, attached to 2011-08-15

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw A powerhouse of a show. Right off the bat you get a very strong Back On The Train, not extended or especially unique but very strong. One of the best ScentOAM of 3.0. Wolfman immediately goes into a jungle funk groove, then moves into a beautiful yet tense jam, and ends in a great peak. Babylon Baby is a well played Debut. Alumni Blues is always a great bustout and it is very well played. Sand starts the 2nd set on a strong note. Light has a very quick but very good dark/evil jam that is very potent for how short it is. The first of many great segues in this set is the > into Dirt (it kind of reminds me of the end of Money going into Us and Them). Waves is very top notch with a fantastic inspired solo. The segue into Undermind is fantastic and flawless. Undermind really holds the set together perfectly and the guys are giving it their all. It also goes a bit deeper than you'd expect for 13mins. Yet another great segue into Steam. Fire is destructive and great to close out the set. And now for the most epic encore of 3.0 (so far) almost another set of music! Not crazy about all the songs played (besides hood) but everything is very well played. And hood is especially bass bomb crazy as Mike just goes off trying to shake every brick from the building. Overall a fantastic inspired show. I almost would give it 5 stars, however it is missing that overall feeling of legendary to me. So I will give it "Over" 4 stars ;)
, attached to 1997-07-06

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw One of those "Burnt Out" shows. Maybe it was the extended soundcheck or the guys weren't sleeping too well but this show just gives off the impression of being exhausted. There's not really too much to write about for the first set besides Stash which kind of picks up it's jam legs after the epic Paradiso version a few days earlier. It picks up steam and goes into a weird chaotic jam followed by a tense little groove. Mule is especially sloppy. The remainder of the set is a bunch of straightforward quick tunes that don't add to the show much. Overall a pretty forgettable show, one of the weakest from this tour. Set 2 opens with a free with a different midsection, instead of the pulsing groove you typically get this one is very funk influenced not by way of the bass groove but by Page and Trey's playing with Wah and clav effects. YEM is somewhat awkward to my ears because you can hear the guys really trying to jam this one out, it feels very forced. Unfortunately it comes out as they can't really keep a decent idea together and it all feels somewhat disorganized. It is notable for not having a vocal jam though.
, attached to 2010-08-07

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw This is a really REALLY good show. Top 3 for 2010. The first set is superb just extremely solid front to back. Bag is very strong right out of the gate, no real stretch to it but very solid. Foam is well played. The highlight for me of the first set is Jibboo, it's very pretty and just fantastic hose throughout. It is definitely 11 minutes that is worth any fan of hose and/or Jibboo. Reba, Sleep Again, and Army of One are all just top notch with great tight playing. 46 days is also fantastic with an amazing solo by Trey and a cool but brief jam at the end. The segue from Wilson to Light is interesting to say the least. Maybe a little rushed? One of those segues that I'm not sure is a ripchord or almost flawless. Regardless it is very apparent that they had plans for light from the get go and they're just gonna go for it. The jam starts out pretty intense, it mellows out as Trey noodles around as Page adds layers of ambient noise. The remainder is just a nice pulsing groove I like quite a bit. Hood is very thoughtful and strong. Theme is also extremely strong and has a very triumphant solo by Trey. Suzy even has a little extra to it. Slave is pretty standard but who complains about Slave closing a set? Ok it's been a pretty long show maybe just a short encore? Nope! They play Lizards and First Tube. What a fantastic show. One of the best from 2010.
, attached to 1991-12-31

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw A very interesting show. Some great destructive playing mixed with a lot of "Playing it safe" versions of songs. Possum rips the top off the building to start the show. Stash is a little sloppy but towards the end great peaks ensue. Straight Forward but well played Lizards. Very Strong Gueluh and Esther. Llama is one of the biggest highlights of the show (crazy right?) Pages organ solo is just insane and Trey comes in and tries to top Pages solo with an insane one of his own. Brother is a huge version and kind of evil. Reba is not epic or peaky by any means but still well played. Also a very safe Antelope which I find very odd expecting them to go balls out with it. The intro to Wilson is that of legends it's just hilarious and perfect. Tweezer has a nice jam pretty early on, a very clear view of what was to come in later years. Mikes song has a nice bouncy groove towards the end. And Hydrogen is just gorgeous and top notch couple of minutes. Nice little quick 3 song encore. This show is a glimpse of the past and the future. Great playing, a little messing around with songs, and the band still has that extra intimate feeling that would only last for another year or so.
, attached to 2016-07-22

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw It's always funny how "Being There" can change your perception about a show. I showed up extra early and spent several hours enjoying others company sheltered from the blazing Southern California summer heat. Great day great vibes all around. The goal originally was to get in line to be in the first phase of people on the floor. Of course as usual one thing leads to another and plans don't pan out. Luckily I was with people who knew people and I somehow managed to be one person behind the rail Page side. That easily is a plus for any show. There is not much to write home about for the first set besides the Cavern>Antelope mashup. No bad playing per say just nothing with any heat on it. Set break was especially long for this show. Something like 45mins? Treys guitar tech spent a significant amount of time messing with his pedals and holding a manual. From what we gathered he was having technical issues. This is likely what made most of the show not result in balls out jamming or messing around. If you don't trust your effects gear you're limited and likely anxious and that effects your playing. Second set is much like the 1st set except with even more of the feeling of them cramming in as many songs as possible. Fuego has a little messing around to it but not much. It seems they were making up for the long set break and played a slightly longer set. Even sticking YEM in at the very end (very much to everyone's surprise). My favorite part of that set was The Wedge yes no jamming or anything unique. But it is so well played that I was just dancing my ass off. Overall note a noteworthy show by any means. The playing was still pretty spot on and I've seen worse shows, especially those where they have trouble connecting and to me that's much worse.
, attached to 1993-08-07

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw Another great show from a great year. Lots of strong playing, lots of your typical shenanigans. Set one has a beautiful and cohesive stash. Trey and Page have a lot of fun with it riffing around. Reba is straightforward but strong. Very well played very strong Maze where everyone is on pointe with nice Stairway to heaven Tease. Really enjoy the "Rollercoaster of the Mind" Mockingbird Narration. Set two has a nice Mikes-> Kung sequence. A top notch segue into The Sloth. A typically strong MFMF. Mcgrupp I also noticeably strong. Antelope starts out a little disjointed but becomes the standard ripper that it is. Average encore for this era. Overall a very strong show that illustrates all of the bands strengths at the time.
, attached to 2010-06-27

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw This show is the perfect mixture of fun with a great setlist. It's one of those nights that truly feels like the guys are playing something special for those in attendance. Tela is the first really notable song in the first set to my ears, it has some very inspired and powerful playing to it. Sample has a really nice peaky solo to it. Gin has some great hose for how short it is along with great peaks. Antelope is also very strong to end things. Set 2 is where all kinds of crazy and fun things happen. The first -> into Saw it again is fantastic and meticulously done. The beginning of the Piper jam sounds like they really want to jam and are trying to find their footing, but never quite find it during the duration of it as they keep weeding through ideas. Ghost has a nice little micro jam to it that to me is better than the stretched out Piper. Although very rough Jumping Jack Flash is an awesome debut and reminiscent of the "Taking Care of Business" debut just a few years later. Another pretty awesome -> back into saw it again. YEM ends the set on a very strong note. Fire is well fire. Overall a fantastically unique and fun show. Definitely one of the best from 2010.
, attached to 1994-11-22

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw This show is insanely consistent with an epic jam. What else would you expect from 94'? Excellent Top Tier Foam for any era. Guyute is very strong. Although not really jammed out DWD is extremely strong and well played. Funk Bitch starts S2 and much to everyones surprised the guys start digging into it. Right away Page starts getting into it with some great key solos. The Jam starts quick with an infectious groove that you know they're not going to turn back from. It goes into a lightspeed rollercoaster from hell before fizzling out to a very experimental and spacey jam for the remainder of the jam. The YSZ-> Cry Baby Cry sequence is fantastic. Runaway Jim is very powerful and picks up a lot of steam shredding into a very funny and great version of BBFCFM. This is followed by probably my favorite Phishgrass section of a set (mostly because of the song selection). Hood is gorgeous. Highway to Hell is great fun. Lizards Encore? It just keeps going! An amazing show even within the confines of an amazing tour.
, attached to 2010-10-20

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw A very good show, just short of legendary. The show kicks off with one of the best versions of My Soul I've ever heard. STFTFP has an explosive guitar solo. Wolfman has a fun little vocal jam mid song. Decent segue into Cities. Guyute has a very strong peak it feels inspired (as would be felt the rest of the set). Bowie is strong and very tease crazy. Antelope has a nice middle section, with some weird tense noodling. Drowned and Sand kick off the second set straightforward. Axila is in a weird slot mid second set. SOAM is short and sweet (although it is not over). The Have Mercy sequence is bizarre, it has a nice little jam with some great pretty riffing by Trey towards the end. Piper has a nice little jam that kicks off pretty quick. The segue into Melt is trippy and cool. The set is capped by a very good Slave with some great patient playing on Treys part. GTBT? Well it's a great way to end a show! This show is in the upper tier for 3.0 however I would not award it 5 stars although it is close.
, attached to 2016-10-28

Review by jadedforbin

jadedforbin Fantastic start to what is easily the best run of 2016 and one of the most consistent multi-night stands in all of 3.0 Phish. Martian is great but short, sounded like they would jam it for a second. A few 97-era gems thrown in early, the show really kicked in when Trey wailed the end solo on "Home". Fabulous Steam, likely one of the better versions ever played, certainly in this unusual and unexpected slot, anchored the set and foretold of the greatness to come. Then came "The Golden Age". Afterwards I mentioned to the folks I was hanging with that I love it when Phish does a jam so singular, so great, that by "Vegas Golden Age" you KNOW someone is talking about this version. It IS that good, all the praise is very warranted. For sure the jam of the year, and a 10 best of 3.0 moment. Personally, it was my best moment of 3.0. But with 75-100 relistens I can confidently say this belongs with the Dicks 12 Light, Randalls CDT, Atlanta15 Tweezer, Tweezerpants, Tahoe Tweezer and the other greatest of 3.0 moments. Very likely the best version of this beloved cover Phish has ever played. This Golden Age is better than entire shows by itself. It is as we say "on the level". #winning will never regret going to this run, was going to do just the last two but chose to solo 10-28 and 10-29 instead of missing 2/4, great decision!! :)
, attached to 1998-12-31

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw One of the better NYE shows. 1999 out of the gates is a top shelf debut, excellent playing and execution. Mike's song has a very beautiful jam, not your typical evil thrash. Weekapaug has a great climax in it. Ghost comes out an has a very mellow hose jam, the tension picks up a little and gets weirder and weirder till the end. And as dumb as it sounds Ha Ha Ha is actually probably the best version I've ever heard. Tweezer is a little slower and a little funkier (like it will be for all of 1999). Mike finds a nice groove early and Trey kind of just goes with it, a very mellow jam. Is there ever a bad segue into Cities? I haven't heard any and this one is no exception. Cities is straightforward but very cohesive still, very well held together. Antelope is a little longer than usual and very strong. And who complains about Frankenstien and capping a set? Jim is very power and strong as it moves to the new year. Simple itself is sloppy but a lot goes down on stage after the balloons drop so I believe that caused a little error and distraction. But it roars into a jam, this continues for a little while and then mellows out for a few minutes before Hood starts. Hood is very noteworthy because I do not believe I've ever heard such a long intro to it, around 7 and a half minutes! Which is very cool and unique, but maybe a little too long at the same time. Hood also has a fantastic triumphant ending. Tweeprise is also pretty noteworthy as it is one of the best sounding ones to my ears. Llama comes in and leaves things on a high note. While my guitar gently weeps is very well played and a great way to end the show, Trey is really enjoying it. Overall definitely one of the best NYE shows I've heard (behind 93, 95, and 99)
, attached to 1998-08-03

Review by Phish1994

Phish1994 Why Rhinoceros was played (per @theothr1): "......okay, so, Rhinoceros was played to honor the passing of fan Philip Andrew Cassels...Phish paid tribute to Phil by opening the Deer Creek show with the song he was listening to before he took his own life (when they found him, the tape in his truck's radio was right where Rhinoceros ends) shortly before the band kicked off Fall Tour 1997...the band was fully aware that Phil’s brother, former Pharmer’s Almanac editor and HT contributor Kevin Cassels, was at Deer Creek that night so, it was played for Kevin for Phil...a bit maudlin? Perhaps but, i know for a fact that, having absolutely no idea whatsoever that the band was gonna do this, Kevin was deeply touched by this "silent" (and emotional) homage." https://forum.phish.net/forum/permalink/1377153155
, attached to 1998-12-29

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw A very straightforward but consistent show. Rock and Roll kicks things off and although it is pretty quick it is very well played. Melt has a nice little mid section groove. The rest of the set is average but nothing to frown about. Free is very strong coming out the gates for the 2nd set. Fantastic spacey segue into 2001 with some great drumwork by Fish, a very dance oriented version. Followed by a pretty safe barebones version of Boogie On Reggae Woman. YEM is pretty standard but has a nice little stretch to it. Straight forward Divided Sky encore, but an awesome encore choice none the less! Overall a fun consistent show.
, attached to 1998-12-30

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw A "Decent" show. Not too much to write home about regarding the first set. The only exception being a very pretty version of Frankie Says. Even Maze and Reba are pretty standard mediocre versions. As usual the jam out of DWD is an intense shredfest, It goes into a distorted type of space before triumphantly returning back into DWD proper. Piper has a great explosive peak. Caspian is the star of the show. The intro is absolutely gorgeous and the song itself is also very well played, and on top of it the outro is also gorgeous. For those who hate Caspian in the 2nd set you should hear this and see if you still feel that way. Coil has a psychedelic ambient outro instead of just piano. Slave unfortunately is very anticlimactic. A Possum encore is always great, but this version is absolute insanity. It's pulsing and intense and Trey just goes off. Overall some great peaks but a fairly straightforward show.
, attached to 1993-04-14

Review by pmc2kd

pmc2kd Amazing box set, in need of a review: Buried Alive is the opener (and a choice one at that). No time wasted in getting the energy levels up! Poor Heart maintains the manic pace and is replete with some welcome shouts of Cactus! from Trey. Maze makes an appearance in the third slot and continues the frenetic energy of the show. This is an excellent version, plenty of pace and Page’s solo is energetic and well done. Trey is full of vinegar as he takes control and guides us to a clean and fiery conclusion. Water break! Bouncin’ fits here very well. It’s a relaxing selection after that opening. It’s Ice is very well played, but is not the best version (high standards in the early 90s) as the middle jam section is nothing too groundbreaking. Still a great setlist call and plenty of fun! Stash -> Kung -> Stash -> Kung is as good as it seems on paper! An deeply exploratory Stash (with fine composed work) is given the full treatment and appears destined to return to song form, but the band has other ideas. A cool backing jam leads to the Fishman led Kung chant! They then make a full return to the Stash conclusion - with Kung vocals included! Trey makes for an acoustic guitar and they perform a Kung reprise jam. This is an absolutely awesome suite of music and you don’t get to hear much acoustic improv like this. The Horse>Silent is a nice follow up and played well. Divided Sky is up next and is very well done. Fans of the song will be pleased, even if it’s not in the upper echelon. It’s still crisp and triumphant and is nicely placed in the set. I Didn’t Know gives us some hijinks. Golgi Apparatus closes the set in adequate fashion. Pretty nice version, with some energetic set closing banter from Trey. Overall, this is an excellent first set. Jamming highlights a plenty in Maze & Stash madness along with plenty of well executed and great songs like Divided Sky & It’s Ice. If you wanted a microcosm of the tightness and exploration that ’93 has to offer, this is a fine set. Set II kicks off with an unbelievable little piece of audio history in the form of an on-stage wedding proposal. What an amazing insight and just a magical moment from a band on the ascendency. Trey then initiated Bag in honor of the newly engaged. This is a very crisp version. Pretty high speed by today’s (and latter years of 90’s) standards. Features a fiery solo from Trey. My Sweet One is second up, and is short but sweet before they kick into Tweezer! The Tweezer is not annotated on the setlist, nor is it particularly long, but it bears the hallmarks of the early 90s Tweezers in the form of a clean opening section (although there’s a stumble before the jam, where Trey gets lost momentarily). They kick into a dark Tweeprise-esque jam to start before sliding into a more chaotic, chromatic, note filled early 90s Tweezer jam. It reaches a couple nice climaxes without going anywhere too crazy before reaching the early 90s slow breakdown ending to Tweezer. It’s certainly a nice addition to a solid set. Resolving into Mound is quite pleasant to my ears and seems to jive with the breakdown ending of the Tweezer. This is a strong version of the tune. Big Ball Jam is up next and is what you’d expect (these don’t always come through on tape). It’s a decent enough musical interlude to me. YEM is the anchor of the set and what a version! Opening arpeggios are delightful, the spacey section is serene and magnificent & the drop in out of the space is sublime. Mike takes an inspired bass solo around 4:30 or so and it really cranks through the SBD! A screaming Trey solo gives way to a screaming lyric section (Trey shouting versus trying to be too funky). The music though remains appropriately funky and Trey dials back the shouting. Mike is laying down some fat lines, Fish and Page are working quite well in tandem here as well. The organ and bass take over at 9:15 or so, with Fishman remaining insatiable with his fills. There’s some good start stop stuff around 10:30 before Trey jumps in with some nice rhythm guitar. At 11 minutes it’s a Fishman solo with the occasional bas bomb and an eerie Trey drone at 12 or so. Trey then plays some quiet funky/jazzy solos over a very quiet jam and boy is it good. Well they slide right into Spooky with ease and it’s sublime! Inspired stuff here and it fits like a glove. The jam gets cooking right back into YEM and we are off. Trey throwing out some inspired and climbing leads with Page coloring the organ overtop. Good peaks and Trey teases the spooky melody as they break down the jam into Bass and Drums. Mike proceeds to eviscerate his instrument, with a sly spooky quote as well. There’s some awesome and heavy interplay between the percussion and band here as well before the vocal jam arrives. It’s a fun enough conclusion to an inspired version! Follow that up with Harpua! Yes please! Great narration and good song. Nice treat. Early 90s Phish magic. Runaway Jim gives us a final dog song to wrap this set up with a bow. This version has a soaring solo from Big Red and acts the part of set closer with aplomb. Most excellent. I’ll throw out the term “extra mustard” here, since I don’t use it often. The encore is a triple threat of Lengthwise Contact & Tweezer Reprise. Not many better ways to end a show. Overall, another excellent set. Good jamming throughout (type I mostly, but still great). Loved the opening Bag, the Tweezer Mound combo and of course the YEM. The Harpua and Jim were both nice cherries-on-top! Classic show. Worthy of praise and a great SBD release.
, attached to 1992-07-24

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw Pretty dang good opener from an evolving band. Foam is very well played. Tweezer at this time is at a stage where it was evolving and they were finding their footing with it, you can tell with this version as they mess around with it a little bit. YEM has a pretty good mid section with some great tension and release by Trey. And Tweeprise give the set a very full feel. One of the better opening sets I've heard.
, attached to 1998-12-28

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw This is a very strong show, both sets are pretty great. Stash is very fluid and intense and has an explosive ending. Very strong & powerful Farmhouse, a great Taste. The Acoustic portion is great especially Albuquerque. Tube blasts off like a rocket ship after a few quiet songs. Even Golgi is especially strong from this great 1st set. Carini quickly lights a fire under everyones ass to start the 2nd set. It thrashes and then moves into a weird eerie groove. Wolfman is slower than usual, the jam is very spacey, it makes one feel like they're floating through the cosmos. Short and sweet BOAF. Quinn has a nice tiny jam coming out of it. Bowie is particularly pretty. Been Caught Stealing is pretty sloppy but still a fun encore. Overall almost a 5 star show. Definitely above average.
, attached to 1996-08-05

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw This show is fairly mediocre IMO but still some strong playing. Divided Sky is played near flawlessly great version. There's some really short versions of Wolfmans and Wilson (among many other short songs). If I could is a really strong version, the harmonizing is pretty great. Julius has a very strong guitar solo. DWD stays type one for a while before they sink into a nice groove led by Page and Fish. It gets really weird and interesting before it is ripchorded into It's Ice. The Haileys>Somewhere over the Rainbow>Waste sequence is bizarre but interesting. The little acoustic set of songs is fun but IMO should have been in the 1st set or played as an encore. Amazing grace is one of the best versions I've heard them do. Mike's is pretty shredtastic (as are most in 1996). Cavern is cool as an encore considering it's red rocks but it's pretty straightforward. This show has an awkward feel and feels very "songy" at times to me. But it does have some great highlights.
, attached to 1995-12-08

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw Very well played show. A lot of times you pick out the good songs out of average sets, but with this show you pick out the best out of great sets. Exceptionally strong Jim, they are firing on all cylinders very fluid, It has an explosive finale. Fluffhead has a near perfect ending solo. The set ends with a smoking GTBT. The Tweezer jam starts with some strong interplay between Page and Trey. The jam is very experimental and gets very mucky towards the middle. It has a great Kung section almost reminiscent of the Lassie section of the Providence Bowie. The segue back into Tweezer is fantastic almost as great as the Broome County Tweezer>Timber>Tweezer a week later. Tweeprise is in a weird slot in he 2nd to last song of the set. Antelope is also very strongly played. The Beatles encore is fantastic and besides the 10/31/94 Halloween set is probably the only time you'll ever hear two consecutive Beatles songs. Overall a fantastic show. But It just doesn't have that classic legendary feel that the shows around it have.
, attached to 1990-04-24

Review by haroldchasen

haroldchasen The following review is from [i]The Earlham Word[/i], student newspaper, from May 4, 1990, under the headline [i]Phish brings sound of improv jazz to Earlham[/i]: "Phuckin' awesome!" was one Earlham student's response to the April 24 concert by the alternative band Phish. When asked to classify the band's music, one student pro- claimed, "Alternative Dead." Another: "A cross between Carlos Santana and Pat Metheny." "Improvisational jazzy bluesy jamming rock with a Frank Zappa overtwist," was the definitive answer from Anders Wright, S.A.B. member and the student responsible for bringing the band to Earlham. The four-member band, based in Vermont, played at the college as part of their Mid-West tour. Twenty-four hours on the road from Colorado preceded their performance, which was followed by concerts at Notre Dame and Oberlin on the following two days. "I heard about the band last year," says Wright, "but it took me a year to find a copy of their tape ([u]Junta[/u]). Someone gave me a number to call, and got me in touch with their manager." The preparations for the Earlham concert took four months. The band, originally booked for two-and-a-half hours of music, played from 9:30 p.m. until 1 a.m., with segments featuring [i]a capella[/i] singing, narrative, choreographed trampolining, and vacuum cleaner playing. Seventy-five to a hundred "hard-core" students stayed until the unique concert's end. "Everybody I saw was having a really good time, even though a lot of people hadn't heard them before," says Wright. "The important thing is that this shows we can do it again. There's no reason why we can't have good entertainment here, all the time."
, attached to 2000-09-08

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw A decent show Ghost has a pretty straight forward "Stretching their legs" type jam. Glide is pretty botched. Axilla is actually a very solid and explosive version. Very strong taste great work by Trey. Bowie has a cool extended intro and a nice midsection. Back at the chicken shack is an interesting choice for mid set. It does feel a bit slow and I think loses some momentum. The Gin jam is very blissful and upbeat as usual. The jam after goes into a beautiful ambiance followed by some vaccume. Overall a just ok show. Not the most inspired unfortunately considering the great setlist.
, attached to 1993-02-20

Review by Xpanding_Man

Xpanding_Man I have had this show since the mid-90's when I started collecting tapes, and I still can't figure out where they're coming from during the Mike's jam (particularly Trey). It's one-of-a-kind to say the least. The word "frenetic" comes to mind. The vibration of life / kung is creepy, making H2 feel like a welcome home. Weird night.
, attached to 1998-07-21

Review by GrantBrown

GrantBrown I absolutely *love* this show - I simply cant say it any other way. I gave it a 5-star rating for its listenability - it's the type of show that once you press play at set 1, you literally feel a nagging urge to ride the whole thing out, regardless of what you have planned that day. In my opinion, this is the type of Phish we all got hooked on in the first place. This show has the *FUN* element that is missing in so many shows - the jams are light, and you can tell that the band is having fun. Also there's a ton of "air" around the instruments (proper staging for gain, i think), and the jamming is patient and deliberate. Lastly - the jamming is *very* layered and the band members pair up and switch off constantly with each other in a type of musical chairs game (crazy!). Really fun. I just got 7/29 thru 8/1 (1998) and I cant wait to hear those. Anyways enjoy! P.S. "Patient and Deliberate" is a term that I heard Trey hollar at Paige during a soundcheck - I suspect that when Trey get's the other 3 to relax and let the music come to them, the night seems to get a lot more creative musically. :) P.P.S. My comment above about "getting hooked" on phish in the first place. That's the key! If a particular show doesn't grab you by the shirt collar and shake you up a little - then you've got the wrong one baby! (move on to another). Phish should literally blow you away, every time. Thanks!
, attached to 2003-07-13

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw A pretty solid show slightly above average SASS is a very pretty rendition short and sweet. Axilla is pretty sloppy. Carini is especially peaky and intense. Round room has a nice stretch to it with some great sound textures. Very strong playing in Haileys. YEM is also well played but also has a nice little extended jam section which although is not as big as the one a week or so after is still very cohesive and good. Set two gets moving with an always welcomed Llama. And then after a very cohesive and funky Wolfman. Seven Below has a very spacy jam with Fish holding down the beat while Trey and Page add layers of texture. Then out of nowhere it picks up speed with Fish smashing drums and Trey messing around with rough. It's a little rough going into the finishing coda but still one of the big Seven Belows from 2003. Harry Hood is especially pretty and fitting for the Gorge. The following CDT is short but a sure ripper. First Tube is well. First Tube. Good show just a hair shy of great.
, attached to 1993-02-13

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw This is a really great show. And one that really sets the tone for the year long before Murat and Tinley. Bowie is a hell of a way to start a show. And this one is short but very sweet, it's fire from the start. Poor heart is very well played as most Phishgrass is at this time. It's ice is great and unique version. And a great straightforward Stash and Maze. The second set starts with a few quick songs before Tweezer. Basically everything Tweezer onward from this show is fantastic. Tweezer is very solid and thrashing version. Lizards is very well played. Llama is fantastic and has an insane solo from Trey that is very 93'. YEM is very well played and slightly extended for this era with some great peaks by Trey and a little funk with Mike on his own. It also has a pretty great Lion Sleeps Tonight vocal jam. HYHU is a lot of fun and Coil is a great version. Overall this is one of the better 93' shows to my ear and the recording of it is pretty crisp. Seek this out if you like a good setlist.
, attached to 1992-06-20

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw Opening sets are so weird for Phish. There's no time to breath and depending on the setlist it is make or break from the start. There isn't too much in this set to write home about. The one highlight I really see is the Runaway Jim. It has a pretty strong ending with some great peaky playing by Trey. Having said all that I definitely wouldn't be complaining about the opening band for this show :)
, attached to 2010-08-06

Review by fhqwhgads

fhqwhgads This show is a lot more fiery than the preceding night at the same venue. Cities -> Berkeley Jam > The Moma Dance is riveting, IMO. I wish Cities would get jammed out really extensively and often. Gin is ***officially*** typically hosey, really one of their most reliable jam vehicles, and one that doesn't often make it onto Recommended Jams because every version is amazing to some degree and they usually follow a somewhat-standard tension-release into peak format (but danged if I ever met a Gin I didn't like.) Rock and Roll -> Berkeley Jam #2 > Ghost is pretty average-great, but the Simple in this show really hits the spot. If there's any--entirely unmerited--criticism I could offer of this era of 3.0 and Phishtory, it's that the Whale Call and just Trey's playing/phrasing, in general, sounded a little bit, um, "whiny." I think Trey has accomplished a great return to form in leading the band lately--Marimba Lumina/Drums Jams notwithstanding--and part of it is his continual experimentation with tone and effects. It's kind of like James Hetfield said in the Behind the Music: Metallica episode: "If you're ever satisfied, the game's over." I'm thankful Phish is not a game to the band. But I digress: back to the music. Seven Below is fewer than four minutes long, which might tend to disappoint before you're walloped upside the testicles by a legitimate segue into Weekapaug Groove. The YEM was pretty standard, I thought, and Good Times Bad Times is always pretty much the same. I'm tempted to rate this show a 3/5, solely based upon the aforementioned "whining" quality of Trey's lead guitar through much of the show, but I can't do it in good conscience. 4 out of 5 stars!
, attached to 1995-06-08

Review by Bob_Loblaw

Bob_Loblaw Very interesting show. Some good stuff, some new stuff, and some standard stuff. The first set features a very solid Jim. No real jam but still unique and intense at the end. Reba is also straight forward but still very strong in its own right. Rough first version of prince Caspian. The second set is one of those strung together almost off sets. Simple is an odd version because it features no guitar solo, which makes it feel weird and no payoff for the build. Free is an early rough version but it is unique in the fact that the mid section is experimental and eerie, nothing like what it would grow to sound like. Then comes Tweezer. I look at this as the first step for Tweezers epic decent into jam history. Basically each Tweezer for this half of summer becomes bigger and bigger. This is the first real dip into the abyss for Tweezer during this year and it is a very quirky jam with tons of teases. They are really feeling it out and finding their bearings, This is the building block of the amazing epic jams to follow. Nothing sticks out too much for the rest of the set. Good Times Bad Times is an especially noteworthy version as Trey destroys the place.
, attached to 2010-08-05

Review by fhqwhgads

fhqwhgads This show seems a very solid average-great to my soul. Highlights include the perennial favorite Wolfman's Brother taken on a little ride, an energetic take on Kill Devil Falls, Down with Disease -> Free had some oomph behind it, and last but not least the Tweezer is a fascinating version, although it doesn't stretch out quite as much as I would prefer. The biggest highlight of them all, though, for me, is Trey's "Thank You Paul" banter about the Ocedoc and how great it is to be playing the Greek. This run would offer bigger jams over the next two nights, but one doesn't feel the need to overlook any Phish show whatsoever. Right now in 2017, I'm still amazed and thankful that Phish is still a going concern.
, attached to 1986-04-25

Review by SplitOpenAndMule

SplitOpenAndMule Sounds like a fun, laid back afternoon/early evening. Not especially tight, but not too sloppy. Prep School Hippie has a full-on mash-up with Not Fade Away that's pretty creative and a whole lot of fun. They come out of the jam into the "I can't wait til I'm 21 / to dip into my trust fund" refrain at 4:40. At 4:50, Mike and Trey (or Jeff) start teasing NFA, and then they sing the PSH refrain entirely to the melody and chords of NFA. Trey is cracking up all the while. In Quinn, Mike forgets the lyrics of the third verse, prompting Trey to introduce him to the crowd; the music stops for a measure, then comes right back in. All in good cheer.
You can still access archived Phish.net reviews


Phish.net

Phish.net is a non-commercial project run by Phish fans and for Phish fans under the auspices of the all-volunteer, non-profit Mockingbird Foundation.

This project serves to compile, preserve, and protect encyclopedic information about Phish and their music.

Credits | Terms Of Use | Legal

© 1990-2017  The Mockingbird Foundation, Inc. | Hosted by End Point Corporation