to this one again. I got my first Fluffhead, which was cool. It was also cool that I saw that dude and got to hang out with him. I can remember buying him a beer as he left to chill on shakedown. He had a hotel room near the lot and I remember being jealous that his night was going to go on. I knew that it would be the last show I'd go to for a while, which made it a bit difficult to hear them play as they did. I did have the amazing experience, though of showing up to the show alone and meeting cool people and having this weird Alpha and Omega thing happen where I saw the dude that started all of this. I knew that this was my last show for a long time (maybe forever). But now, Curveball is on the horizon! Yeah! That'll be the next time I see the band for a while, too. Can't wait to leave on a better note (weird thing to anticipate, I know).
, attached to 1998-07-05

Review by theghost

theghost What a weird show. I think the Birds and Taste are great.... tight and feisty....I don't hear any drunkenness at all. Cavern's good and the beginning of Reba is crisp and uptempo. And then, all of a sudden, the wheels fall off....all four members! Mike in particularly starts missing (or omitting) the roots of the chords all over the place. Very uncharacteristic and it seems to get Trey distracted and pulled offsides. All of this happened roughly 30 minutes into the show. My theory? Edibles. Mike seems the most off his game of all of them and is known to be an infrequent partaker. He hacks his solo in Lawnboy too. Just not like him AT ALL. But this show isn't a total waste at all. There are segments scattered through the show that are at peak July 98 levels (one of my favorite months of their whole career). As I said the Birds and Taste are really good....the solo section of Taste is top notch. The Fee is a keeper for it's comedic first half and its really cool second half jam. I love the way Trey aborts the mission... "and he jumped over the side of the ship and the sharks ate him...thank you". You can hear him stifling giggles for the next minute or two. The Water in the Sky is a really nice version...Page shines. Then, the Gin.... pretty good but not too exciting. Until the 11 minute mark when they soar into a jam segment that's as thrilling as any particular moment in the legendary Riverport Gin a few weeks later. It just doesn't last for 24 minutes this time. McGrupp is a cool, unique (if a little sloppy) version...another worthy moment. It's a sub par night for sure...particularly for this tour. But it's not dull and still worth a listen for the high points.
, attached to 1991-10-24

Review by SplitOpenAndMule

SplitOpenAndMule Not adding much to the other reviews, but another voice to say that this show has great energy all throughout. A lot of more-or-less typically awesome 1991 playing, but everything from TMWSIY through Slave is some of the best playing this fall tour up to this point. Proper spaciousness in Mike's, Hydrogen, and Slave, and totally on-point, dialed shredding in Weekapaug and Bowie. The bustout energy of Tube is through the roof, and the segue from TMWSIY>Bowie is very excellent and exciting for this band at this stage in their career. Listen to this show :)
, attached to 1993-08-07

Review by vindog

vindog It doesn't seem to be mentioned anywhere, so I just want to add that the McGrupp (with Fishman on washboard) has Trey, Mike and Fishman standing around Page's baby grand for the 'jam' in the middle. None of them looked at the audience, they all kind of leaned in over the soundboard-case/under the lid as Page played. It struck me very odd and cool b/c it seemed like they were playing for themselves rather than for the audience.
, attached to 1993-04-23

Review by vindog

vindog I just wanted to add some detail about the signs during Lengthwise. Around this time, as Phish's popularity was growing (maybe even exponentially), there was talk among people, especially newer fans, about the role of the Fishman songs: Was he poking fun at them? Based on the choice Bike, probably not, but Cracklin' Rosie...? His time was clearly exceptional to the rest of the show (almost like a really weird version of Drums->Space). I think the rest of the band took advantage of that during Lengthwise. First note that the signs were run back and forth across the stage behind Fishman, and well out of his sight (if he knew, he played it off well). In particular, the first sign that came out, and was out for a bit before the rest came out, said: ``When you're through playing, you're through". In the context of the gym, and the other signs (``We win in our gym"), this seems normal. But mixing acid and newcomers, one can see how the band could be punking the crowd (and even Fishman) here: ``When you're through playing, you're through" might seem like the band was also questioning Fishman's time, and maybe they are on the verge of kicking him out of the band (the horror!) b/c of his insistence on doing this stuff. If so, see one of Fish's crushing comebacks during Catapult on 7/16/94. That, of course, could be wrong, but it's always fun to speculate (harmlessly).
, attached to 2017-12-30

Review by aisincl

aisincl Setlist Porn on paper, and incredible highs throughout the evening. The relaxed and slower songs were inserted in just the right spots to catch one's breath, and then right back on the roller coaster again. The Tweezer, DWD and Antelope will hold up for many years ahead, and this show is evidence on why "you never miss a 12/30".
, attached to 1999-07-03

Review by jsauce

jsauce I usually don't delve too far into pre-show specifics, but on this, the 19th anniversary of my 12th show, I thought I'd indulge myself. My cousin drove down from West Virginia to North Carolina the night before. Over a few beers at one of my local bars we told ourselves we'd take it easy on account of having a long run of shows ahead of us. I'm sure you can see where this is going. Fast forward a few hours and we'd gotten so drunk we'd decided to settle some long-forgotten dispute with a good ol' fistfight outside of my apartment. The fight reached its zenith when he landed a fantastic PYITE (still have the scar!) and I smashed his head into a mailbox. As luck would have it, our server the next morning at breakfast was my senior prom date. Her jaw literally dropped at our appearance. On to Atlanta! The lot outside Lakewood was steaming, full of very fucked up heads and a ton of undercover cops. We saw Mike zoom by on the gocart. I traded my extra ticket for a 10 strip and promptly ate the whole thing. To say that I had difficulty getting into the show would be a tremendous understatement, but arrive we did, just in time for a blazing Chalkdust. Even this early on in my phish career, I thought this was a fairly uninspired opener choice, and they made me pay by laying down one of my still-favorite versions and followed that up with my still-favorite version of Gumbo. Here is where we got the first taste of the swirling loops that would go on to define the summer '99 sound. Tube is also worth checking out. The second set, despite the somewhat raggedy ending, is one of my favorites of all time. The Piper, in particular, was the first version I ever heard (and I think may be *the* first version) where they really stretch out the beginning. Relistening, it's clearer now than ever that Fish is controlling the tempo on this one. The intensity builds and builds, a very good metaphor being when you're doing your level best to not to bust, and when you do, it's absolutely glorious. Trey (continuing the metaphor) unloads on the back end and we melt into a wonderfully fresh Moma. This antelope, along with 11/22/97, continues to serve as my standard bearer for the song. There is no Piperesque subtlety to this one- they go straight for the jugular from the beginning and ravage the ears the whole way through. During the final buildup, I remember thinking this is what it must have sounded like when the Titanic hit the iceburg. How can four people make this much noise?! Coming out of this was massive whiplash and served as the de facto end of the second set. Thank goodness. I don't know if I could have stood much more. We'd made campground reservations near the venue and, being the 21-year-old idiots that we were, brought sleeping bags but no tents. Those mosquitos got so much blood from us, they're probably still sitting around on the couch digesting their meals. OUCH. This was a great opening night for our five show run. I only hope that one day they wisen up and release this as a two-show box set.
You can still access archived Phish.net reviews


Phish.net

Phish.net is a non-commercial project run by Phish fans and for Phish fans under the auspices of the all-volunteer, non-profit Mockingbird Foundation.

This project serves to compile, preserve, and protect encyclopedic information about Phish and their music.

Credits | Terms Of Use | Legal

© 1990-2018  The Mockingbird Foundation, Inc. | Hosted by End Point Corporation