6-17-04 simulcast comments, etc...

review submisions to me at please include the date in the subject line...
please review the show, not the other reviews....

Date: Sun, 20 Jun 2004 22:46:34 -0400 From: Matthew F. Reyes Subject: KeySpan Simulcast 6-17-04 ********************* First, I need to say that we have seen the future, and it is good. While the concept of a simulcast is simple and not new, it of course took Trey, Page, Mike, and Jon to make the obvious clear to everyone: if you can't bring the fans to the concert, you might as well bring the concert to them. This is a beautiful double banger: you make more of your fans happy, and you make yourself and your company more money. I saw the concert in Theater 7 of the United Artists "The Falls" theater in South Miami, Fl, I've lived down there for years and did not expect the ritzy, high class outdoor shopping mall, with Macy's, Bloomingdale's, etc. to welcome the mixed class Phish fan base. I must say I was very pleasantly surprised, and not only do I want to thank my fellow Phish fans for being their typical courteous, peaceful selves, but I also want to acknowledge Taubman Corporate (the Falls management), United Artists, and Metro-Dade Police for holding any presumptive attitudes and allowing us to intermingle and enjoy ourselves in peace. They let us into the theater at 6:30pm, and lo and behold the screen was already on; you could see the venue clearly! In my excitement, I called my girlfriend at Keyspan and after 15 minutes of silly attempts, I finally saw her walking around one of the yellow support beams! I mean, this was indeed real time, and really clear! When I announced that I had seen her, the few folks in the theater applauded me! When the Concert started, it was very rough to say the least, and I immediately grew worried that this was how the rest of the night was going to go. The volume was too low and what I could hear, the sound board was off adjustment badly. Their voices were overpowering their instruments. On top of that, Trey and Page's voices were struggling to get on key at first, and Mike seemed a bit off too during 'Song'. It was painfully clear that this was a first for not only Phish and their sound engineers, but for the UA theater engineers too. Thankfully, the theater people were very receptive to our suggestions, and cranked the volume up and turned on the rear speakers. Shortly after that, Phish's sound engineers were tweaking the broadcast too, as the sound started getting better right during 'Sample in a Jar'. I wonder if they had scouts at different theaters to call in and tell them? After that, I slowly started to realize the true nature of the technical feat, because when they finally got it, THEY NAILED IT! Slowly, a wave of appreciation befell me: I have never heard Phish sound so good! But I also had never SEEN them so good. The cinematography was absolutely brilliant! Their use of fades, zooms, and movement were genius. During the show I felt that I was a hummingbird, hovering to a new angle, to another instrument feed on their musical nectar, so to speak J. I have to say that Phish's newest, '6th band' member--the camera crew--, set the standard that will be copied by future bands who want to mimic the Phish theater experience. Just watch the Rolling Stones or U2 copy this! My favorite sequence was when the band was in "Phish-land" (regardless of the song), and the cameras would focus only on Trey's guitar, the headstock in the left top corner of the screen, the body, and his playing hand in the bottom right. You could see the fine grain in the wood, the wear marks from years of jamming, the finesse of his fingers strumming the strings. Then fade to Page, focusing on his hands dancing across the keyboards, adjusting knobs to find that perfect sound while his eyes closed concentrating on who's he's listening to; then fade to Mike's methodically flying fingers pounding the five vibrating strings against the dark wood of the Modulus Q5, unzooming slowly to show his eyes closed and head bobbing with Fish's drums. Fade into Fishman, with his steady, slightly turned, concentrating head, eyes closed, facing the camera, his lips occasionally synched with his sticks beating the snares and cymbals and toms. For me, it was a total flying dream sequence. My only hope is that they release some sort of DVD of the entire concert. I know that they have camera crews at many of their shows, it would be great if they could release videos of those shows too, BUT ONLY IF THEY CAN MATCH THE CINEMATIC QUALITY of the show that I saw. Otherwise, they'll be disrespecting themselves and the fans, as they seem to be so worried about.
Date: Fri, 18 Jun 2004 01:49:15 -0400 From: Jeffrey King Subject: Keyspan Phish Review I will keep my review short, as it is a bit late and I actually have to work for a living. I saw the Keyspan show simulcasted at the Regal 12 Ballston in Arlington, Virginia. A nice selection of fans, none too arrogant or obnoxious. Everyone there to enjoy a good show, many after work in professional attire (which made it all the more interesting). One fan talking rather loudly on his cellphone in the men's room during intermission said "this is the best way to see a show, maaan". The whole congregation started yelling at the guy. I think he got the point. I thought the first set was downright antiseptic. I had a hard time getting out of my chair and dancing, let alone sensing any sort of rhythmic interia. Ocean, Dinner, and Curtain seemed almost boilerplate. Little creative orientation by any of the band members, particularly the redhead. Songs like Sample, Free, and Nothing were bland! They were released on lousy albums and should rest in peace on lousy albums! Frankenstein was forced, at best. A song of such complexity typically leaves plenty of room for improvisational wandering, Trey instead improvisationally stumbled around during Maze, a tune that typically brings out Page banging away on the pipes. I stared to wonder WHAT exactly was going on with the band...their verbatim performance of Frankenstein really got me worried. The second set was equally antiseptic but less cluterred than the first. Possum had boilerplate characteristics reminiscent of the first set. Gordon had a librarianesque demeandor during the tune, happy to be singing it, though evidently elsewhere mentally. Oh Kee Pah and Greenberg had a bit more umph, all of which was destroyed with a transition into a incoherent performance of Axilla and an incohesive transition into 2001. How can you build up a crowd with 2001 when you had a weak first set and a mediocre second? Birds of a Feather is yet another song I could do without. Ick. Please stop. Kung was a welcome change, especially because it demonstrated the still existant social bonds between band members. Lots of laughing and goofing around. Mike's Hydrogen Groove was perhaps my favorite of the second set. Not overly solid but not shoddy. A decent rendition with some energy. Divided Sky was an enjoyable encore. Trey's sound was crystal clear, as were his fingerings and band accompanyment. But too late, sadly enough. Sorry if my review sounds a bit acidic. But the band was cluttered. Lots of time spent discussing songs to play. Poor queing and reading of body language. Lots of tinkering with pedals and levels. All this before the last twelve shows during Phish's collective existence?
Date: Fri, 18 Jun 2004 03:00:37 -0600 From: Jason Nickel To: dws@phish.net Subject: Phish show review I never thought i would see a glow stick war in a theatre. i saw 7 tonight. mike wears stonewashed tapered jeans, and white hightop sneakers. perfection. -- -Jason
Date: Fri, 18 Jun 2004 09:33:11 -0400 From: Leon Quesnel Subject: 6/17/04 AS A LONG TIME PHISH PHAN SEEING THEM IN THE MOVIES WAS WEIRD. THE OPENER OF A NEW HIT WAS GREAT, SONG I HEARD THE OCEAN SING IS MY FAV FROM THE NEW ALBUM. IT WAS EXTREMELY SOLID BUT HARD TO HEAR OVER THE EXCITED MOVIE THEATER CROUD. SECOND WAS DINNER AND A MOVIE, NOT ONE OF MY FAV BUT IT WAS TIGHT AND WELL DONE. ON TO CURTAIN WITH. I THINK THAT THESE GUYS ARE AMAZING, A CURTAIN WITH WAS SO SOLID THROUGH THE MANY CHANGES THAT IT ALMOST BROUGHT A TEAR TO MY EYE TO KNOW THAT I WILL POSSIBLY NEVER SEE IT LIVE AGAIN. SAMPLE IN A JAR WAS A GREAT CLASSIC TO HEAR. SHORT BUT VERY SWEET. THE MOMA DANCE BROUGHT US BACK DOWN TO GROOVE LEVEL AFTER THE PUMPIN SAMPLE AND MIKES BASS WAS BOUNCY, BUBBLY AND ORIGINAL AS ALWAYS. RIGHT INTO FREE ANOTHER ONE OF MY FAV BUT I THINK THE COULD HAVE ROCKED IT A LITTLE MORE, NON THE LESS IT WAS SOLID. AS FOR NOTHING. I'M NOT A BIG FAN BUT I HAVEN'T HAD TIME TRO LET IT GROW ON ME. MAZE WAS ABSOLUTLEY SICK. IT'S STINKS THAT THE THEATER DIDN'T HAVE THE LIGHTS TO GO WITH IT BUT THE SOUND WAS AWESOME. MAZE JUST TOOK US TO ANOTHER LEVEL. THE WERE ON KEY,ON POINT AND JUST SLAMMED IT OUT LIKE I KNEW THEY WOUL;D. AWESOME FRANKENSTEIN WAS A GREAT SET CLOSER . IT'S GOOD TO HEAR AN OLD COVER EVERY NOW AND AGAIN. PAGE WAS ALL OVER THIS ONE AS USUAL. GREAT FIRST SET EVEN THOUGH I WASN'T THERE. AS FOR THE SECOND SET. OH MY GOG WHAT A RIPPIN SET. THIS SET KICKED OFF SUMMER TOUR LIKE A NUCLEAR EXPLOSION. 46 DAY SECOND SET OPENER WAS FANTASTIC. SOLID AND JAMMIN. INTO POSSUM, NEED I SAY MORE, SUZY GREENBURG WAS A SUPRISE THAT LIFTED US ALL OUT OF OUR SEATS AND GOT THE THEATER DANCIN LIKE MAD HATTERS. PAGE WAS ALSO ALL OVER THIS ONE, WITH A LITTLE DRUM SOLO FROM JON AND SON KICK AS RIFFS FROM MIKE AND TREY. AXILLA, WELL AXILLA WAS FABULOUS. PUMPIN, FAST, HEAVY AND TIGHT. NICE ADDITIVE FOR A LONG AWAITED SHOW. 2001 BROUGHT US BACK DOWN TO EARTH FOR A MINUTE AND AS USUAL IT WAS SPACEY AND AMBULANT WITH GREAT NOISE ALL OVER IT. BIRDS WAS OK BUT I LIKE TO SEE THEM TAKE THAT SONG FURTHER. YOU KNOW WITH TREY JUMPIN AROUND LIKE A KID ON CHRISTMAS JUST WINDING OUT THE SCREAMING NOTES, BUT IT WASN'T, HOWEVER IT WAS A KILLER TOUCH TO THE NIGHT, SOLID AND STRONGF. KUNG WAS NICE TO HEART. ODD BUT NICE, AND A NICE TRIBUTE TO THE WOMENS OPEN GOLF TORNAMENT. THEN THE END WAS NEAR. MIKES H2O WEEKAPAUG WAS AWESOME. CLEAN ONE INTO ANOTHER JAM THAT HAD US WANTING IT TO LAST FOREVER. MIKE WAS REALIN THE BASS AS WELL AS TREY MAKIN THAT GUITAR WORK FOR HIM. SOUNDED GREAT TO THE LAST NOTE. ONCE AGAIN AWESOME. ENCORE OF DIVIDED SKY. WISHED IT WOULD HAVE BEEN SOMETHING TO KEEP US UP BUT IT DID MEELOW US OUT AND LEVEL US OFF FOR THE END OFA SPECTACULAR SHOW. I CAN SAY THAT I THINK THE END IS TO SOON BUT THAT WON'T STOP IT FROM COMING BUT IF THEY KEEP PLAYIN SHOWS LIKE THIS ONE WE HAVE NOTHING TO WORRY ABOUT FOR SUMMER TOUR. MADE MY NIGHT AND A GREAT START TO THE BEGINNING OF THE END. PHAREWELL PHISH WE LOVE YOU, LEON QUESNEL
Date: Fri, 18 Jun 2004 07:22:07 -0700 (PDT) From: Stefan Frank Phish show review-6-17-04 simulcast comment Let me start out by thanking the boys for opening the show up to those of us who couldn't make it to Brooklyn, and Regal Entertainment for giving us space to dance, to puff, and to basically do whatever we felt like doing (my theater in Philadelphia even had a glow stick war!!). Also, kudos to the producers of the show for adding another excellent visual element to an already stimulating show; these guys did some amazing camera work, capturing everything from the faces in the crowd (a few people in the theater actually were able to locate, call, and wave to people in Brooklyn on the screen-talk about "being there") to the boys as they entered the stadium, to the general pandemonium that was last night's show... † Speaking of the show, what an amazing statement! I have been seeing the band since 1994 (never on a movie screen)†and this show was so good it was almost sad-seeing Mike glance over at Trey, who was looking at Page, who peered under his mike to Fish who had his eyes closed and forehead scrunched feeling the beat-knowing†I was seeing some of the final cues†Phish would ever give each other as a band.†It didn't look like a band on the way out to me.†Those of us in the theaters†were given†extraordinary coverage of the show and were able to see how much pleasure the boys were getting from each other and the crowd; there were many smiles, lots of laughter, and much collaboration. I think we all know how much the†collaboration paid off! † I am†really looking forward to SPAC, the two shows I will see in†PERSON this tour, but I have to say if I had the option of seeing them this way again (HINT HINT: Indiana or Wisconsin) I'd jump at the opportunity.
Date: Fri, 18 Jun 2004 12:06:28 -0400 (EDT) From: "Matt.Nelson Subject: Phish show review 6/17 simulcast Hello everyone, I am happy to say that the simulcast was a success in my opinion, and I wish they were doing it for the whole tour, but we aren't that lucky. I also want to say that everyone was well behaved out of their element
Date: Fri, 18 Jun 2004 11:35:38 -0500 From: Sara & Scott Eidam Subject: Phish show review What a treat to be part of the last tour opener, the Brooklyn show,†from Brooklyn Center, Minnesota.† The only bummer is that they didn't start simulcasting shows years ago!† It was a very†moving experience for me, my friends, and all the other faces in the crowd.† What a trip to kick back in comfy movie seats during I am Hydrogen!† And the sound?!?† Better than being in the crowd at the show, it was amazing!† The camera tricks were awesome as well, great close ups of the hands making music and cool crowd shots (the coolest being the camera†above crowd looking down that spun around and up into the sky, I've felt like I've been floating up there before!) Parting is bittersweet sorrow, and everyone is going to miss the boys, but THANK YOU for all the great times!!!† Two more shows for me at Alpine, and†I am†pumped and primed!!!† This has really all been wonderful, but then I'll be on†my way.
Date: Fri, 18 Jun 2004 12:39:08 -0400 From: Theodore Gakidis Subject: Phish 6-17-04 simulcast comments 6-17-04 simulcast comments I was at the Marlboro, Ma. location. Chill parking lot scene. People were enjoying myself and minimal security presence. Theater was sold out, but there were plenty of seats. Band went on shortly after 7:30. Ocean sings was good, with decent jam. Dinner & a Movie was a obvious choice and well received. The curtain absolutely rocked! At this point no one was dancing. I whispered in my friend Cilla's ear and off we went to the aisle near the lower section to dance. Once we broke the ice, others followed until we were eventually gettin' down between the screen and the "front row" seats. Sample was standard and good to hear. Moma dance was the shit, I love that song. Great extended Jam that slid effortlessly into Free. During the Moma Dance a glow stick war started up in the theater, not very big, but cute nonetheless. At least this time no one in the band was hit by projectiles. The new instrumental "Nothing" was excellent. Great jammin with a slight Reba Jam feel. Maze was great, thought it was Bowie at first, fooled again. Rocking Frankenstein to close, Excellent set. I must comment that the sound was excellent, very loud and very clear. Set break allowed us to mill around the lot, typical set break partying going down. Second set opened with 46 Days, ok new song from round room that had a great focused. Possum jumped out of nowhere and was fun and bouncy. Great middle jam section on the Possum. Oh Kee Pah -> Suzy Greenberg -> Axilla -> 2001 -> Birds of a Feather was the longest stretch with out a stop to the music. Great to hear OKP & Suzy. Seems like quite a while since I witnessed either. Axilla was very quick and to the point and the 2001 > Birds was quite tight with a great bird's jam. Kung was hilarious as usual. It was good to see them sending the positive energy that "kung" invokes to such a large audience. Mike's Groove was a treat and a true classic to close a show with a wide range of their catalog of music. Oh, and you can't beat a divided sky encore. Overall the experience was fantastic. Great sound system and video work. Phish IS on the top of their game. A lot tighter and jammin then Vegas, IMHO. It is hard to believe that a band that sounds so great, and appears to be really have a great time, would be closing "the Curtain" for good.
Date: Fri, 18 Jun 2004 10:07:57 -0700 From: Justin Calvo Subject: Phish show review - 6/17/04 Seattle, WA Simulcast Brilliant! Simply put, the simulcast was a Phish show stripped to its core, with a focus on the most basic elements a live show; music and band/audience interaction. Some of the frivolous elements left out of the simulcast experience were things like the annoyances of weather, lack of dancing room, the big dude blocking your view of Page, etc. While the latter all contribute to the ceremony of a Phish concert, the production crew did a great job of teleporting me at Keyspan Park, and still keeping me dry and in the front row ^÷ kudos. Simulcast aside, the music delivered enough to shake theaters across the country with dancing and jeering. The early theater crowd shout-out in ^—Dinner and a Movie^“ was playful, and the set closer was made all the more animated by Trey^“s upright stiff Frankenstein impression to signal the set closer to the rest of the band. The first half highlight (imo) was the jam out of Free, particularly when the drums and keyboards dropped out; leaving Mike^“s phased-out bass and Trey^“s harmonized tone to play off and on with each others^“ riffs. The set break in the theater was intimate. Once the band took the stage again for the latter half of the show, they didn^“t stop. 46 Days kicked things off a little sloppy at first, but the jam out of it and into Possum was smooth and sublime. Oh Kee Pah gave me a chance to catch my breath and retool for Suzy Greenberg, which was my highlight for the second set; particularly being able to see the whole band up close laughing and staring at Page, waiting for him to end his prolonged solo. 2001 was a nice half way there treat, and the band^“s homage to the U.S. Open at Shinnecock, NY with the fateful words ^—we can stage a runaway golf cart contest^“ from Kung was worth a good laugh. Finally the Mike^“s Song suite including I am Hydrogen and Weekapaug Groove was a strong way to close out the set. After watching the water-logged crowd at Keyspan cheer their hearts out, the cameras refocused on the band for one last number; Divided Sky. A glorious ending to my run of shows with the band, and throughout the fugue I couldn^“t help but smile my biggest smile and think how grateful I have been a part of this musical experience ^÷ something many will never get to enjoy, and something many will always remember. Thanks Phish. Justin Calvo Seattle, WA
Date: Fri, 18 Jun 2004 12:14:32 -0500 From: Jason Freitag Subject: Phish show review - 6/17/04 Simulcast PH: Brooklyn, NY - 6/17/04† Set 1 1. A Song I Heard the Ocean Sing 2. Dinner and a Movie 3. The Curtain With 4. Sample In a Jar 5. The Moma Dance > 6. Free 7. Nothing 8. Maze 9. Frankenstein Set 2 1. 46 Days >† 2. Possum† 3. Oh Kee Pah > 4. Suzy Greenberg > 5. Axilla > 6. 2001 > 7. Birds of a Feather 8. Kung 9. Mike's Song > 10. I am Hydrogen > 11. Weekapaug Groove Encore ††† The Divided Sky † First of all, I've been listening to too much Phish lately.† I acknoweldge that.† Every day on the way to work, sometimes more at work, sometimes more at night.† Maybe I feel disappointed†that I got into them just as they went on hiatus, and I'm trying to cram years into†months.† Maybe I'm trying to study them, so I can bring a deeper understanding of their music to their last tour.† Maybe all of this setlist ephemera appeals to the part of me that sorted and resorted baseball cards as a kid.† And maybe (I hope this is really it), maybe it's just alot of fun. † Anyway, good show.† The movie thing was weird, but†not weird.† Weird that it wasn't weirder, I guess†- it†had an entirely sterile, young, suburban-kids-home-from-college-out-to-see-a-movie vibe (which is pretty much what it was,†I guess).† Still weird to be†in stadium seats†watching closups of Phish on the big screen.† Plenty of dancing in/around the floor seats, a balloon or two quickly dispatched by†overzealous†ushers, a request or two yelled at the screen (laughter), and lots of applause. † Notes from seeing them in closeup: The energy of the crowd did not come thru on the big screen, but†it was supercool to see a show in that much detail.† Closeups of their hands, faces.† Very obvious that they're all amazing musicians who†take their jobs seriously, but who enjoy each other's company.† Closeups of the lights, too.† Best light effect was the Mothership thing during 2001. † Trey was sporting the solo album haircut; short and fashionably mussy, like a hip c.e.o.† He wore a blue western-style shirt with white stiching.† He's skinny, and he has really long eyelashes and plenty of wrinkles around his eyes.† His†expressions during solos are so great.† My fave is the squinty searching look - directly out into the audience, as if the answer to whatever something he's out to get†is hovering right†above the†roiling crowd.† Almost as good is the†openmouthed, raisedeyebrows†blank stare at the ceiling.† The mother of pearl is almost completely worn off his fretboard. † Page wears a grimace-smile when he sings.† I thought he was laughing at first, but realized that he was just emoting.† He has big fingers. † Mike's hair is amazing; his head bobbing, stangely out of time with†the apparent beat,†is even more amazing.† He was wearing a royal blue wicking tshirt and acid washed jeans.† His playing is as sickening as his wardrobe.† † Fishman is really, really ugly.† He looks like an old, fat†woman.† The dog-face on the Phish†logo really is him.† His screams during Suzy G. were fun to see. † Except for Trey, they all have obvious facial/head moles.† Page on his scalp; Mike on his face near his mouth; Fishman on his neck.† Quite gross, really. † Trey and Page were connected all night.† Trey and Mike didn't have many moments together, except the gtr/bass duel in the segue btwn Moma and Free (unreal porno/cow-funk).† Trey and Fishman had a nice laugh in the pause before and all during Kung, which was really stupid but still kinda funny. † As for the songs, briefly: ASIHTOS:†A No Quarter-esque new song.† Strange opener, good jam. Dinner and a Movie: A nice nod to the simulcast crowd, and the only really gimme call of the night.† Looked like they were having fun with it. The Curtain With: Very tight.† Trey was spot on, note for note. Sample: ehh, nice enough, but I saw it last summer. Moma > Free: The gem of this show.† Digital delay jam after†Moma was amazing, and this segue featured a funk-filled gtr/bass duel (I think it was the segue, but maybe it was the jammed-out Free). Nothing: Another new song; short/sweet. Maze: ehh, again; I saw it last summer. Frankenstein: Jam. † 46 Days: Another strange set opener.† Played well, but sounded alot like the shorter cousin of the IT version. Possum: Another gem.† The segue out of 46D was so†smooth. Oh Kee Pah: I thought it was Antelope at first. Suzy G: I don't like this song.† It's mean spirited and stupid, even if Fishman's screams are funny.† Weird and super heavy†jam out of it, tho, which I kinda liked. Axilla: Great stuff; also super heavy. 2001: Great stuff.† Trey missed almost every money note on the breaks, but not b/c he was f'n up; he missed them on purpose, almost like he was approaching†the song differently, from inside not outside (if that makes sense). BOAF: I love this song, but I prefer it early in the first set.† This one felt like a†rushed tack-on to 2001, almost contrived to be a crowd-pleaser. Kung: Stupid, funny-ish. Mikes: Nice and pretty tight. Hydrogen: I love this song, but Trey missed alot of key notes; flubs, not intentional misses ala 2001. Weekapaug: ehh, always sounds the same to me. † DvdSky for an encore?† Amazing.† Trey missed some notes (again, flubs), but the energy made up for them. † Trey was using a†fuzzy, compress-y tone†during the whole show that†got grating by the second set, esp with a blown speaker tweaking over my right ear.† I'm trying to think of a song that has the same sound, so you know what I mean: Maybe the end of Pebbles and Marbles on Round Room?† A really bright and aggressive and in-your-face sound.† (You can hear it alot on Vegas 4/15/04 and on much of the†new record.) † What else?† Seemed like they were having alot of fun.† The big disappointment, and this is more a forecast of the remaining dozen shows than a critique of last night: I think the pool of songs they're pulling from is the same as last summer, so I don't imagine there will be any awesome covers or bustouts - no Gamehendge, no Peaches en Regalia,†but maybe†Fluffhead.† That's fine, if they play with as much energy as last night.† And maybe better than fine - this isn't a greatest hits tour; this isn't a nostalgia act; this is a working rock band, having fun, and bringing it loud every night they have left. † One last note: I had a real empathetic feeling for the four of them on the†first show on their last tour.† And I wondered how many repeats from last night's setlist there will be.† Was that the last Sample or Maze or 2001?† Probably not.††The last Curtain or Kung?† Probably.† The last Dvd Sky?† Man, I hope not; I'd love to see that at AV 2.
Date: Fri, 18 Jun 2004 13:38:44 -0400 From: Michael Etkins Subject: Phish show review Watched the show at the UA in King of Prussia, PA.† What a weird experience to be watching the band walk onto the stage knowing that you can almost count on two hands the number of times that will ever happen again.† Even a stranger experience was watching the band in air conditioned comfort while being able to see the crowd getting drenched in what I'm sure was very uncomfortable weather.† However, the experience was very enjoyable.† The atmosphere in the theater was just the same as going to the show itself.† Same good vibes and good people.† The sound was a little off in the beginning but the theater adjusted and soon I couldn't even hear the person talking next to me.† If Phish decided to broadcast every show of this final tour like that I would be there in a heartbeat, except of course for the shows I'm already going to. † As for the show itself I thought parts of it were positively inspired.† The jam in Free had me rocking in my seat and the sound that Mike used for the first part of the jam was like something out of a sci-fi movie.† I thought to myself how could the band be breaking up if they can still play this well???† † I unfortunately got my answer as the night went on.† The last part of the evening they just seemed to be going through the motions especially during the Mike's>Hydrogen>Weekapaugh.† They just weren't tight at all and in fact felt like they were rushing through just to get done.† Did anyone else notice that Page, Mike and Trey got separated by two beats from Fishman right before the jam in Weekapaugh?† This is just an example of how not tight the band was in some sections. † Part of me agrees with Trey that it might be time for them to step away.† If they aren't willing to put the time in like they used to for rehearsal and touring then we will continue to see the songs decline the way the already have.† But then I hear them lay down†a jam like they did in The Curtain With or Free and I could care less how tight the composed sections of the songs are since the jams have only gotten better and better in the 12 years I've been following the band.† Irregardless, being at, or in this case watching a Phish show, sure beats most†any other activity I can think of.† Catch in you at Camden and Coventry!! † -mike etkins
Date: Fri, 18 Jun 2004 16:54:34 -0400 From: Graham Kinard Subject: Phish show review I saw the show in a Theatre.† Although it wasn't as loud as I would have liked, the view was awesome.† There is just something about seeing Trey's guitar that big.† I was tripping out the whole time.† The set list I would give a "B" however the performance was on time, I give it an "A+".† Mike sounded great!† The harmonies sounded good.† I was really impressed because there has been some bad music and harmonies since the hiatus.† The Venue looked really cool and small.† Oh it was also good to see kick arss light show once again.† Thanks - G$
Date: Fri, 18 Jun 2004 14:56:14 -0600 From: Ryan Phelps Subject: Phish show review That was a pleasant surprise! Wasn't expecting such a kickass show. And the sound and picture quality was incredible! I wish they (and other bands) would do that more often.
Date: Fri, 18 Jun 2004 22:01:35 EDT From: Xanderbergen420 Subject: First review of a First Looks like I am the first to review a phish show that was witnessed live but not in person.† I have to start by saying plain and simple WHY†DIDN'T THEY DO THIS BEFORE????† Living in south Florida and being a huge Phish fan is very depressing, Yes I will agree Big Cypress was amazing, and the NYE's run was the best New years ever, I guess I just feel that so many other shows could have been seen telecast from other venues like, or IT or the upcoming sold out Coventry.††Imagine other fans like me, who live in other states†could enjoy that amazing†feeling that Phish can inspire like no other band.†I would shell out 12.50 to be able to experience seeing my favorite band when I am not able to actually be there, and I am sure I am speaking for many phans out there who by some reason cannot make it to that particular show.† I know I sound bitter but I gotta say thanks as well to the boys for coming up with another great way to get the music out there!!†† Watch how many other band rip-off this genius idea.† Well, I originally started this as a review of a new experience so here it is. ††††††††††††† When I first arrived in the lot to the theater I immediately saw the telltale signs that yes this was still a Phish show,†the usual pre-show activities where going on to the somewhat amazement of people just exiting "Garfield" and "Shrek2"† The looks on those people faces kinda made me realize, maybe this is the reason Phish hasn't done this before, maybe the Theaters are very hard to convince to open their Venue up to us concert going folk!†† Well, too late now†because†we are here!††Anyway after being approached†by heads looking for extra tickets as soon as we got out of the car, and three more times before we got to the doors I†started to think about†1st set openers and that nervous feeling in my stomach like I get†at†all†other Phish shows.† People were calling out song names in the lobby and chanting WILSON!† Entering the theater room there was a police officer checking tickets, I think he was mostly there to scare people, It didn't work!!† When the†big screen in front of us showed the guys†making their way to the stage, every one in the theater started going nuts!! HERE WE GO!!! this was it, a new†venture a†whole new environment†completely,† but all that dissappeared as the first notes of "Song" started, everybody in the theater was on their feet grooving.† I will say you could tell nobody seem to mind the fact that there is no room between rows to even walk.† When the†boys went into†"Dinner and a Movie" and looked into the camera with that silly grin we knew that was for us!† what a great moment. to be able to see the show on the big screen was simply awesome the camera would scan the crowd at times and give us shots of the surrounding city and it was truly a unique new visual all together!! people at the live show in the front row could not have seen what we were seeing!! I could count the freckles on Treys arms the zooms were so close.† The next song was "The Curtain" and this one of my favorite songs! seeing it live finally and in this way was breathtaking I could feel my soul flying over theater. "Sample" was next, I predicted some classics and so far three out of four! A great sample even with a sight Fishman miscue, but I have never been one to judge a show on musical perfection.† Its all about the feeling, and we were feeling it!! The groove that stared out of the Sample was amazing they never jam this song!!!! Slowly the jam started to become "Moma" and everybody hit the aisles and stairs to do the Moma Dance!!† the Moma jam then turned into "Free" and that was exactly the right song for the moment,† all of us inside that theater felt free even though we were in fact confined by four huge walls. "Nothing" was a great tune and after a little discussion by the guys Mike started hammering that muffled A chord that starts "Maze"† a really hot Maze at that!! Is it me or is Trey getting better everyday? And what a great transgression musically, and mentally, to go from the fluid melodious Free to being trapped in a chunky riff-addled Maze! kudos boys! After maze was wrapping up a thought set 1 was over but boy was I wrong! Trey turned around to Fish and the whole crowd could read Treys lips on the screen and he was repeating "Frankenstien" How appropriate were at the movies right? why not a little classic horror!† And just like that set 1 was over. †† Everybody returned to the lot during setbreak to engage in smoking and drinking, 2 thing that are not allowed inside but a small few did actually spark right up in the theater.† After returning to our seats back in the theater we could smell the aroma of kind, maybe we should have stayed?† Set 2 started with a blazing hot 46 days that jammed on and on, the guy that was sitting next to me came back from the parking lot late into the "days" jam and asked me what song this was and I had to think about it for a second, maybe it was the blueberry during setbreak, but the song had completely shifted gears and I couldn't even hear 46 days anymore.† This amazing groove started to become "Possum" and I couldn't help laughing out loud after being reminded of the dead possum I had seen roadside earlier that day, a not uncommon sight here in FLA.† The segues in this set were just so damn tight I completely forgot we were in a theater, The "O kee Pa Ceremony" was on point and it was good to hear for the first time live!! movies or not! a rare classic indeed. "Suzy" had the whole audience on their feet singing, people were yelling at the screen as if the boys could here them!! "Axilla" another classic!!! wow!! they are reaching back tonight!† "2001" appeared out of "Axilla" and it was a very funky one at that, Page was bringing sounds out of that keyboard that were vibrating in my head! and the jam out of "2001" started to sound like "Birds" and I was right,† Its amazing how Phish can create jams that take shape into another song and it can take awhile to hear what its going to be. I love it!† "Birds was the highlight for me,† I love the funky-ass groove that is "Birds"† once that song ended Trey stepped up to the mic and started to say something about playing a song for the U.S. open that was going on right down the road in New York.†It was "Kung" weird but funny!† after a long discussion between†the phab four, I was thinking to myself Mike needs to do something, its been all Trey so far and just as I was saying out loud to myself "C'mon Mike its your turn"† As if on cue Mike stepped to the mic and started playing the opening to "Mikes Song" how cool was this!! what a treat!!† The "H20" and "Weekapaugh" was f-ing incredible one of the best Ive witnessed live!† I knew from the energy of the "Mikes Groove" that the encore was going to be mellow, and "Divided Sky" was a good choice, Ive seen it live before and this divide was exceptional,†During the show it was raining on the fans in attendance in NY, and It†seemed to stop†just†as they went into the encore, coincidence??? ††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† We will never know,† Thanks Phish for another †††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††††† great memory to share with all!!!!
Date: Fri, 18 Jun 2004 22:10:46 EDT From: Rubenda55 Subject: Phish show review Last night's simalcast was one that I anticipated greatly, never having seen a similar presentation by any band, let alone a band like Phish. As we entered the theater (in Philadelphia)† - the screen showed the stage crew going through their last minute sound checks , as well as the "live audience" milling around in anticipation of the show. It was still light out at 7:32 - when the band came on the stage and jumped right into it. I will not comment on the actual set list (it was great)† - but I will say that the presentation of the band (in Hi Def), the camera angles and visual presentation of the music, the sound quality and the overall experience of the show was unlike anything that I have ever seen. I honestly believe that we, in the theater, probably had a better experience then those who were at the show. I don't know who produced the event - but I give them kudos for an amazing production. I'm a 49 year old guy who has seen most of the great bands over the years. Tonight, Phish†was as solid and tight and creative as I have seen. My girls (whom I took because I wanted them to have experienced a Phish show) were really impressed with the whole event. Great job by everyone involved. David Rubenstein Philadelphia , Pa.
click here to return to the 2004 reviews page