, attached to 2014-10-31

Review by question_mark_jones

question_mark_jones My review of last night!

This show has inspired me to write my first Phish.net review. Thank you, 10/31/14, you are a total stroke of genius!!!

Buried Alive: I've been seeing the band since 96 and I'm here to tell you this is as solid a version as I've heard. Nice exploratory playing by Trey down the stretch.

Ghost: Solid version. Certainly not of the best versions of all time, but one of the sweetest placements of the song ever. Ghost 2nd song in! Are you kidding me.

Scent: Always a pleasure - rather pedestrian version - certainly nothing special. Nevertheless, Scent following Ghost as the 3rd song is a "on paper" pleaseer.

Sample: Sample is straightforward.

Reba: Simply the highlight of the set. Peak playing from our four favorite people on the planet - spouses excluded of course. "The chill section" is divine. One of the strongest versions of the year.

46 Days: Very solid version featuring peaks of increasing stature.

Big Black Furry Creatures: Always a treat. Last played 87 shows ago, so definitely qualifies for bustout status.

Lawn Boy: I would let Page father my children if I could. Not really - just thought I'd offer some levity in place of not having much to say about the tune.

Saw it Again: A tune that's only been played 3 times in the last 100 shows constitutes bustout status in my book. Plus it's such a cool song - the opening drum beat of this tune is makes me a happy, happy person.

Tube: Straightforward - nothing special

Wolfman's: In a year that has seen some truly exceptional Wolfman's, this version shines as one of the best. Pushes 11 minutes and featured all around stellar improvisation from the phab four.

Set Two:

This in my opinion may very well go down as the best Halloween stunt they've ever done. Only 10/31/94 can hold a candle to it as far as this reviewer is concerned. While musically I think the White Album may have been better, when you factor in the stage design, fact that they emerged out of the haunted mansion in full makeup and costume, the originality of playing a soundtrack to an amusement park attraction, and the fact that the music was amazing - my conclusion is that set two elevates 10/31/14 to the level of one of greatest shows this band has ever played. That's right, I put up there with the 12/31/95, 12/30/93, 12/6/96, 12/30/97s of the world. Song by song review coming soon.

Set Three:

Punch You in the Eyes:

Only the 2nd Punch of 2014, and third in the last two years. Features some really cool playing from Mike in the intro.

Golden Age: Love this tune, because it's the truth!. Nice looping effect from Trey in the intro. Cool spacey, exploratory playing in the middle. Clocking in at 11 minutes, I'd rate it as one of the year's best versions.

Tweezer: Yes I'd like some more awesome sauce. While a paltry 10 minutes, it's the old adage quality over quantity that is most apropos.

Heavy Things: Perfect restroom break set placement. Very thoughtful of the boys.

Guyute: Only the third time played in the last two years, so that's rad. One of the finest compositions in the catalog, Guyute is wonderful to any setlist.

Sand: This is a champion Sand, clocking in at just over 18 minutes. One of the best versions you'll ever hear - clearly the highlight of set three. Funk so fine, you blow my mind.

Tweezer Reprise: Unusual to end the 2nd set - typically closes out the encore, so cool in that regard.

Is This What You Want: Yes. A tune never played before, a Leonard Cohen tune, capping off a masterful evening - yes, Phish, this is what we wanted!!!

Frankenstein: 1st in 100 shows - and only the 2nd time played in 150 shows, so cool in that regard. Also the Page on keytar trend continues - he's played it every version in the 3.0 era.

Thank you, Phish! Thank you for your creativity, your commitment to keeping things fresh, and for the masterful performance that is 10/31/14. From Asheville with LOVE!!!


Phish.net

Phish.net is a non-commercial project run by Phish fans and for Phish fans under the auspices of the all-volunteer, non-profit Mockingbird Foundation.

This project serves to compile, preserve, and protect encyclopedic information about Phish and their music.

Credits | Terms Of Use | Legal

© 1990-2019  The Mockingbird Foundation, Inc. | Hosted by End Point Corporation